We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
“Beautiful Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a great time at this hotel. The staff was friendly, especially Lucinda from the outdoor beach grill. She gave exceptional service and was such a friendly person. The hotel was in transition so work needed to be done by the pool, lobby, etc. This did not bother us at all. The food was great, especially the Aqua Restaurant. All inclusive is a must since the Bahamas is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    276
    172
    76
    77
See reviews for
208
298
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This will be very detailed as I would like to give a fair assessment of this property. It will contain the pros and cons of each subtopic. So, here goes:

CHECK-IN PROCESS: Pros--- the staff is nice Cons-- I waited in line for 45 mins to check in. The lobby is cramped and lacks proper air-conditioning. My advice is to arrive early and try to check in then. If you wait until the actual 3 pm check in time or slightly later, you'll have a long wait.

CHECK-OUT PROCESS: -- Again, there's a long wait. Check out time is 11 am for everyone. I was in line by 10:30 and had to wait no less than 20 mins to check out since there were only 2 agents working. Who does this? I've been in cheaper establishments that offer express checkout. Are these people serious?

REFRIGERATORS: -- There's a $10/day charge for a fridge. I requested one because I was traveling with a diabetic who needed to refrigerate her insulin. I was told there were none and that I would be put on a waiting list. Two problems with this. First, medical needs trump convenience. Second, I was never given one and I'm sure that someone with one checked out during our stay.

ROOM (872 in the west wing): Pros-- the bed is comfortable and the views are spectacular Cons -- The a/c barely worked (we had to have someone repair it). The power went out twice during the 5 day stay. The water (which is controlled by the power) was yellow when used (and I have pics of it). Further, it was a 21 room walk in an unair-conditioned hallway just to get to the room. It was a sauna since it faced the sun.

THE "RESORT": Pros -- the beach is beautiful and wonderful to go to. It's clean. There are sufficient chairs. It's just awesome! Cons -- this is not a resort. It's a hotel only. There are minimal activities at best. One of the 2 whirlpools didn't work. It shuts down at 10 pm. If you don't choose an all-inclusive option, then there is a $40/day resort fee...the question is for what... When I asked, I was told that it was for security. This was a blatant lie, especially since the locals frequent the establishment after 6pm on a regular basis. And it's a good thing that they did because that is how we found out about all of the other activities going on around town. Also, this place is partially used as the rooming house for the workers of the new Baha Mar that is being built off the east wing.

Eating facilities/all inclusive: DON'T waste your money on all inclusive. The food isn't that great, the drinks are watered down, and you don't get to eat around the clock like a true all inclusive resort allows. It's just not worth it. With that being said, it's expensive if you don't get it. Breakfast from the little ice cream place was $12 for a bottle of water and a bacon, egg, and cheese (which was disgusting might I add). The water was $3.50 alone. There are no good options except to jump on the 10 bus and go into town and get a fabulous breakfast at Skans (next to the straw market) or another place for about $10 or less.

Overall, this place is not what I would think of for a resort. If you think I'm lying, compare it to the Kapalua villas in Maui, HI. That's a resort w/ amenities. This is a hotel trying to pass itself off as a resort. I would never return here because the value for the money you receive is not good. We should have stayed at the Comfort Inn on Paradise Island for the same price except we would have received a free breakfast and daily access into Atlantis.

So, save your money people and go elsewhere. Maybe then, the Melia will raise the standard of its "resort" to one that is worthy of the Melia brand name....THIS PLACE IS SUB-PAR AND SURELY NOT A RESORT!

Room Tip: Anything in the 50's. This will place you near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau,, Bahamas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was not ready, but there was plenty on property fun things to do. Staff was friendly and offered off sight things to do. Beautiful environment. Public transportation excellent to downtown area. great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When this resort is as busy as it is there should be agents at every computer at all times with reliefs as lunch and breaks are taken. A lot of work needs to be done in this area. The room was clean..





  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took 1.5 hours in line to check in and they weren't apologetic about the long wait. I observed several check-in staff being very rude to customers. Reservations that had been confirmed didn't mean anything. Rooms either weren't available or just weren't ready. We were supposed to have a double and wound up having to take a king.

Food was only so-so and it got monotonous after a while. Marketplace wait staff were *fairly* friendly. Housekeeping staff were rude and lazy. They seemed to have a general lackadaisical attitude about their jobs.

Tub was clogged and water would get ankle deep when showering. We did manage to get this fixed by a nice maintenance man.

Overall, the cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel seemed quite lacking. The AC was never enough. We would wake up sweating in the middle of the night. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 10:30PM for some unknown reason. Really?!?!? 10:30PM?!?!?

The beach was the only bright spot at all except for the locals selling goods and services. It was quite annoying having to deal with them yelling out to the guests all the time and generally bugging the crap out of you to buy their goods/services. They also made lewd comments and looks toward hotel guests and I feel hotel security should have done something to curb this behavior.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The beach is nice, the drinks are nice but the service was horrible!! The staff seemed to be inconvenienced by anything we asked, even if it was to pay for a drink!! The pool activities were blah and even our kids were ready to leave after day 2..now that's bad when it gets to our beach bunnies who only need the sun and water on vacation!!

Our room was very warm and the AC didn't seem to be working at full capacity so we called the front desk and were told to "shut the curtains" to keep it cool. Seriously? The storm door was already closed and the curtains were pulled close but can we at least look out the ocean view window and stay cool while we are in the room?? lol! It was a joke to us!

We came from a 5 day stay at the Blue Water Resort up the street..much older resort (more like condos), needed upgrades but very clean, small Tiki bar by the pool, only 35 units and their customer service ran circles around the Melia!! It was shameful!!

Yes, it's true that most islands run on a more leisurely pace when it comes to customer service and we are used to that as a family. No problem mon..take it easy and wait. But the service at Melia was worse because most of the staff acted like they didn't want to be bothered with you. That is what's horrible!! It's the small things like a smile or "good morning" that mean more than a nice swim up pool bar.

No complaints with the wifi in the lobby, the towel service, the pool, the restaurant..that comes with the island territory but good customer service can turn the oldest, ugliest resort into the best experience ever!! And you will NOT find that at the Melia!

I would not recommend this resort for anybody who considers themselves worthy of good customer service..um, that means all of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Melia (formally Sheraton) is undergoing some major changes that are not conducive to vacationing. Stay elsewhere until they're done..practically ruined my vacation. My room phone was broke, so I kept missing calls. After repeated efforts to have it fixed, I gave up. There is no internet service in the rooms, only in the lobby area. Lastly, the Melia is under MAJOR construction. The entire lobby is sectioned off with only access to the front desk. All other amenities are accessible by walking all over the hotel campus to get to them. After 20 years of staying at this hotel, this was my very last stay. I promise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.