We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Friend mini vacay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Friend mini vacay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were originally supposed to be at the Barha Mar grand opening only to find out the day before our travel the hotel was not available. The Melia was good second option, although no casino on sight, we had an amazing time. We were placed on the level and provided with the all inclusive meals/drinks. This place is great for couples or weekend get away with the girls or guys trip. Hotel was renovated, no complaints, food, service and drinks were all on point.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    586
    375
    181
    166
See reviews for
438
669
51
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all let me say that if you search Expedia and find the Melia listed for a certain price, don't believe what you see! You have to search different pages and finally read the very fine print at the bottom of some random page, to read that all-inclusive prices are HIGHER. We didn't find this out until three days before our trip when our (adult) daughter called the Melia just to double check details. She was told we were not all inclusive, and that it was Expedia's fault that we were mislead. All our paperwork from Expedia proudly called the Melia an All-inclusive Resort in multiple places. It was bolded, highlighted, underlined, etc. Thats all we "saw" while looking at the listing. Since it was on all our paperwork, confirmations, etc., we of course believed we were visiting an all-inclusive! But Melia said no, you didn't PAY for that, and to complain to Expedia about it. When she placed a call to Expedia they told her that Melia IS an all inclusive resort and they proudly advertise that, but that we hadn't paid for that, even though those words were all over our paperwork. Expedia said they only list on their website what Melia gives them, so they blamed Melia. Melia blamed it on Expedia for giving people that impression with the way they had written the listing. So with the blame-game, needless to say, when we checked in, each of us had to fork over $115 each for each day we were staying, to be covered under all-inclusive. Then when we checked out - we had to pay an additional $43 per night for "service fees" simply because we booked through Expedia. Yes, I guess it was in the fine print somewhere, probably on page 25 or something deceiving like that. So even though, yes the fine print was listed somewhere, Expedia was completely misleading and deceptive in their listing of the Melia. And it cost us A LOT of money because we trusted them to be "for" the traveler, to "help" the traveler. PSYCHE! Instead - we were very deceived and fell for their trick. Congrats to Expedia - they took a lot of money out of my hard-earned paycheck.
On a much brighter note, the 6 days at the Melia proved to be one of the best vacations my family has ever had. As compared to the Hard Rock Resort in Punta Cana (Dominican Republic), I would choose Melia ten times over. (I didn't need a $300/hr spa visit anyway) We also enjoyed it that much more than the Omni Resort in Cancun (traveling out and about using the public bus to town about 3 miles away was handy, cost $1.50 each, and felt very safe!). We had no problems whatsoever, the room was located in a handy but quiet location, the maid service was exceptional, most servers were friendly and seemed very happy to be there, (yes, one or two couldn't seem to smile-but doesn't that happen everywhere?) We were impressed with the layout of the pools, the grounds were beautifully manicured and the colorful plants well cared for. It made for beautiful photo opportunities. We loved walking on the beach. It was clean and not crowded at all. The food-Oh, the food! It was very very delicious and such a variety of choices! We loved the buffet and most of what we ordered in Cilantro, Aqua, and Nikkei (the sushi rolls were outstanding! We did not eat at Black Angus because we raise our own natural, grass-fed beef and nothing is better than that-so we didn't spend money on what we have at home that's better anyway.)
Yes, there are some updates being done in a few places of the resort. But from an upper-middle class person to those who are trying to decide if the Melia is "good enough" "clean enough", or "updated enough" - This is the bottom line and sums up my families' opinion - We believe someone would have to be a spoiled brat with more dollars than they have sense, to complain about this resort. If you are in the 1% of people I hear exists somewhere, then go to Dubai or somewhere like that for vacation. But if you're a normal person like me, you will be at the Melia basking in the sun and counting your blessings that you're able to be there and make fond, happy memories and enjoy such great experience :)

Room Tip: We were in Room 858, centrally located on the wing overlooking pools and facing the ocean. Great bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were at this hotel when it was being managed by Sheraton. The change is obvious. First of all the place is short of staff and seems to be short of supplies. Bring your own soap and shampoo. At the beach, there are 10 umbrellas for the 600 or so guests. We had to be at the beach at 7 am to avoid roasting under the sun all day. Bring your own IT, there is no business centre for checking in.

You can tell where the washrooms are from the smell. The place looks tired. On the positive side the food is good but avoid Black Angus Grill unless you fancy raw chicken. Priced at high at no reason whatsoever. Last time in Cable beach.

The staff seems to have taken a paycut with the change of hotel operators. They were vocal in saying that they preferred Sheraton over Melia. The staff is nice which is the culture at Bahamas, nothing to do with the hotel managment.

