We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and the Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Summerhill, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Good and the Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at this Resort when It was the Sheraton several times and this is our first time staying at a Melia Resort. Overall I do give the resort a good rating not because the trip was perfect but, because the issues we did have were addressed quickly and the staff was always ready to help. When we arrived the waiting time to get checked in was less than 10 minutes, this was 5pm, we arrived to our room which we had booked a (Premium Ocean View room) and we were very disappointed to find our room had a view of the neighboring villas and palm tree's with a Balcony a fourth of the normal size, The Bell Man was very attentive and immediately took us to the front desk to get a room that was worthy of the booked one, We ended up with a Spectacular view of the Pools, Beach, and had plenty of room on our private balcony, very happy with this we tipped the bell man $20, as he was very kind and helpful. We had the most wonderful time while here but as I said, not perfect, we had issues with the phone in our room not working which also did not let us connect to the internet...This was the most frustrating part of the stay because on the first night we didn't want to deal with it and went to the beach, the second day it became very inconvenient and was reported to the desk about the internet (at this time not realizing our phone was the issue) and she said she would connect me to The Internet technician....once on the phone with him my internet worked then later again did not. On the third day I was able to speak with the Resorts Assistant Director Gale who was very attentive to the problems that we had been having and sent a Technician up to our room (his name was Clayton) He was very kind, warm and respectful, I felt very comfortable being in another country in my hotel room alone with a complete stranger....! He attempted to fix everything for me but needed to replace my phone, I felt comfortable leaving all my electronics in the room and allowing him to come back while we were down on the beach. He did come back while we were gone and not only fixed my phone and internet, But also took the extra time and also set up my Bose (Portable boom box if you will) to my Laptop so we could have some music out on the Beach. This ended up being a Priceless trip...we had many people jamming down on the beach and All the staff that passed through all had a big smile on their faces and would give us a little dance for our entertainment! This was a Blast so thank you Clayton! The rest of our trip was absolutely Amazing and Unforgettable, The drinks were delicious (Try a Miami Vice, Pina Colada with Strawberry Daq), and we had Salsa night, The Instructors taught us all well and we felt very sexy out there even if I have two left feet it was very fun and the men were easy on the eyes! There was a band on our last night who had everyone laughing so hard who got some ppl from the crowd to do a dance called "touch your toes" where you end up shakn what your mama gave u for the entire crowd, LOL very memorable! Overall, I'd day this resort does have a few things to work on but this really is the place to stay. The best family resort in Nassau for sure :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    266
    166
    71
    73
See reviews for
199
291
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my girlfriend stayed at The Melia July 12th-19th. We noted the bad reviews, however, weren't too worried since the most recent ones were fairly positive. The trip went extremely well, starting with choosing a taxi service, as opposed to booking a private or shared airport transfer. A taxi from Pindling Intl to Melia is $20. Also, the customs walkthrough was very quick at the time we arrived, @5pm. In addition, the check-in at Melia took approx. 10 minutes. The front desk lines seemed to be much shorter after 2-3pm. If you have a choice, try to arrive later in the day. We booked the all-inclusive package and upgraded our room to an ocean view. One of the best things about our room was the Wi-Fi access. The receptionists will say that no rooms are Wi-Fi equipped. However, the ocean view rooms in the west tower adjacent to the pool can connect to the network from within the room. The lobby was constantly filled with people using the public Wi-Fi access. Just beware, there is one set of elevators per wing/tower. If your room is toward the end of the wing/tower, its a long walk. There are stairways, if you don't mind some additional exercise. The food plan was well worth it. A buffet breakfast is approx. $50 for two people and drinks at the bars are $10 each. Waiting and signing receipts seems unnecessary and takes quite awhile. But we had no additional charges at check-out. The food at Aqua was very good. The buffet was great when considering the quicker service. Plan to spend at least an hour for dinner at Aqua. My biggest concern with the hotel was the amount of trash and plastic cups. Most all-inclusive resorts allow the use of a reusable cup. By day three, I figured out that the bartenders will serve you using a reusable cup, however, only at the outdoor bar, and only if a supervisor is not present. The supervisors are always at the register going through the receipts. We also used tours/activities desk in the hotel lobby. I would suggest the day trip to the Exuma islands. It includes a trip to a private island, Saddle Cay, snorkeling at a near by reef, hanging out at a sandbar, lunch, shark feeding, and heading to another near by island to feed iguanas. Lastly, there's no need to check in early for your flight home. You will still need to check in at the airport since the customs area does not allow for preprinted boarding passes. Also, try to avoid Delta flights. Their check in lines were by far the longest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was there from July 14-19 2014. The hotel is pretty run down in some areas and needs repair/renovation; however, the lobby was nice and the rooms were clean. The beach is beautiful with crystal clear clean water and plenty to do. I did not use the pools so cannot comment on them although they looked inviting, clean and they were well tended. I suggest getting the all inclusive option as the food is excellent. The service in the restaurants were friendly and effecient. Good value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel and the rooms were nice, beach was stunning, but hotel staff as minimally helpful. But if you can fend for yourself service-wise, you'll enjoy the beach. Great snorkeling in the rocks at the hotel property. Better than the coral reef actually.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Bad Stuff

