We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE Customer Service!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE Customer Service!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The beach is nice, the drinks are nice but the service was horrible!! The staff seemed to be inconvenienced by anything we asked, even if it was to pay for a drink!! The pool activities were blah and even our kids were ready to leave after day 2..now that's bad when it gets to our beach bunnies who only need the sun and water on vacation!!

Our room was very warm and the AC didn't seem to be working at full capacity so we called the front desk and were told to "shut the curtains" to keep it cool. Seriously? The storm door was already closed and the curtains were pulled close but can we at least look out the ocean view window and stay cool while we are in the room?? lol! It was a joke to us!

We came from a 5 day stay at the Blue Water Resort up the street..much older resort (more like condos), needed upgrades but very clean, small Tiki bar by the pool, only 35 units and their customer service ran circles around the Melia!! It was shameful!!

Yes, it's true that most islands run on a more leisurely pace when it comes to customer service and we are used to that as a family. No problem mon..take it easy and wait. But the service at Melia was worse because most of the staff acted like they didn't want to be bothered with you. That is what's horrible!! It's the small things like a smile or "good morning" that mean more than a nice swim up pool bar.

No complaints with the wifi in the lobby, the towel service, the pool, the restaurant..that comes with the island territory but good customer service can turn the oldest, ugliest resort into the best experience ever!! And you will NOT find that at the Melia!

I would not recommend this resort for anybody who considers themselves worthy of good customer service..um, that means all of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    274
    171
    74
    76
See reviews for
205
298
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Melia (formally Sheraton) is undergoing some major changes that are not conducive to vacationing. Stay elsewhere until they're done..practically ruined my vacation. My room phone was broke, so I kept missing calls. After repeated efforts to have it fixed, I gave up. There is no internet service in the rooms, only in the lobby area. Lastly, the Melia is under MAJOR construction. The entire lobby is sectioned off with only access to the front desk. All other amenities are accessible by walking all over the hotel campus to get to them. After 20 years of staying at this hotel, this was my very last stay. I promise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windber, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Umm... I don't even know what to start. Nice hotel and nice beach. There is no sense of urgency checking in, waited in line for about a hour. There is barely any air conditioning, and the elevators we not not working ( I am not opposed to walking , just saying ). The power went out 2 times while we stayed. There is nothing to eat and if you walk 10 minutes the only thing you find is Burger King and a Dominoes, and a Thai restaurant. Could not get clean towels the entire stay, and when they did bring towels, it was literally one towel, no wash cloth, and no floor mat. Signs were confusing and everyone we ran into could not find there room again because nothing was marked!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our family of 7 just got back. GREAT TIME! Hotel and rooms nice. Who cares if hallway is narrow. Food and selection were GREAT! All the beef - outstanding! One pleasant feature which we did not have at Iberostar was the Melia buffet is AIR CONDITIONED! You don't sweat while eating. The Beach is GREAT.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello George M,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again so that we can provide you with another great vacation.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was never enough towels in the room had to call everyday for towels which was brought to room around nine or ten o'clock at night. Ice machine was never working. Check in service was very slow lines was to long no where for elderly to sit when lines long and slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Frances B,
Thank you for choosing the Melia Nassau Beach for your stay. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the issues you incurred during your time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us as they help us to ensure we continue to provide our guests with the best service possible.
I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again should your travels lead you back to Nassau, Bahamas.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is made to look beautiful online, however it is not what you expect. There is no wi-fi service unless you want to spend $35/day to get it. The only wi-fi was in the lobby or the gym and you had to stand still hoping it would connect. Getting clean towels was a drag. The bed is extremely uncomfortable and staying for a week, made for soreness returning home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Danielle C,
Please accept my apologies for the disappointments with your stay. Please know that we are actively working to make our resort one of the best on the island. I do hope you visit us again so that you can experience our continued growth.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel could be so much better , Don't expect to much and you won't be disappointed . The beach is nice and the area is not to bad . All you have to do is get out of the hotel and explore the real Bahamas the people are beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GExperience_MeliaNB, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Lisa D,
I am so disappointed to know that we did not meet and surpass your expectations for your stay with us. We are currently undergoing renovations and we are very excited about with is in store for our resort. I hope you visit us again in the future so that you have the opportunity to enjoy all of the beautiful upgrades and additions coming our way this year.
Thank you for staying with us.

Andrew Tilley,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.