We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Holiday Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Nassau Beach Resort to your Saves list
Melia Nassau Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Thornhill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay at this resort. We were a little hesitant after reading some of the negative comments, but truly this was one of our best holidays ever. We found all the hotel staff to be friendly, polite and extremely helpful. Cindy at reception is exceptionally nice & gave us a room with a spectacular view. The food was wonderful, breakfast had everything you could want, ranging from omelettes to order, to smoked salmon, cheese blintzes, fruit cups.. delicious. Lovely lunch menu at the pool restaurant, interesting salads, chicken fingers, burgers, all great. Specialty restaurant, Aqua, has an extensive menu, rack of lamb, grouper, steak. Sorry to rant on about the food, but it's really that great! We took the all inclusive package, so please note, if you don't go that route, you could have a fairly hefty food/drink bill.

Room bright & clean, beds very comfortable No fridge, but there's a a coffee maker with bottled water, coffee etc, supplied daily.

The hotel is right on the beach, which has clear water & beautiful sand. Also no-one bugging you to buy stuff, go on trips etc. which we really appreciated.

The hotel lounge has a very nice atmosphere, there were a couple of excellent singers entertaining us at night. There's also a huge movie screen outside, we took in a couple of good movies there.

Nothing more to add...except we're already planning a return trip asap. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Gail,

A review like that brings joy to our ears and keeps us smiling, which by the way is contageous and will bring joy and cheer to our other guest as well. Thank you for this great review. I would love to thank you in person should you return anytime soon.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    584
    374
    181
    166
See reviews for
437
668
51
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beach is very nice and not too crowded. After staying here for three days, we spent a week at Atlantis but actually preferred the beach at Melia. Room was clean and checking in and out was no problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Michele,

As a new hotel in a market dominated by one or two particular hotels, it could not please us more to hear that we were your choice over the others. We are excited to be in this new destination and will be here for many many years to come, offering you the same great service over and over.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel was wonderful. Yes it is dated, however renovation is forthcoming. The rooms are clean, the food is delicious and the staff is amazing. If you want 5 star, go to Atlantis and pay the 5 star price. Treat the staff with respect and they will ensure that your trip is memorable. Thank you Amelia for a fabulous trip. And for future vacationers. Disregard the negative reviews on this hotel! We will be returning....

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Lenor,

I am smiling right now because we love creating advocates for our hotels. I hope to see you again and that we can continue to impress you with our service and our product. If you have not already considered signing up for our rewards program, I would encourage you to do so. Your loyalty to us is forever valueable and we would like to give back to those that support us.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is beautiful. I'm 25 years old and went with three other friends of mine. I have no complaints. Anyone complaining about this resort is picky. (In my opinion)
The rooms were very clean and big. The resort is big, the beach area is big and beautiful. All clean and well kept. All staff are friendly. The food is great. I can't think of anything negative to say
It isn't very much of a party place. If you're looking to party hard this isn't a place for you.
Made lots of friends there. We went snorkeling and it was awesome.
We went into town and explored. I'd say it's generally safe and the people are all friendly.
In terms on nightlife we went to senior frogs and Waterloo and had a great time at both places. Never any problems.
Just make sure if you leave the resort you take taxis with yellow plates. And at the resort make sure you clarify what is all-inclusive and what isn't.
I do recommend this place and I will definitely go back. I miss is already!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Me9o

You may miss us already, but we miss you already too. See you next time.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Found the Melia on . line and could not have made a better choice. We went with the all inclusive and are extremely pleased. Got the airport transport package.
The beach is beautiful, the rooms clean and comfortable the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. There is a nice cross cut of guests, many our age. The #10 bus stops at the street in front of the resort and you are inn town in a few minutes.
We had a slight problem with cell phones but not the hotels problem. We have gone many places and are impressed with the Melia.

Room Tip: We had an 8th floor poolside, very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Tompa49

Glad we could leave you with a great and lasting impression of our hotel. Come back again soon!

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Melia Nassau Beach resort has changed a lot of hands, so I would caution you on following older review. We recently stayed at the resort and the experience was great.

Staff: All the people were great, always smiling and willing to help. An example would be they didn’t receive the request from my agent or my email to the resort for a king bed. They didn’t have a similar room with a king so they bumped me up at a higher level. Another example was I didn’t have a safe in the room and I just made a call to reception. Within a given time they had few people working on it and they could not fit the safe in the closet so they gave me a room of the same level but it was bigger and better view.

Food: All their restaurants had great food and many dishes to choose from for vegetarians and people who can’t have non halal meat. It is costly as it’s a 4 star resorts. For 2 people you are looking at an average of $ 50 for breakfast, $65 for lunch and $80 for dinner. So all inclusive is the only way to do it right.

They have 4 places to eat:
The Market Place (buffet Dinning) - Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner
Aqua – Dinner only – reservation recommended (most expensive and fine dining)
O Grill – lunch (outside near the pool area)
Estavida (Lobby Bar) – Mid-day and after meals snacks

Rooms: Great size rooms. The room was quite big with proper king bed. The mattress was nice to sleep and they had a wired internet connection in the room. The wash room was nice and big. They coffee is from starbucks and they leave Tazo teas in the room, which is nice. There is flat screen tv with some great usual channels from North America. Daily cleaning done is good as well.

Outside The resort: there are few shops across the place, there is a casino in the hotel, Bus number 10 picks you up in front of the hotel which takes you to the zoo and downtown Nassau.

On separate note: everything is done at a slow pace here but you will get use to it so be prepared to wait for everything from checking to getting a bill…

Room Tip: Get all inclusive as it will get expensive otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear BSurahyo

Photos are one of our favorite ways to share our hotel to others. We appreciate your assistance adding to the collection already available on Trip Advisor. Your suggestions are on point and we will continue to improve the finer details so that each time you visit it will be that much nicer and enjoyable.

Thank You,
Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Malay has taken over the old Sheridan property it will now be full all inclusive by December nice place very clean beautiful views lovely rooms Malia will know how to do it as an all inclusive.It is now oart of the nearly completed Bajamar mega facility

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... M, General Manager at Melia Nassau Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jimksatx_11

Thank you for staying with us this past month and for the positive comments left about your site visit. We are greatful and feel truely blessed to be in the Bahamas now offering you and your guest a great place to return to time after time.

Andrew Tilley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Nassau Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Nassau Beach Resort

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island (Formerly Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Nassau Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 694
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Nassau Beach is situated on a 1,000-foot stretch of white sand long the Atlantic Ocean on Nassau’s spectacular Cable Beach. Enjoy stunning views, comfortable accommodations, luxury amenities and globally inspired cuisine featuring a distinctive Bahamian flare. Meliá Nassau Beach is a perfect playground for kids of all ages offering an array of activities, on and off land, including golf, sailing and snorkeling in the calm, turquoise waters of the island. *Operating as an inclusive resort until December 2014. All inclusive after December 2014LOCATIONMeliá Nassau Beach is conveniently located just minutes from Nassau Paradise Island International Airport and a short walk from Cable Beach Golf Club. In addition, the resort is situated near many of Nassau’s major attractions, local restaurants, cafes and shops. ACCOMMODATIONSMeliá Nassau Beach features 694 guestrooms, including 32 suites: Classic Island View, Deluxe Pool View, Premium Ocean View, The Level, Romance Suite, Royal Suite, Grand Suite and the Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Nassau Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort And Casino
Sheraton Nassau Beach Hotel Nassau
Sheraton Cable Beach Resort
Nassau Sheraton
Radisson Cable Beach Resort
Melia Nassau Beach Resort Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Nassau Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.