We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing location, great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We came on a family vacation, first time for the four of us in the Bahamas. We did a reservation for a week and since we arrived personnel at the hotel showed very helpful and colaborative. Rooms were good enough for a beach resort in Nassau and it looks Melia is working hard to improve and modernize them and the common areas as well.

Special thanks and recognition to Mr. Giorgio Bombino, Senior Food and Beverage Manager and to Mrs. Clarista in the tours front desk. Both are the kind of people who make the difference.

A few recommendations are about having more umbrellas in the beach area and improve the pools water temperature (even when being in a pool having a so beautiful beach does not makes too much sense!). Rooms even when are dated, are comfortable, clean and with very nice views to the ocean but as mentioned in other comments, they need some improvements.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    445
    271
    138
    124
See reviews for
327
487
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 4 nights at Melia Nassau from 12/14-18 and went with the Level plan, but not the all-inclusive, as we wanted to have some meals away from the hotel. We knew this would be a quiet week (pre X-mas) and indeed the hotel felt rather uncrowded. We booked our rooms though the hotel website directly, and by signing up for their free program, were able to get a better discount than the aggregator websites.

Before arriving, we had some minor concerns about the construction and other hotel issues given the recent reviews, but we were expecting the projects to be ongoing and had a really fantastic time.

The Level was a great choice. We had separate check-in and check-out and access to their newly opened lounge. This was our first experience with a ‘concierge’ treatment at a hotel and it was amazing. Free nibbles, exceedingly attentive staff, top-shelf drinks (from 11a-11p), computers with a printer, and a swanky lounge. It felt like the difference between business class and economy on a flight, but was just a fraction more of the cost of our rooms. Our particular thanks go to Mei-Lei and Victoria for their time and attention.

The construction was a bit of an annoyance, especially with noise on the beach, but the beach itself was stunning and there were nice long walks to get away. I’d read earlier concerns about towels, but their current card-based system worked perfectly well for us.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly, with warm greetings wherever we went. I’d left my hat at one of the lunch places and as soon as Moses saw me, he went to get the hat I’d forgotten.

The restaurants were ok. I can’t rave about the food, but living in NYC can change one’s expectations. We happened to catch a Sunday night Bahamian buffet that we did enjoy very much; it was held in their Italian restaurant and there seemed to be some local Bahamian families who came to the restaurant just for that. We had a great dinner in town at Café Matisse (ask for an outdoor table when you make your reservation).

The wifi worked in the lobby and, as we expected, was not active in the rooms. I will actually say that this forced us to be ‘unplugged’ in the evenings and mornings and was in reality a plus for our R&R.

Considering the relatively low cost, the beautiful beach, the Level amenities, and the ease of it all, I’d give the Melia a 4/5. Without construction so near the beach and with heated pools, it would have been 4.5.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great price for your money. I am a frequent rewards visitor at melia and I must say that I love staying at melia for a weekend get away. Love the improvements to the lobby and the service is comendable. As many times as I have been to melia no other employee as ever stand out to me like the bartender Dicienzo and Michael they really turn my night around that day. I would recommend Melia to anyone looking for a quiet peaceful get away.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice place. Read a few negative reviews of the place(after I booked), but they were unwarranted. I did not see any construction, to speak of. The staff could not have been friendlier! Only had a minor issue with a lack of towels in the room, but a quick call to the front desk and 10 minutes later had towels to spare delivered.
Will definitely go back and take advantage of the offered amenities at the hotel.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Melia in February of this year, and it was fantastic. So as a treat I booked for 4 nights just before Christmas, to relax after a very busy summer and fall. I booked through a travel agent, and only weeks after we had booked and paid, were we informed of the ongoing construction.

When we arrived, the check in was fairly quick, once you located it. They had moved it around the corner in the lobby, and put up no signage to let you know that the long counter with all the monitors was actually not the check in. The system for identifying hotel guests and their plan (inclusive or european) has changed. Now you wear a bracelet made of very silky string that keeps untying itself. Mine had a copper ring that helped keep it on, but my son's did not, and it was a constant frustration as we tried to keep from losing it. If you lose it, you have to pay a hefty penalty; it seems unfair to make it so hard to retain and then penalize you if it falls off.
Once we got up to the room, we had to request an ethernet cable three times before it finally appeared, even though it was supposed to be in every room, and we had not been able to go to our room on arrival as "it was being checked to make sure everything was in perfect order". We also never got a bathmat after the second day, and the complimentary coffee was only replaced with decaf. There was only 1 tiny square of soap, that had to travel back and forth from the shower to the hand sink. At least the bathroom was very clean.

The main pool, which is the only one that is heated, was closed. The other pools were simply TOO COLD to swim in. And I grew up swimming in Northern Ontario lakes. The construction was cordoned off with a hoarding that completely blocked the view of the beach and ocean.
Also under construction was the buffet restaurant that we had loved on our first visit. It was set up temporarily inside another restaurant, without any signage to explain what was going on. Whether it was a logistics issue, I don't know, but the wonderful variety of vegetable dishes was greatly reduced from our stay before, and as vegetarians suddenly our choices were much more limited. We went to the Mexican restaurant that they have opened, expecting that there, we would have a wider array of food choices. Nope. There was 1 main that we could eat, and it did not appeal to either of us. When we spoke to the server, it was as if he had heard this many times, and he didn't offer to see if the kitchen could prepare some of the dishes without meat. We went back to the buffet, and had mac and cheese for the third night in a row.
The evenings there are dead. Last time they at least set up an outdoor movie screen, but this time there were no such entertainments, and the resort was a ghost town after 8pm.
On our 2nd day there, they had taken down the hoarding from the pool, and by the 3rd day they had put out lounge chairs. The pool still wasn't open though, and didn't open while we were there.

On the day we left, they reopened the renovated buffet restaurant. Maybe once the renovations are complete, it will be a pleasant place to stay. However the complete lack of effort on the part of management to make up for the insufficiencies (like no serviceable pool!) makes me feel that, however nice the new Melia may seem, it will always come down to the fact that management does not have a culture of caring for guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, and less noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We arrived at the Melia on Christmas Day and received a luke warm welcome from the front desk staff. After waiting over an hour past check-in for our room we were finally given our keys. Hospitality and service were not a priority for any of the staff. The resort is dated. I felt like I was back in the 1980s. There were bandaids on the walking paths, tiles missing around the pool and paint worn off the walls. The hallways were stuffy, long, and the carpets were stained. Overall I felt like the resort was dirty and in need of an extreme makeover. Luckily we only had to stay here one night. We are leaving for Eleuthera today and hopefully will have a better experience at our final destination.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just may not come back.
My wife and I booked the week of Nov.9th for an all inclusive holiday, here, after spending the previous week on another island in the Bahamas. She did mention that there were upgrades going on at the resort, but I don't believe she was aware of the size or extent of the construction work that was going on. Of the 8 restaurants offered at the resort, only 3 were open, and the poolside bar closed at 11pm., leaving all the patrons to finish their drinks in the dark, and aimlessly wonder off into the night, to explore other resorts, looking for some nightlife. The casino was almost empty every night, with only a handful of people gambling. There are NO entertainment venues at all!
The staff is exemplary and very cordial, seeming to care that we guests are enjoying our stay. To the best of what they are able to offer us.
I am sure that once all the distractions of the construction are gone, the resort might be better, but that is no consolation for an unimpressive, all-in holiday.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#4 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.