We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay as a "base of operations"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandyport Beaches Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandyport Beaches Resort to your Saves list
Sandyport Beaches Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West Bay St, Sandyport | P.O. Box SP 63162, Nassau none, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Arnold, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay as a "base of operations"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pros:
- Close to the beach which was very quiet
- Walking distance to a couple restaurant options (Twisted Lime was good)
- Large rooms which were relatively clean
- Near bus stop to take you into town

Cons:
- Horribly uncomfortable beds
- Ants in bedroom
- Rooms are very dated (parts of ceiling were coming apart in both of our bathrooms)
- Could only get a wifi signal in the corner of our back bedroom (and paid $60/wk for it)
- We were told there was a continental breakfast available but never saw anything other than a coffee machine (Maxwell house or something like that - nothing special)

We weren't in the Bahamas to hang out in our room all day so it worked okay, but we probably would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KimberlyC,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Sandyport on your recent vacation and for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room, which does not meet our normal standards and we have since rectified.

Our rooms are decorated in a tropical, island feel, which we hope represents our environment. I do appreciate that this is not for everyone. The majority of the rooms are individually decorated with some being quite neutral so we can try to accommodate varying tastes, just let us know.

Regarding Breakfast we do have a few options available. The News Café in the Sandyport Marina village has recently opened and serves various breakfast options. One of our guest’s favourite though is Chef Clevland who cooks to order on our lagoon beach. You do need to order in advance as he shops specifically for your meal. While you would expect your own chef would be expensive he is in fact very reasonable. There is also Wendy’s a short walk away at the end of the Sandyport Development. The majority of our rooms do have kitchen facilities which also make breakfast both easy and economical. Please note the hotel bedroom does not have kitchen facilities but does have a coffee maker.

We do hope that you change your mind about returning. Please do let me know if you are as I will ensure that your vacation is much improved and that we make up for our deficiencies on this trip.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    113
    49
    29
    50
See reviews for
89
120
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 1st week of December 2012 at Sandyport. We had a week left on our timeshare and just picked a place. We were very pleased with the Bahamas as a destination (met some new friends from Philly) and very pleased with Sandyport. The rooom was large and very comfortable. The staff was outstanding. From Lady Sarah to Chef Cleveland....everyone was great. A special thank you to Sharonne at the front desk. Chef Cleveland's food is outstanding and Lady Sarah made us feel very welcomed. We stopped by the Sheraton to consider their hotel for a possible future stay, while beautiful, it felt cold and impersonal. Sandyport is the place for us. See you later in 2013...gotta have more Conk fritters down by the Fish Fry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear StyleK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review and thank you for mentioning our “outstanding” team. We really believe that our hospitality sets us apart. We are a relatively small resort and really enjoy the opportunity that we have to get to know our guests. We are so glad Sandyport is the place for you. We cannot wait to welcome you back in 2013.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Given the high prices of Bahamas resorts, we found a really good deal for our family at Sandyport. We were accommodated in a large and clean two bedroom apartment with a canal view and a jacuzzi. Staff was nice, our kids had a great time by the pool and by the private beach. We rented a car so we had lots of dinning and shopping options nearby. By checkout time, since the hotel had availability, they offer a late checkout until it was time to leave for the airport. We spend a day at crowded and "Vegas style" Atlantis, were prices are five times as expensive and we were very glad we chose Sandyport as our destination in the Bahamas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Sariano,

We are so pleased you are glad that you chose Sandyport as your destination in the Bahamas, which is high praise indeed from a top reviewer on tripadvisor. Thank you for pointing out that we are quite different from Atlantis and we and our guests like it that way. We are a tranquil resort known for our relaxing environment and excellent hospitality. There is no need to fight for your beach chair or hammock. That said our concierge team can book all the activities on the island and the majority pick up from the resort. You can as you did go to Atlantis for the day if you choose.

We are delighted that you found a really good deal. The two bedroom suites are great for families, providing extra space and full kitchen facilities, which can help to further reduce expenses during your stay.