Keys are to be reprogrammed at least 4 times during our stay. We heard many guests complain.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just returned from the Melia Nassau Beach Resort. It was a mostly pleasant trip with our party of 6 adults. Cable Beach, at the resort is spectacular! My husband and I paddle boarded for the first time, and it was awesome! The guys were helpful, and gave some good tips. It was included in our price of stay, so that is bonus.
The food was the best I have ever experienced at an all-inclusive! While the main buffet was standard fare for an all-inclusive, the specialty restaurants were terrific. Our least favourite was Aqua, their Italian restaurant. The service was quite lacking! Don did look after our husbands' 50th Birthday cakes. Thanks Don!
Lucinda, at the outdoor Campus Cuisine, (where the burgers are massive) looked after our food and drink needs two days in a row. I was amazed by the friendliness of 90% of the Melia Staff. The front desk Staff could use a lesson in speed, and friendliness.
The Resort itself seems to be getting a little run-down. My understanding is that it has been taken over by the long-awaited Baha Mar, so maybe they are simply biding time to do major upkeep! Some of the shops were changing over(?) so there were a few issues with these shops ie) couldn't charge the room for some purchases. Certainly nothing to ruin our vacation!!
Would I encourage others to go to the Melia Nassau Beach? If you have it booked, go and you will love it. If you are searching, give some thought to what you are after in decor and atmosphere! One last word, the beds were the most comfortable ever!!!

Room Tip: The superior oceanview rooms did have a great oceanview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The company I work for took us for our national sales meeting and everyone (about 300 people ) is so pleased I heard we will come back for next meeting. My experience was superb! The costumer service and quality of food exceeded my expectations! Trevor, Sasha, and specially Juan carlos went out of their way to attend us. I will come back also for family vacation

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is older but still in good condition, no complaints.
The staff was outstanding, very friendly and accomodating.
Jody in the Tapas Lounge, Phillip (Beach Bar and Aqua bartender) were great.
Must go to Nekkei Habachi - Givanni, Rolland and Jaye very over the top, had a great time.
All around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall I really enjoyed my experience at the Melia. We were there for my wedding with a group of 35 people. Everyone we were with had a great time and would go back to the Melia Nassau. After I booked the trip to the Melia I was very apprehensive about going based on the trip advisor commentary. I realize now that most people are complainers and use Trip Advisor as a forum to vent. Take the comments with a grain of salt.

SERVICE
Overall the service was fantastic! Sometimes a bit slow, but remember it is island time. If you want to guarantee yourself better service, tipping the staff and being polite to the staff go a long way.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our often large groups for the a la carte restaurants and at Marketplace
Room service is great. Showed up twice a day
-Check-in. The lines are long and take forever. Also, it is horrible when you need something from the front desk that should only take a minute when there is a long check-in line (like a card replacement). They really need a secondary line for guests already checked in.

FOOD/BEVERAGES
The food was AMAZING! Way better than I was expecting.
The buffet has tons of options. Lots of healthy options too.
The drinks are poured very stiff - they don't mess around

FACILITIES/BEACH/POOLS
The newly renovated restaurants and lobby are great - very clean and modern
The rooms need some upgrades - they are nothing special
Wifi worked everywhere in the hotel and beach - we were expecting only the lobby, so this was a nice surprise upon arrival
The beach is beautiful and kept clean and the water is amazing. Lots of good water sports/activities available, just need to book them in advance.
Beach towels not an issue at all if you return your towel each day
Snorkelling is below average at the resort but there are good snorkel trips available. If you walk a east a bit past the pier, the snorkelling is way better
Not enough shaded areas or umbrellas available
The beach vendors are a rip-off. Go into town to the straw market. You can get everything they are selling for half the price if you barter
Pools not very clean and are rough on the bottoms

CULTURE/NIGHTLIFE
Not very much cultural experience - there were some Junkanoo drummers that came around for special occasions, but that was it for culture. The Melia should add some aspect of this into the night life in the lobby/lounge area to get the juices flowing and people dancing.
Nightlife was only good on Friday night


WEDDING
The coordination was executed well by the hotel staff
Great beach location that is semi-private
The island themed buffet dinner was delicious!
My Romance Specialist was very helpful and informative
If you want a private dinner, you have to pay extra for set up, the dinner itself, the beverages, speakers, table linens, decor, lighting, etc. (on top of the wedding package). We had an all inclusive package for us and our guests, but food and drinks were still additional for the private dinner. This is not very clear in the contract.
Make sure you get pictures of what your extra decor purchased through the hotel will look like. I had sent a photo of the chair sashes I wanted, but on the day of they looked nothing like the photo I had sent the hotel
The violinist included in my wedding package had the wrong song for the procession and I found out 1 hour before the wedding - they weren't able to get the right song in time

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.