We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd Unlisted Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nassau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Paloma Guest House
22 Buen Retiro Rd, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Nassau B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
1 review
“Odd Unlisted Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

While the owner and housekeeper are both personable and welcoming, I don’t think I will be coming back here in the future. Overall the accommodations are comparable to many upscale hostels (yes, that had an “s” in it) and low-end B&B’s I have stayed at in the States.

Pluses: friendly staff, clean and reasonably comfortable bed, free wifi (that is reliable and fast), nice selection of teas, nice views from the big porch, staff can arrange transport to and from airport, and kitchen where you can prepare your own food.

Minuses: Shirley Street is unwalkable in this area—it is a very narrow main thoroughfare with no sidewalks and frequently no shoulders either. In order to get to a place that is even remotely safe to walk, you need to cross Shirley and make your way down to Bay Street. This is your only option for walking out of the street La Paloma is on. Additionally, it appears that Nassau has hard water, so there was staining in the bathtub that is rather unsightly.

Things to know:
- The draconian rules on the accommodations are strictly enforced (no cancelling after 30 days; minimum of 3 nights; pre-pay in entirety).
- There are three small dogs and a bird that live here. The dogs can be skittish. All the animals (as most animals tend to) make noise at various times of night and day.
- The address is 22 Buen Retiro Road. However, there appear to be two buildings with that address, because Buen Retiro Rd actually is a loop (despite what Google maps thinks). To get to the correct one, you have to take the first right after entering the street then head up to the top of the hill. The house is blue and white with a sign that says “FLETCHER” on it.
- La Paloma is not listed in the local phone directory, so no one who lives in Nassau believes the place exists. Neither the archivists at the National Archives nor my friend who works here could find any local listing for it.

Room Tip: The yellow room has nice light, pretty views of yard and garden next door. There is no TV in room. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We travelled from the UK for 2 weeks in Nassau. We can only describe our holiday as paradise. La Paloma was a cosy, homely guest house perfect for relaxing and experiencing the real bahamas away from the resorts but still within walking distance of the main tourist areas.

Firstly to be welcomed at the airport by Diane Fletcher was above and beyond. She was a fantastic host offering up advice on the best places to visit.

Our room was spacious and bright. Clean towels and sheet made it a comfortable stay.

Our most memorable evenings were spent having a BBQ on the porch whilst admiring the stunning view of Paradise Island.

Thank you for the holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are not the resort type, we love older homes with charm and character. We booked 3 nights with Diane. Diane is super, she is very friendly and nice. She picked us up from airport for a small fee and took us to grocery store. I would not recommend driving if you are from the states, they drive on opposite side and very aggressive. Her house is on a hill that has beautiful views of Atlantis. It is a ways from downtown area, but okay since we like being away from all the noise and daily cruise tourists. Neighborhood is quiet and nice, expect dogs barking when you are out walking. Nice cool breeze in rooms and out on balcony. We stayed in Coral Room, room good size for 2 people, rooms have a AC window unit, we usually only use at night. The bed, not so great, I am use to sleeping on a Temperpedic, so we felt like we were sinking in the center. Rooms and living room area very clean. Her housekeeper is very friendly and I believe lives onsite. Bathroom shows its age, but it is clean. Water pressure okay, she does have hot water in shower.
My hubby used her kitchen to make breakfast, she keeps that area closed, due to her dogs. Her dogs are on her side of house. Internet works great in room. We walked to Green Parrot for lunch, short 10-15 minute walk. Okay place to eat. We did walk to the Fish Fry one night, to Gullies, not close, we would recommend taxi. We walked during day and we wanted too, but we had a taxi bring us back after dark. Diane offers rides when she is going places, otherwise you will have to take a taxi on Shirley to go downtown or go on Bay Street to take taxi towards Atlantis, unless you want to walk. We usually paid 10 bucks for a taxi. We came to relax and dive and this place worked perfectly, we would come back to La Paloma.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Inconvenient location on a steep terrain. Customs was suspicious and asked me additional questions about why I would choose that area for my stay. The room is clean, but because the property is run-down, the cleanliness matters little. The bathroom, for example, will make you want to wear flip-flops in the shower. The owner is very nice and polite though. If the measure of this rental were based on her pleasantness, it'd be top-rated. But there's a reason why 100% of payment was demanded ~before~ arrival at the property. That should've been a red flag for me. There are places for the same price right across the street from Junkanoo Beach (which is also right by downtown Nassau). Granted, these properties are likely in no better shape than La Paloma, but at least the location would be convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just read Christine's review and I must say that it is a guest house. You should not expect a 5 star resort as you do get on Paradise Island. If you are a low budget traveler (student, backpacker, family) then this is a great place to stay. The bedrooms were always clean and beds are made for you on a daily basis. You have access to the kitchen to cook your own meals. The host is very, very friendly and can give you so many tips on what to do and places to see.
You can walk to Paradise Island public beach in about 20 minutes of a stroll over the bridge. Just cut through the Atlantis Hotel to make the walk shorter.
It also takes about 20 minutes to walk into town. But, it is a safe walk and since you are on vacation it really doesn't matter that you are walking these distances. Do you really have to be anywhere on time?
The bathroom could use a little renovation. But I wouldn't say that it wasn't clean - it was just a little rusty and the tiles were a little broken. But it was cleaned by the housekeeper every day.
There is a TV room in the basement that you can have access to and there are many channels (US and Canadian).
The rooms have air conditioning that you can set yourself - so you will not sweat at night or during the day if you just want to have a nap.
We had breakfast on the porch every morning overlooking the ocean and the Atlantis. It was simply dreamy.
The owner loves her three dogs - and they are very, very sweet. They stay on her side of the house, so you will probably never see them, unless you hang out in the kitchen.
The neighbourhood has dogs. We made a joke out of naming all the dogs that would come racing to the faces and barking at us. But that is part of Bahamian life - people have dogs to protect their properties.
Overall a great place to stay, if you are trying to stay away from the "resort" way of vacationing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Paloma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Guest House

Address: 22 Buen Retiro Rd, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Also Known As:
La Paloma Guest House Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Paloma Guest House to your Saves list