We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were at this hotel when it was being managed by Sheraton. The change is obvious. First of all the place is short of staff and seems to be short of supplies. Bring your own soap and shampoo. At the beach, there are 10 umbrellas for the 600 or so guests. We had to be at the beach at 7 am to avoid roasting under the sun all day. Bring your own IT, there is no business centre for checking in.

You can tell where the washrooms are from the smell. The place looks tired. On the positive side the food is good but avoid Black Angus Grill unless you fancy raw chicken. Priced at high at no reason whatsoever. Last time in Cable beach.

The staff seems to have taken a paycut with the change of hotel operators. They were vocal in saying that they preferred Sheraton over Melia. The staff is nice which is the culture at Bahamas, nothing to do with the hotel managment.

Keys are to be reprogrammed at least 4 times during our stay. We heard many guests complain.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    584
    374
    181
    166
See reviews for
437
668
51
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We just returned from the Melia Nassau Beach Resort. It was a mostly pleasant trip with our party of 6 adults. Cable Beach, at the resort is spectacular! My husband and I paddle boarded for the first time, and it was awesome! The guys were helpful, and gave some good tips. It was included in our price of stay, so that is bonus.
The food was the best I have ever experienced at an all-inclusive! While the main buffet was standard fare for an all-inclusive, the specialty restaurants were terrific. Our least favourite was Aqua, their Italian restaurant. The service was quite lacking! Don did look after our husbands' 50th Birthday cakes. Thanks Don!
Lucinda, at the outdoor Campus Cuisine, (where the burgers are massive) looked after our food and drink needs two days in a row. I was amazed by the friendliness of 90% of the Melia Staff. The front desk Staff could use a lesson in speed, and friendliness.
The Resort itself seems to be getting a little run-down. My understanding is that it has been taken over by the long-awaited Baha Mar, so maybe they are simply biding time to do major upkeep! Some of the shops were changing over(?) so there were a few issues with these shops ie) couldn't charge the room for some purchases. Certainly nothing to ruin our vacation!!
Would I encourage others to go to the Melia Nassau Beach? If you have it booked, go and you will love it. If you are searching, give some thought to what you are after in decor and atmosphere! One last word, the beds were the most comfortable ever!!!

Room Tip: The superior oceanview rooms did have a great oceanview!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The company I work for took us for our national sales meeting and everyone (about 300 people ) is so pleased I heard we will come back for next meeting. My experience was superb! The costumer service and quality of food exceeded my expectations! Trevor, Sasha, and specially Juan carlos went out of their way to attend us. I will come back also for family vacation

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel is older but still in good condition, no complaints.
The staff was outstanding, very friendly and accomodating.
Jody in the Tapas Lounge, Phillip (Beach Bar and Aqua bartender) were great.
Must go to Nekkei Habachi - Givanni, Rolland and Jaye very over the top, had a great time.
All around wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall I really enjoyed my experience at the Melia. We were there for my wedding with a group of 35 people. Everyone we were with had a great time and would go back to the Melia Nassau. After I booked the trip to the Melia I was very apprehensive about going based on the trip advisor commentary. I realize now that most people are complainers and use Trip Advisor as a forum to vent. Take the comments with a grain of salt.

SERVICE
Overall the service was fantastic! Sometimes a bit slow, but remember it is island time. If you want to guarantee yourself better service, tipping the staff and being polite to the staff go a long way.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our often large groups for the a la carte restaurants and at Marketplace
Room service is great. Showed up twice a day
-Check-in. The lines are long and take forever. Also, it is horrible when you need something from the front desk that should only take a minute when there is a long check-in line (like a card replacement). They really need a secondary line for guests already checked in.

FOOD/BEVERAGES
The food was AMAZING! Way better than I was expecting.
The buffet has tons of options. Lots of healthy options too.
The drinks are poured very stiff - they don't mess around

FACILITIES/BEACH/POOLS
The newly renovated restaurants and lobby are great - very clean and modern
The rooms need some upgrades - they are nothing special
Wifi worked everywhere in the hotel and beach - we were expecting only the lobby, so this was a nice surprise upon arrival
The beach is beautiful and kept clean and the water is amazing. Lots of good water sports/activities available, just need to book them in advance.
Beach towels not an issue at all if you return your towel each day
Snorkelling is below average at the resort but there are good snorkel trips available. If you walk a east a bit past the pier, the snorkelling is way better
Not enough shaded areas or umbrellas available
The beach vendors are a rip-off. Go into town to the straw market. You can get everything they are selling for half the price if you barter
Pools not very clean and are rough on the bottoms

CULTURE/NIGHTLIFE
Not very much cultural experience - there were some Junkanoo drummers that came around for special occasions, but that was it for culture. The Melia should add some aspect of this into the night life in the lobby/lounge area to get the juices flowing and people dancing.
Nightlife was only good on Friday night


WEDDING
The coordination was executed well by the hotel staff
Great beach location that is semi-private
The island themed buffet dinner was delicious!
My Romance Specialist was very helpful and informative
If you want a private dinner, you have to pay extra for set up, the dinner itself, the beverages, speakers, table linens, decor, lighting, etc. (on top of the wedding package). We had an all inclusive package for us and our guests, but food and drinks were still additional for the private dinner. This is not very clear in the contract.
Make sure you get pictures of what your extra decor purchased through the hotel will look like. I had sent a photo of the chair sashes I wanted, but on the day of they looked nothing like the photo I had sent the hotel
The violinist included in my wedding package had the wrong song for the procession and I found out 1 hour before the wedding - they weren't able to get the right song in time

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited with family from 4/20 to 4/25. Spend the extra money to upgrade to "The Level" which gives you private check in, lounge, priority seating at restaurants and separate beach area.

While we enjoyed our trip, some positives and negatives to mention. The Level access check in saved us much time as the regular check in line was quite long, the staff is great at the hotel, the lobby area and restaurants is all new and adds a nice touch when you arrive. The rest of the hotel is a bit tired and in need of an update. The rooms are fine but the pool area has some areas under construction and the pools themselves are in need of an upgrade. The beach area is absolutely stunning.....Cable beach is the place to be although most of the other hotels on the beach are either closed or under refurbishment. The new massive Bar Mar resort which is not open as yet is few hundred yards away. Note: the Casino is closed at the Melia. If you want to gamble the only other casino on the Island open is at the Atlantis which is a $25 cab ride from/to the Melia.

Definitely would recommend the all inclusive plan as the menu prices are quite expensive. No real evening entertainment but most folks just hang out at the numerous bars in the lobby.

The Marketplace is the buffet restaurant and has a great selection for all meals. There is a good Mexican and Italian restaurant as well which we enjoyed. Although not part of the All Inclusive plan, the Black Angus steak restaurant is excellent but be prepared to spend some bucks!. The wait staff at all the restaurants were very good and helpful with selections.

Melia is a quick bus ride away from downtown where the Straw Market and cruise shop docks are located if you want to go off property but there is a small Straw Market right across the street from the hotel as well. All in all we enjoyed our trip and would go back again.

Room Tip: 9th Floor rooms right off the elevator have the best view of Cable Beach and cruise ships coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here 2014 and impressed with improvements done in the past year. Staff could definitely learn to smile a little more and pick up the pace a bit.Overall nice hotel,good food and relly nice pool and beach area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.