We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely doing it again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Self Drive Boat Adventure

Self Drive Boat Adventure
Directly west of Hilton Hotel | Blue Building with yellow and red trim, Nassau, New Providence Island
242 225 3113
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Would you like to captain your own adventure? Then join us on Self Drive Boat Adventure for 2.5 hours of breath taking scenery and a boating experience unrivaled world over - No experience necessary. Follow your professional tour guide for safe family fun with historic views of the Nassau Harbor and a chance to stop at one of our secluded beaches, accessible by boat only, where you can spend time relaxing on the beach, wading in the clear blue waters, or snorkeling along the coastline (Mask and Snorkel provided). Tours operate daily at 9:30 am and 1:30 pm. See you aboard captain!
Caguas, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Definitely doing it again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. We had an excellent time with the whole family. David and the staff were very nice. The snorkeling spot was amazing. It is a must do in the Bahamas, specially for the price.

Acosta

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbethel, Manager at Self Drive Boat Adventure, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Jorge,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family out on the tour with us and we cant wait to have you guys back next year!

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us a review as we always appreciate the feedback and comments we receive.

Thank you,

The Self Drive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A definite must-do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great time driving our own little boat (no experience necessary). It was loads of fun and compared to the cost of other excursions, it was well worth the money for the amount of time you're out. You weren't packed into a boat and you had the opportunity to explore the area by water. We even got to see the homes of all of the rich and famous on our way back. Our guide was wonderful. He was very friendly and constantly watched us and made sure all was well, so you felt very safe. While this attraction doesn't pick you up at your hotel, you can hop on a 10 bus for $1.25 per person and get dropped off right outside. Would definitely do this again next time we are in town and definitely recommend (we actually did while we were still in the Bahamas!).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Got out of work early Friday and a few of my friends felt like doing something different for a change. I called up the tour and was able to book two boats so easily. Upon arrival we where greeted by a knowledgeable guild that educated us on a lot of things we never knew about Nassau and Paradise Island, we hopped in the boats and took off on a two hour unforgettable excursion, being able to drive your own boats was so awesome and we pulled up on a secluded beach to snorkel. We saw a lot of aquatic life included lobsters, a giant puffer fish, barracuda, and a baby nurse shark. I highly recommend this tour as a way to see Nassau and Paradise island from the water in your very own boat. Oh and yes they go FAST!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Highlight of our Vacation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked this excursion for our last stop of our cruise, after I read the great reviews on this site.
David on the phone was extremely friendly and I was impressed with the fact that if the weather is bad they will not charge you, as safety is there #1 priority.It was an absolutely amazing experience, my husband and 15 year old daughter had huge smiles on their faces the whole time. Our guide Bally, was amazing and always made sure we were Ok. The spot for snorkling was peaceful and quiet. I would definetly recommend this to everyone and would do it again if I return!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was an unplanned excursion. We just happened to stumble upon the building while walking around town. What a great find! We loved the idea of driving our own boat. Also, not having to share space with a crowd of people was heaven. Back to the tour...They give you plenty of instruction and keep an eye on you so you never feel unsafe at any point. You get a nice tour of the harbor, cable beach, famous people's house, etc. Then you stop at a private beach for relaxation and snorkel time. The guide is great at finding sea-life most of us swim right by. The guide brings plenty of water. All you need is plenty of sunscreen, towels and maybe a snack or two. The price was great. $159 per boat (up to 3 people). The boats are clean and in good shape. We were very happy we found this tour. I made for a great day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Self Drive Boat Adventure also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Self Drive Boat Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Self Drive Boat Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.