We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Smithtown, New York
1 review
“Total disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The pictures look gorgeous, but don't be fooled. The hotel is poorly managed. Most of the shops on the casino level are closed and the casino itself is closed and boarded up. None of the pools are heated and there is green algae present. One outdoor whirlpool is completely boarded up and the other is poorly maintained (not clean). Some of the heating lamps in the buffet area are not working, so the food that is supposed to be hot is cold. Housekeeping service was present, but towels were lacking. We had adjoining rooms and had a total of 5 people between the two rooms and we were given 1 towel in each room. When I requested additional towels, I was told they were completely out of towels and someone would bring them by at night, which they did. The next day the room was cleaned but we had no towels again. The hotel is run down in many areas. We observed broken lamps, cracked concrete, ripped rugs, some sinks not working in some of the bathrooms in the general areas. Some of the areas in the pools were cracked and there was pieces of loose concrete in the pool. They advertise a "kids club" which is absolutely ridiculous. It's a small room with a few game tables in it. It's like the size of a one car garage. "No Smoking" rules were not enforced. We were informed by a cab driver that this hotel is actually being done away with once the new hotel nearby called the "Bahar Mar" opens up, which makes sense since it seems like nothing is being repaired. Most of the staff that we had direct contact with were not hospitable at all. The one place we really enjoyed in the hotel was the dinner we had at Black Angus, which is the steak house. It's not part of the all-inclusive package, but well worth the extra. We received five star service, the staff was super professional, and the food was top-notch. It seems like you are in a totally different resort while dining in this restaurant. Love the Bahamas, but this place is not recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms are not guaranteed when you book, so I don't know how you would go about getting the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    514
    316
    160
    146
See reviews for
374
583
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I went to the Melia Resort for a quick four day weekend in January. This resort has the most amazing food for an all-inclusive resort. I strongly recommend getting the all-inclusive package. It was 125 dollars U.S. but worth it. A local beer with tax and gratuity is just over 10 dollars. Even though gratuity is included in the bill please tip your servers it is just rude not to. The bartenders at the pool bar are fantastic. I tipped them a 20 my first day there and I never had to go back to the bar. I could just wave from my lounge chair at the pool and they would bring me another drink without having to get up. Well worth the extra 20 dollar tip. While we were there the staff and hotel management were in a big dispute because management was no longer giving the gratuity from the checks to the staff. The day we left the headline of the newspaper was the Melia staff was going to court for the right to strike the hotel. I am not aware if this has been settled or not but it is also why I always tip even at an all-inclusive. The hotel itself is not a five star hotel. More like a three star. I would compare it to a Holiday Inn back in the states. The food and the staff are why I gave it four stars.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall, not the usual all-inclusive experience we are used to. While the hotel and property was very clean (everywhere except the stairwells), it seemed the staff felt they were doing us a favor by attending to any need or request, no matter how basic (coffee please with breakfast?). For the most part, other than the hostesses, they were very haughty and aloof. A few bright spots among them but definitely did NOT make us feel like we were a guest there, more of a bother to them. We did not make any special or unusual requests either. From check in where they tried to give us an island-view room right after looking at our docs that said ocean-view (altho maybe all really do have an ocean view, but you pay extra for that room vs island view), to the restaurant staff, to anyone we would ask a question of or try to speak to in a hallway, we really felt like it was an inconvenience to them to have to talk with us, bring us coffee, give us a towel (and don't DARE ask for two towels, you are not allowed!). Food was just okay which surprised us. The Market buffet probably had better tasting food than the specialty restaurants but even that was usually cold even though kept under a warmer. The ocean views were great and pools very nice.

Room Tip: The Level may be worth it, we didn't try it, but maybe service would have been friendlier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at this resort for our mini vacation. The check in & check out process went very quick and smooth. Our room was nice, but nothing special as this is an older resort. The annoying thing we found about our room was one can hear EVERYTHING in the hallway. It's a family resort and children can be heard crying in the hall and rooms next door in the early evening hours. One day the resort ran out of towels in the afternoon, later on in the day they had more towels to give the patrons. The only thing one could hear for an hour or so was housekeeping knocking on people's doors bringing them towels for an hour. It was a bit annoying hearing housekeeping every 5 minutes. Better sound proofing is needed!
The thing that bothered me the most was the carpets in the hotel. These hotel are located in high humidity areas. The staff were good at keeping up with the cleaning, but on some floors you could smell the carpet. It didn't have a strong odor, but it was there.
The staff were nice a courteous except for the bartender at the pool bar that was confrontational when it came to serving alcohol that was supposed to be "top shelf" quality and it wasn't.
We found that there were double standards when it came to top shelf alcohol. If a bar had Grey Goose and Kettle One, then Grey Goose is top shelf. But if a bar had Kettle One and not Grey Goose then Kettle One was top shelf (which it's not). Beer was kept to local beer only. Top shelf beer was Budweiser, Bud Light or Corona (which they are not). Local rum was classified as top shelf, but 151 proof wasn't. It made things frustrating when trying to order a drink you can have in the lobby bar, but not at the pool bar.
They do have servers that walk around the pool area, but they are far and few between. Order multiple drinks at once, that way you won't have to wait too long for the next round.
The food was good, buffet had a good selection. We only did one A la Carte restaurant Aqua. The Italian food was delicious and service was quick. The server screwed up my order, but it was still good.
The casino that is connected to the hotel is closed. They built a new one across the street which is opening in mid March. Don't fooled by the casino sign that is still light up.
If you want a family resort that is smaller than the rest, then this place would be okay. But if you are going as a couple, spend the extra money and go to Sandals, then everyone is treated the same and no limits on what kind of alcohol.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Don't listen to bad reviews. All inclusive is the way to go. Just cameback from a 3 day stay. Here's the list:
No wait for drinks at the bars.
Beach is great
Food was good with many choices. Once in a while, a short wait for breakfast at The Marketplace.
Staf was tremendous and friendly.
You need to make reservations early for the restaurants which were good overall.
Rooms were clean and housekeeping was great
Not much entertainment but who cares
I would recommend this place to anyone
Close to airport

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughesville, MD
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I took the public bus for $1.25 to Cable Beach. Once there, we were told by a local man who got off the bus with us that there were no beach chairs or umbrellas available on the beach, nor food or bathrooms. We decided to purchase a day pass at Melia for $35 each. We were given a wristband that stated day pass. The resort looked very nice. Unfortunately both pools were too cold to swim in - NO ONE was in either pool. I sat on the edge on of pool and dangled my legs in the water. In fifteen minutes, both feet were numb - seriously that cold. They have comfortable chairs, very few umbrellas. We purchased two drinks, a pina colado and a rum punch - $22. We started to get hungry, we decided to share a chicken sandwich because it was $16 for one sandwich. I asked the lifeguard if the resort was all inclusive, she said that people could chose all inclusive or pay as you go. I don't know what the all inclusive rates are but there is no way we would be able to afford to stay here for a week as pay as you go if two drinks and one sandwich cost $38 without tip.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped in Nassau for a day on a cruise. The price for the day pass is $35/person and gives you access to the pool, beach area, chairs, towels, bar, etc. Unfortunately, it was overcast and a little chilly the day we were there. The resort area was nice, relatively clean. The bar was overpriced, but that was expected ($9 for a light beer.) Didn't have any food. Overall, it was average, about what I expected. Some of the people working the bar were very friendly, others barely acknowledged you. It's a good place to go if you're just looking for a place to crash on the beach, but I'd say a little overpriced for what you get.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nassau
#3 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.