We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off for MeliáRewards
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
1 review
“Great honeymoon spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Over all the whole trip was a blast highly recommend that you do the Nikkel Teppanyaki experience!!! It's a blast will have so much fun the food is wonderful and our server Geovani was great had the entire room laughing! The rooms could use a little updating but the hotel is very well kept over all. Every restaurant is delicious and they even have a Starbucks in the hotel so a plus for coffee lovers. The beaches are kept very clean and they are perfect! The pools also are clean and beautifully adorned. Would definitely recommend the melia hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    543
    333
    169
    152
See reviews for
391
618
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just came back from melia for 6 nights. Very slow service is there biggest down fall. Ran out of towels by the beach almost everyday. Also ran out of other things like certain drinks or food. Waited an hour to check in when we already did a pre-check in. I have to say the food was very good. This can easily be a 4 star with more renovations and faster service. Not much to do at night. This is more of a family resort id your looking to party dont stay here

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went on the off season for a quick Valentines day weekend vacation. Initially the idea was for my partner and I to go on a vacation with some friends and kick back. We chose to lookat Melia as we had stayed at one of their Cancun resorts and really enjoyed it (and we had some rewards points that cut the price down!)

Getting to hotel was a quick cab ride from the airport and was easy and painless. The hotel lobby was clean and well appointed and the door staff welcoming and polite. The desk staff offered us the upgrade to the VIP package but didn't push it and gave us the option to come back and upgrade at any point during our stay.

The room was spacious enough and well appointed-- if a bit of a trek of the elevator.

Of the restaurants We tried all three that were included in the All Inclusive package. All had their merits and their downfalls- service being the low point. It wasnt rude or inattentive, just seemed "new", as though they were still working out the kinks and sometimes things took a long time or the wrong thing was brought to the table. That said-- it was all inclusive and wasnt costing us anything extra so we just rolled with the punches. Cilantro was far and away the best, and the staff there got to know us.

Its a great little resort that will soon be fighting the monster being built next door (BahaMar). I would visit again.

On a side note Bahamas is not, in general, and LGBTQ friendly environment. We were there, two guys, together on Valentine's day, and no one at Melia bat an eye. We felt welcome and safe at the resort and would recommend Melia to other LGBTQ travelers (especially those with family as it is very much a family resort).

Room Tip: try and get one facing the pool, not to far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast, georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel used to be a Sheraton property and little has changed besides the name. My visit was in August 2014 so I am unaware of any changes made since then. I had 1 room w/ king bed for 2 nights. They provide little bracelets at check-in to identify you as a hotel guest, but the only way to remove them for hygiene purposes is to cut it off with scissors... somewhat inconvenient if you don't have any scissors and would like to take it off. The room was spacious and clean, linens/towels were plentiful. The walk from the lobby to my room felt like a mile, BUT I had almost immediate access to the pool/beach area. That was somewhat a downfall, depending on the time that other hotel guests are accessing that area. The pool music starts around 11am and continues until dark - nice reggae tunes to help you relax while sunbathing. The jitney (bus) picks up right outside of the hotel and for $1.25 each way, it will take you to the Fish Fry (Arawak Cay) for food, fun and drinks. The staff were helpful and friendly. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Free wifi on the balcony and beach area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I just came back from our 10th anniversary at the Melia Nassau Beach Resort first time in Bahamas 03/08-12, 2015
• Check in: was 10 minutes Tip. Have someone go make the line while you're waiting for you luggage to be off loaded, then once u get your room go to the customer service desk and book your ala carts A.S.A.P. Or you can try to reserve a week before your arrival by e-mailing the hotel? No meet and great or welcome package, or orientation, make sure you get an activity and restaurant schedule for the week; we did not receive these items which caused us a bit of grief during our stay.
• Ala carts: I e mailed before my arrival to see what the dress code was, and they said long pants, but we saw people in shorts being served. They stated that the "Ala- Carts" were full yet we walked in to Aqua and had no problem being accommodated? We did not try: Black Angus or Cilantro, we did Try Aqua…It was fine my fish was a little over cooked but it was nice sitting outside. Estavida was good as well…Watch the steps leaving we saw many people trip, should be marked with yellow edge tape!!!! Luckily for us we went early one day to try this restaurant and the service and food was good, we returned later as we were un aware the Buffet was closed (get a restaurant and event schedule upon check-in, we did not get one) and waited about 90 minutes to be served and they had run out of a lot of items on the menu. Tip: you can always walk up to the bar and order for your table and receive quicker service and a drink! Nikkei, to me this was the best place for a nice dinner, but we missed the Teppanyaki tables as we were not aware we had to book those separately? Lots of food, waiter missed a few items but we had enough, the table behind us left as it took two hours for the food to come but I think they were a walk in?? O'Grille was good burgers and chicken sandwich and chips by the beach bar if you did not want to go far!
• Coffee in the room and buffet was in short supply and not great, you could always go to Starbucks and pay $8.00 for a Frappei-Latte-Mochchino Grande Tall what-ever????? Some days the line was huge??
• Buffet: was good, we arrived on Sunday, so I guess they had a Sunday Brunch going on so it was nice, not sure if the Hotel was full or not but the only real wait for the Buffet was to be seated, and understandably not everyone has the "All Inclusive" package so they would have to pay at the front, good omelettes, plenty of fresh fruit and drinks, friendly staff..
• Room: We were in 410 great location, close to everything, walk to most of the ala carts on the same level, and quieter bar. Shorted towels one day, and we could not open the safety box one day, both serviced fast and follow up call by front desk was a nice touch as well, room had a Wi-Fi Router behind bed but don't know why we did not have Wi-Fi in the room? Nice view from the room
• Beach: Nice quiet, did not have to reserve loungers, which was great, not much shade near the beach but the swim pool had lots. Really windy so water was not clear, and sand was blasting, enjoy this property before the new massive Bah-Mar goes up next door "there goes the neighbourhood! Nice beach for a long walk saw a few spotted rays, beauty eh!
• Downtown: Took the bus downtown $1.25 American each way best deal, did not eat at "Fish-Fry" little area before downtown row of local food restaurants I heard very good, large portions best to share but pricey $100.00 USD dinner/drinks. Took a $4.00 ferry over to Atlantis, over the top for us, Caribbean Vegas, I was told we could look around but was not allowed pass the casino to look at the aquarium, too bad they lost a future family customer! Bring comfy shoes, no duty free except for alcohol, lots of cruise ship people. Straw Market very claustrophobic, narrow aisles, sales people in your face, best to go to little market outside the hotel less crowded same stuff!
• Leaving: Just told to be in the lobby for a certain time bus then left to airport, no row call or check, so make sure you're in time or you're cabbing it! Tip; make sandwiches at the buffet so you can eat on the plane take bottled water as well from resort!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just renovated, and rooms are quite nice. Service from front desk to housekeeping is excellent. They have a private lounge, usually a club level, but this one is called Level One.
The lounge staff varies from great to pretty bad, and the offerings are not bad, but they have one single cup coffee maker that takes forever. Lounge has good sitting areas with good view of the ocean. The property is pleasant and on the ocean.
The hotel restaurants are included if you are an all inclusive guest, except for the steak house which is worth skipping' the Asian and Mexican are not good. I did not try the Italian place.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this last minute for New Year's Eve and we had a wonderful and relaxing family vacation. Everything was great and the food was good. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

The only thing I would have liked to see an improvement on was the kid's club. The staff didn't get down to my child's level nor introduce themselves so we ended up just skipping out on that part. There was also only one other child of a different age registered so didn't seem like it would be that much fun.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nassau
#3 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.