1. No Melia Kids & Co. rooms:

No rooms with bunk beds and no reception area with snacks and juice for kids. When I asked the front desk about these things, which were promised on the website when we booked, no one had any idea what I was talking about.

Picked Melia because of the bunk beds, but the room descriptions changed after we booked. Called to complain and re-book a standard room, but CSR confirmed that our room type would have bunk beds. But, on arrival, the front desk staff told a different story: Kids & Co. rooms are merely first floor standard rooms that have patios instead of balconies. No extra amenities that we could find. In fact, there were only 2 towels in the room. Getting extra towels required front desk calls and waiting, just like any standard room.

2. First floor is not convenient:

While the patios give you easy access to the pools, there is no way to lock your sliding door from the outside. Thus, your room remains unlocked if you use this "convenience" to go out to the beach. Also, since you have to go up to the 3rd floor lobby to access all the resort amenities, being on the first floor is not at all convenient.

3. Front desk process is a mess:

Even though we booked through Media.com, the front desk still required my printed booking confirmation to "guarantee the price." Hmmm? I wonder what would have happened if I did not have my printed confirmation with the price?

The front desk staff will disappeared at length to a back room to do routine stuff like photocopy passports. Also, they must use pliers and a metal clamp to fasten resort bracelets that you cannot remove, but still manage to fall of in the ocean. These processes are so inefficient that it takes 15 minutes just to check in one family of four. It is any surprise that there is always a long line?

These problems are not the staff's fault. The management of this hotel needs to improve their systems and processes so that going to the front desk is a more pleasant and efficient experience.

4. Thin walls and no soundproofing on doors.

People talking in adjacent rooms or outside in the hall sound like they are in your room. And, you can hear the music from the pool area as if the sliding door is wide open. There are simply no soundproofing on the hall door or sliding door, no seals, no padding or no tight fit to the doorframe.

The Good

1. The beach is the best:
Best Cable Beach location you could imagine. Easy swim to rocks where we saw angelfish, blue tangs, sergeant majors and brain coral. The beach is pretty big with clean white sand, aqua blue water, and a great location to see cruise ships heading to Nassau.

2. Pools are great:
The Melia has a wonderful complex of connecting pools with waterfalls. The wooden bridges and concrete paths are in need of repair, but the water is clean and there are places for kids to explore.

3. Starbucks is good:
While not a true Starbucks will all the amenities, they provide most of the standard drinks, breakfast sandwiches and bakery items. The staff is quick and this provides a great breakfast option that is not $20+/person.

