We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & location. Expensive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 45% off
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great staff & location. Expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Though the beach was beautiful, and the staff were all wonderful, I found the hotel in need of work. Renovations to parts of the hotel are under way, but it needs a complete overhaul. The wood on my bed was literally stripping off on the side, the bathroom faucets were worn, and the general appearance of the hotel was old. I'm not a fussy person, just didn't think this hotel was worth the money. Remember they charge you an additional $40/day on arrival, for facility fees. We also had to pay another $25/day for a cot. The room was cleaned well, the staff more than helpful, though the arrival desk was less than friendly. The restaurant (Aqua) was great for 1 or 2 meals, but limited menu. The food in the bar/lounge was very expensive ($17.50 for 4 chicken strips, no fries), beer $7-$9, wine more. The food at the outside restaurant was often cold, and also expensive. We paid $75 for lunch for 3, for essentially grilled cheese & chips (only 1 alcoholic beverage). The bar area around the pool was loud, which I know is to be expected. Thus we spent all our time at the beach. I don't know why they have to play their music so loud at 10:00 in the morning, however. The gift shop in the lobby is very expensive. $4.50 US for a bottle of juice. Head down to the ice cream shop in the hallway towards the casino, and it's $1.00 cheaper for the same thing. They also have sandwiches, and snacks, a little more reasonably priced. We hired a cab and drove to a large grocery store 10 minutes down the road. Though more expensive than home, much more reasonable. We paid $10/day for a bar fridge for our room, and had breakfasts and lunches from grocery store purchases. You can grab their local bus for $1.25 right outside the hotel - great way to see the local flair, and a lot cheaper than a cab. Heads right downtown Nassau. There's a KFC and other fast food stops around, but require a bus ride or cab ride to get there. The Poop Deck restaurant was nice, but again expensive. Good for one night out. Overall I don't think I'd go back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    384
    234
    108
    105
See reviews for
302
411
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just recently visited Melia Hotel with my partner and we really enjoy our holiday in this place. Hotel is very nice not to big and clean. Location is quite far away from the downtown but you can catch the bus and 10 min you will be in town. However everything in the hotel is quite expensive e.g. small cup of beer $7 and small coke $3.5 where in the shops outside hotel you can find them for $2 and $1. Rooms are clean but our pillows smelled really bad i don't know why but it was a bit odd. Overall still very nice hotel with nice staff and rooms are not so expensive.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in the process of refurbishment , lots of building work in the hotel and next to the beach, you can only escape it by leaving the hotel. No mention of this work being done when we booked or when we arrived or booking out. The beach is not clean although it is swept daily. The carpets in the bedrooms are dirty and the bathroom faucets are falling off the basin and bath fittings. However the staff were all very polite and helpful . Beware of the charging as the room rate does not include the resort charge of $40 per room per day, no mention of this on there adverts or at check in. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Check out other Hotels in Nassau and beware of extra charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW


I have spent my honeymoon in this beautifull Resort and all was good! The beach is wonderfull! But the top of the top is Giorgio!! One of the manager of the structure... He is an autentic gentleman, sympatic, very avelaible. Mauro and Martina

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Found this property to be in much poorer state than expected. Essentially 1 restaraunt. Same food all around. No fridge in rooms. Understaffed and seems to have many new staff. A long ways from golf especially with limited (1 lane) roads. Nicholaus course may help with that when it opens. A lot of construction/repair going on which is noisy. Took several hours to get internet - cable in room was broken. Very limited TV channels. Have to sign a charge ticket for everything you eat/drink even with all inclusive. This property is not ready to be opened as a vacation destination.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travel to the Bahamas on a yearly basis. We love the island. As for Melia the food was better then expected, the beach was gorgeous but the rooms were just ok.We look forward to seeing this resort when renovations are complete.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The view from our room was absolutely amazing! The resort hosted great concerts every night and we would just go on our balcony and enjoy them. Staff was almost too helpful, the cleaned our room 2x per day, which got a little annoying, but otherwise we had a great time! A short walk away we were able to watch the sunset over the water, and the scooter rental was just up front.

Room Tip: Bring your own own shampoo, theirs smells bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Nassau
#3 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.