We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
1 review
“Awful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I travel for business and my wife is a travel agent, collectively we log over 100 nights in hotels each year.

By far, this is the worst service we have ever recieved.it's almost like the employees don't care. Disorganization is rampant, and you story from everyone about the resort.

- be prepared to wait 10-15 min for a drink at the pool bar (ended up going to the lobby bar and bringing drinks outside). Not busy, just bartenders who could give a crap.

- restaurants not open all days of the week. Check before you go...and there are so few, they will book up days in advance and then your stuck with the buffet...

- buffet: went for breakfast 2 mornings in a row (giving the benefit of the doubt). 10:15am...75 people in line, half the restaurant emtpy. Manager says they are getting ready to set for lunch. Enough pressure from the crows, now 75 people all seating themselves. Too many people all at once for the waitstaff now...no coffee, water service. People are now serving themselves.

- nightlife. None to speak of, but no problem...went out in town $20 cab each way.

- Rooms. Good, clean. Although speaking to the service agin, we waited until 4pm to get our room cleaned everyday. almost seemed understaffed in the area when you talk to people.

- Food. Good for an all inclusive...don't expect an Atlantis experience, but it gets the job done.

- overall the property is in good condition, but not indicative of a Melia Resort experience.

- Staff. One word, rude. I don't think I saw one bartender smile. 10 person line at the concierge for dinner reservations, front desk not willing to back then up. Left hand not talking to the right hand.

We had a good vacation, but would not come back to this Hotel. We seemed to have the same experience as many of the people we met.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    601
    384
    188
    170
See reviews for
447
685
54
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amazing beaches, lousy service and facilities. Took literally 1 hour to check in, first they couldnt find my prepaid reservation, then wanted me to pay again, and then had to stand 30 minutes in another line to get my key. There are probably better options for the price.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Why stay at the Atlantis when you can stay in this all inclusive property for less than halve the nightly rate. The food, drinks and service were above average like a 7 out of 10. The beach front location is second to none plenty of chairs even during Easter week. All the rooms were beautiful with a great views and when the entire location is complete. There really is no reason to stay anywhere else when the other three Hotels open at this complex. Giorgio is the man to see if you should have any concerns at this beautiful property. I can't say enough about Giorgio and his staff. I am highly recommending this property to friends and family.
Thank you Giorgio hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: we had five rooms they were all beach front and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is a beautiful beach for cruisers as the locals do not bother you BUT we did have a problem. We have gone there a few times from the cruise ship. It was always 30 dollars for the daypass to use the beach and non motorized equipment. Before we left we emailed them to confirm the price for the beach and equipment with a reply back that all was included with the price being 40 dollars and the letter stated it did not expire until around a month afterwards. When we got there they said no way it was 30 dollars to use the beach and I believe it was another 30 for equipment. After showing them our email they had to talk to the manager. After waiting nearly an hour which was horrible as you only have so much time on the cruise. We said just forget it we will pay the 30 dollars for the beach. It is a very nice beach. Beautiful water and no one bothers you. BUT they need to get their act together. It was very poor communication and service on taking care of our problem. So beware the price is 30.00 for the beach use only. To get there from the cruise ship take the number 10 jitney for $1.25 each way.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Melia in mid-May, 2015. Overall, the resort is a decent place to stay for the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean, though the bed mattress showed some age and seemed to dip a little in the middle. Each room has a balcony and a nice ocean view, so it's easy to feel like you're in the Bahamas while staying here.

Our only issue -- and it became a major issue for us -- is that much of the staff was entirely disorganized, rude, or both. The staff problems are most acute in the breakfast restaurant and at the concierge desk. The evening staff in the nicer restaurants seemed much happier and accommodating, but it did little to make up for the earlier problems. For most of our interactions with staff, it just seemed that every request -- no matter how small -- was putting them out.

Additionally, the hotel advertised having wifi, but it was "out," had been for as long as the staff could remember, and there was no firm plan on when it would be back. If you need wifi, then this isn't a place for you to stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was one of those that after I booked read trip adviser, opps should of read it 1st, Not many had nice things to say, and now that I have been there I agree with pretty much all of them..I could go on and on how bad the staff is, and how the hotel is un-kept, But to sum it up..The staff ignores you weather you tip or not, impossible to get a Beverage outside unless you want to wait at an empty bar to be looked over , there is no construction going there at the hotel, It's next door the new Bar Mar, So a bunch of people stay at Meila for free do to there late opening, a bunch of construction people stay there, The staff and management have a short timers syndrome, It's only a matter of time until Meila merge happens with Bah Mar, In the hotel rm there is book with Nassau city info , There is a section about the new Bar Mar , It show's meila as a part of it, So why don't they explain when booking we are in the middle of a transformation, maybe offer discount to book, explain hotel not up to par, They don't say anything , It doesn't take long being there and you feel like you are staying at a closing hotel, from un maintain structure, To staff not caring, It's not fair to people who spend time and money to go on vacation to not be told Meila is under part of the new Bar Mar or in process and if you come now you get half of what you paid for...awful hotel, great trip because we choose to have our own fun, enjoy the beech, we went to town, we kept busy and happy and sucked it up as a bad hotel experience ,, We call it our Motel 6 stay and to learn to read ahead of booking

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXMelia, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 566kerrier

It saddens us to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your visit.
We are currently in negotiations with the phase two of our renovation project, where we will be updating the outdoor areas, which will then be promptly followed by guest room renovations.
Unfortunately we are unable to affect the timeline by which Baha Mar is to be completed; however, this does not excuse the inadequate passion for service you received throughout your stay. For this we are deeply sorry, and promise to contact the appropriate departments to help solve the issues you have mentioned.
We strive to provide our guests with excellent customer service, and we hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Since it's such a small island this hotel is close to everything. For shopping you can either go downtown (cab fare is 5$ per person each way, bus is 1.25$) or right across the street. Buffet food is decent, restaurants are better. Nightlife at hotel is non existent. It's clean and has an absolutely beautiful beach. And..... free wifi reaches to the rooms! Had a good time.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEXMelia, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Odessa C

Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay during your visit. We appreciate your kind words regarding our property and dining options.
I am sorry to hear that you missed our entertainment. We offer a drum circle and junkanoo rush, fire performance, and choreographed dance routines every Tuesday Night for our Caribbean Nights. We offer a Studio 54 night on Thursday's out by the main pool, and we teach Salsa lessons every Friday Night also by our Main pool. We do have a DJ on Thursday, and Saturday from 9pm-12am in our Esta Vida bar.

Thank you for taking the time to providing valuable feedback, and we hope that you return sometime in the near future.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.