4. Number 10 Bus:
For $1.25, the number 10 bus will get you to The Fish Fry and Downtown Nassau quite easily.

5. Dining is expensive but good:
The Aqua was pricey, but the service was really great and the food was very good. Similarly, the buffet was expensive, but it had great salads and seafood dishes, and my kids liked the ice cream sundae bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This resort is decent. Great location and fabulous food!! Bar and buffet servers are awesome. Front desk personal are terrible! Rude with attitudes. #1 Tip: Sloww yourself wayyy down to bahama time!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading hundreds of reviews, I was confident that most of the poor reviews were exaggerations. I was unpleasantly surprised that they were not. Don't despair if you've already booked - we had a great time despite the hotel. We traveled 7/16/14-7/22/14.

First the good:

Beach and Pool

The beach is incredibly nice and clean. The warm water is crystal clear. There is a reef 100 yards out with fish and coral. You can watch cruise ships enter and leave the Nassau port.

To get a lounge chair with an umbrella, you need to get out and "reserve" it with your towel before 7am.

Non-motorized water craft and snorkel gear are available right on the beach and are free to use for hotel guests.

The only downside is that annoying vendors hawk goods all day long: cigars, wraps and boat trips to a reef.

The pools are beautiful, despite areas of broken and crumbling concrete. Employees are out cleaning the pools and beach area before 6 am.

Room

We booked a "family room" months before the trip because it had bunk beds and a king sized bed. With the hotel's turnover, we figured that might not be available anymore. We called three days before we left and confirmed this was still the case. But it was not. Our room was a standard hotel room with two double beds.

What does a family room get you?
- Two double beds
- A room on the first floor, with no view. We were told that a first floor room had easy access to the pools. This is true, they were right outside our door. However, the sliding glass door doesn't lock from the outside. So you can't go far.
- Two hand towels and two washcloths for four people. To be fair, they brought three bath towels quickly when we called.
- A room that seemed to be in the loudest area of the hotel. We could hear the music outside at night.
-One dresser with seven draws. Not enough to fit a week's amount of clothes for four people.
-Paper thin walls. The people in the next room and in the hall sounded like they were in our room.

Our room (114) had not been renovated. The carpet was worn and stained and the caulk was coming off in between the tiles in the bathroom. The tub had a crack crudely covered up with spackle.

We might have asked for another room but a room key snafu had us waiting to have it resolved for over an hour and we were eager to get to the beach.

An alarm went off in the electrical room two doors down from our room. We alerted hotel staff. It was still buzzing when we left, three days later.

The hotel WiFi was weak and went out one afternoon. It was not restored until late the next day.

Food

We were very glad we did not opt for all inclusive because we ate off property most of the time.

The Starbucks in the lobby was excellent in quality and service.

We didn't eat at the Grill because the service was too slow. We ordered and received our drinks and then our waitress disappeared. We had to leave and no one else would give our check. We ended up leaving the money on the table and leaving.

The buffet (Market Place) is expensive, but good, with many choices.

Aqua, the Italian restaurant was pleasant. The steak was tasty and the asparagus crisp. This was the one place the service was excellent.

Et cetera

The staff were neither friendly nor helpful. They could not give me the name of the nearest pharmacy or when it might be open. If the idle people at the information desk couldn't answer your question, they made no effort to find someone who could.

$1.25 will get you a bus ride to the fish fry restaurants and downtown Nassau, which gives you a lot of options for shopping and dining. The Straw Market is where local vendors sell their crap. You are supposed to haggle with them but I couldn't run out of there fast enough. There are stores downtown that sell the same junk where the employees let you shop in peace.

You can catch a ferry to Paradise Island downtown for $4. After 6, you can walk through Atlantis, except for some restricted areas, for free. The aquariums with sharks swimming overhead are worth a look.

Bring small bills everywhere. The Bahamas national motto is "No, we don't have any change."

Room Tip: Avoid room 114
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.