We do hope that we will welcome you and your family back to Sandyport in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Sandyport Resort

We loved Sandyport Resort. To begin with, it’s a beautiful resort – rentals, timeshares and residences that are never far from a relaxing water view, including the peaceful pond that meanders thru the office area. We saw lots of fish there, including a lionfish. Our smaller rental room was comfortable, neat and clean, and steps away from MY hammock at the pool.
I really like ocean activities and real swimming, and the beach is great. Nice sand and sandy bottom water that deepens gradually, so I could do some serious laps. The crescent beachfront is relaxing and uncrowded, and there are comfortable beach loungers (always enough, but never rows and rows dominating the beach) and a beach hut restaurant, which we did not use. We did however enjoy the restaurant dog who knows a dog lover when she sees one and was happy to give us our cuddly doggie fix.
There were several great dining options in the area. Onsite, Chef Cleveland is the real thing, and makes unbelievable breakfasts and dinners – to order – on a grill and a hotplate in the Shack between the pool and the lake, for a very reasonable price (esp. since dinners include unlimited island cocktails). My husband ate there almost every day. We liked that you order your dinner entrée in the morning, so that the Chef can shop for the fresh ingredients. There are also other good bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk, and we had a beautiful New Year’s Eve dinner at the Poop Deck.
Getting around Nassau was no big deal. We felt safe. There were taxis aplenty but it was only a short walk to the bus, which got us everywhere we wanted to go for $1.25. We think the buses spent more time waiting for us than we did for them – if they saw us coming they would wait and sometimes do a U-turn swoop to pick us up so we didn’t have to cross the road. We were Downtown a couple of times and even used the buses for transportation during the wee hours for Junkanoo (but they stop running at twilight normally). And each bus is a different experience, because the drivers and their personal décor are amusingly idiosyncratic.
We really enjoyed the island itself, and because it’s so close to home, our travel day was also our first vacation day. I was in the ocean before dinner. We like the “feel” of the Bahamas a lot, the people and the culture.
Speaking of the people, the staff at Sandyport are the best. Lady Sarah made us feel very welcome before we even arrived, answering questions I had about our planned activities and looking up information for me – really excellent concierge service. By the time I actually met her, it felt like friends. And everyone we met there was the same – Cameron, Big Al, Charon…..and the rest. They made us feel like we were in Nassau, getting to know the real Nassau, not just looking in thru a visitor window.
We would go back to Sandyport in a heartbeat, and I’m sure we will.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear LizbethC,

We are so pleased you enjoyed YOUR hammock during your stay with us. Your review is filled with great tips. Thank you so much for spending the time to pass on this wonderful information. Our team loves what they do and I agree with you that they are the “best”.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sandyport in a heartbeat and to continuing to share the real Nassau with you.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews, and thought it will be magic. So wrong. HORRIBLE experience. First night we were tired and went to bed early not looking at anything. Second night however we rested and wanted to read books while lying in bed. That's when we saw them. COCKROACHES. And they were big. They kept running from under beds. I was freaked out. We called front desk, but they said the manager will be only in the morning and they could only bring us some spray to spray on cockroaches. But it was much more effective just to beat them with a shoe. We almost didn't sleep and kept light on all night. We were scared of them crawling on us as we slept.
Next morning we changed rooms and got one in another building. We thought it will be fine. But threre were cockroaches too!!! In another building of the hotel! What if we were traveling with kids? Cockroaches spread diseases! It is gross! We didn't sleep for a second night.
I'm posting pictures of the cockroaches here, so you all can see what a terrible hotel it is. It costs a fortune but is awful. We cheked out and went to another hotel. Manager was UNHELPFUL. Didn't offer a refund. Didn't seem to care. Said that cockroaches are there because they had families for Christmass and families had food and that's how cockroaches got there. Can you believe it??? That's not our problem!
AND the door-lock in the first room was broken. And AC was broken in the second room. And the beach is not cleaned. Full of bottles and see plants. The man-made beach is a stinky kind of a lake where boats park and people wash there boats using that water.
HORRIBLE! AWFUL! WOULD NEVER COME BACK!

Room Tip: Cockroach infested rooms. Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ritikiri,

I am so sorry about your recent stay with us. To say that it did not live up to yours or our expectations is an understatement and I apologize.

We have since your departure called in a specialist to address the problem. We had last week a flash problem with insects. We do have a regular pest control service that includes insects; however, this required a specific treatment which has now been carried out on the rooms.

While we have addressed this issue for our future guests I understand that this does not change your experience. We are not permitted on tripadvisor to give e-mail addresses or ask for reviewers to contact us. I would hope though that you would contact me directly so that we can make this right.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at this resort twice and two other resorts on the island........the best by far..........the staff from Mr. Moss the GM to the grounds keepers were excellent! Everyone truly makes you feel at home. The resort is within walking distance from some of the best food I'd ever eaten and only a bus ride away to many other eateries. I enjoyed having my own Private beach...........twice a week room cleaned..........colorful units...........romantic setting of the resort at night.......prompt attention given if requests were made..........friendliness of staff(especially Lady Sarah, Cameron and the lady whose name I can't recall that sits at the customer counter daily) So sorry I can't remember her name although Ms Geneva seems to stick out...nevertheless you will not regret it if you select this resort as your vacation stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the room right on the beach......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Travelwassup,

Wow! “Best resort on island” that is high praise indeed, thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you found our team excellent. The rooms that are located on the lagoon beach are the deluxe one bedroom and two bedroom suites in buildings 5 and 6. The downstairs units have the lagoon beach literally on the doorstep. I like them too and they are getting even better with new really nice beach chairs and cushions in a week.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you are a repeat guest and we cannot wait to welcome you home again.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed or were suppose to stay Dec 8-14th 2112.We stayed here because we had a RCI timeshare voucher we recieved from a benifit. When we arrived we were told it was full however there were no people anywhere. After we were settled the room was clean but the AC didn't work it dripped about 2 gallons of water on the floor in about 5 hours. The grounds were very messy but we were told it was because of Sandy. The staff were very nice but they still could not make up for what this place is lacking. The first night was horrible we had some type of domestic disturbance going on next door. After being here less than 24 hours we packed up and left thankfully were were able to get into the Country Suites wich were absolutley wonderful. I can make due almost all of the time but this was anything but a good experience. If I would give 1 bit of advice DON'T STAY HERE. You also are away from everything!!

Room Tip: Pick a different Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyportBeaches, Manager at Sandyport Beaches Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear SGOTT_12,

I am very sorry that the resort did not live up to yours or our expectations. I am sorry that you did not give us an opportunity to put it right but understand your decision to relocate and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Country Suites. I am not familiar with that property but I am guessing Comfort Suites.

The atmosphere at Sandyport Beaches Resort is tranquil where there is no need to reserve your beach chair or hammock. We have six low rise buildings that look more like houses than the typical high rise hotel. There are a total of 72 rooms ranging from hotel bedrooms to three bedroom suites. Our guests enjoy our tranquil, relaxing setting. We are not for everyone and understand the draw of the nightclub scene.

There is no excuse for the malfunctioning A/C and I am sorry about the guest next door. For future guests we do have 24 hour security on property who can attend to any after hours disturbances. I am pleased that you found our staff to be “very nice”. Our team really goes above and beyond and can organize any activity that our guests wish. We are close to everything that Cable Beach has to offer but hope our guests experience their own piece of paradise.

We are pleased that you still enjoyed your stay in the Bahamas and hope that you will visit our island again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rowena Jones
President
Sandyport Beaches Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandyport Beaches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandyport Beaches Resort

Address: West Bay St, Sandyport | P.O. Box SP 63162, Nassau none, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandyport Beaches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandyport Beaches Resort in Nassau, Bahamas is known for its tranquility, where rest and relaxation amid the tropical landscape takes you into island time. A quiet retreat ideally located in the luxury Sandyport Marina Village approximately 3 miles away from Nassau International Airport and minutes away from Cable Beach.The resorts pastel colored villas of 72 rooms surround a marina linked by a Grand Canal to the sea. The architecture is inspired by the Georgian Colonial architecture of historic Bahamas and all rooms are appointed with modern conveniences. The Signature room, The Deluxe One Bedroom Suite, is your home away from home with full kitchen and living/dining room with queen size sofa bed separate from the master bedroom with king size bed, Jacuzzi bath and view of the canal or lagoon beach. There are multiple room types available though with everything from a Hotel bedroom, Studio, one, two or three bedroom suites.The resort includes two ocean beaches a short walk from the rooms, a lagoon beach, and three swimming pools including one large pool with a gentle sand edge. The kiddie pool has 2 fun water slides. A tennis court and half basketball court are also on-site. Guests can use a computer in the lobby with complimentary high-speed Internet access during office hours. Wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. Guests also have discounted use of a nearby fitness centre. While you may find yourself getting lost in the privacy and isolation of the Resort itself, at Sandyport you can have the best of all worlds - be as quiet as you want, or as active as you want, with the dining and shopping options of The Olde Towne at Sandyport on the Resort’s doorstep and a superb range of activities that can be organized through the front desk. The resort has a limited number of rooms that are handicapped accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sandyport Beaches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandyport Beaches Hotel Nassau
Sandyport Beach Hotel
Sandyport Beach Nassau
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Resort
Sandyport Nassau
Sandyport Beaches Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandyport Beaches Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.