We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junkanoo Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Junkanoo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Junkanoo Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay & Nassau st, Nassau 8191, New Providence Island (Formerly Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Was very pleased as the hotel staff went "the extra mile" to make my stay comfortable. We had some special requirements, and they were taken care of before we arrived which was awesome. The room was clean, the shower had plenty of hot water, and the bed had fresh linens changed daily. The hotel is undergoing some renovation, but that was not an issue in any way. The in room WiFi worked great and was a plus. Junkanoo Beach, right across W.Bay St. is much improved in the last few years, and we went there every day. Fish Fry, downtown shops, and most other fun places are within walking distance--and the jitney stop is very close if you want to explore the island that way. We have stayed at other budget hotels in Nassau and this property was the best deal by far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post a review about our hotel.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm glad you took advantage of our wifi in the room.
Hope to see you soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly or any of our management staff for any future requests.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Email:gm@nassaujunkanooresort.com
Telephone (242) 322-1515
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    38
    31
    28
See reviews for
21
40
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Right next to to the beach and only about 5 minute walk to center of Nassau where the shops and restaurants are. Coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. Spacious room, clean bed. Don't forget to try rum cake while in the Bahamas!

Room Tip: facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, General Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear your beautiful comments.

Looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Glad to hear that you enjoy our Bahamian rum cake.
Try the Guava Duff next time.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent it this hotel 3 nights. It has perfect location. Beach is across the street and it is 10min. to centre of Nassau where are many nice restaurants and shops. Room is quite spacious but everything is old. There is parking available (I think free of charge) and Internet is also free of charge. But the whole building and rooms need a serious renovation. Just a little bit more and this hotel would be fantastic. At this stage I cannot recommend it. If you are short of money and you do not care about the luxury this hotel might suit you. It is clean but room service do their best. But simply everything looks poor. Also they have a big issue with towels. They wash and dry them themselves. We checked in and we were waiting 4 hours for towels. After 4 visits at reception I finally got 2 towels. Better 2 than nothing. There is nice place at the beach which offers drinks and they play reggae music. Nice place to chill out. People everywhere are extremely nice and helpful. You can feel safe and easily walk at night. However, Nassau itself is not magic like from the folder. Beach and sea is beautiful but when you look on the left you see a harbour of transhipment with big cranes. Also buildings are not renovated, not even painted. Simply do not expect anything showed in the travel agency. Reality is different. I can recommend Dolphin Excursion-definitely worth to spend a day in Laguna. Play with dolphin is great and then you can chill out in hammock with a nice drink in your hand. I totally recommend Bannana Mama- not very sweet drink but delicious. Exuma trip is lovely but pricey. Generally, everywhere gratuity is added around 15-20% which is extremely irritated. So there is not possibility to choose if you want to leave a tip or not. It is already added to your check. Senior Frog is located ideally with a night view on cruise harbour. They also offer delicious food and are not very expensive. Also Hardrock Café offers very good meals for reasonable money. Always remember about tax and gratuity at the end. Nassau seems to be great place for a cruise stop but I would not recommend to go there for longer. Simply very expensive and I am sure that there are much more nicer places than Nassau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and this was exactly what we needed. The property more resembles a decent motel than a hotel/resort, with basic amenities and in a need of repair. Our room was clean (including the bathtub), but it was smelling of mold when we arrived (no visible wall stains, though). The room comes with an A/C, TV, hair dryer and free wifi. They charge a $15 extra fee per night, so we ended up paying $105 per night after all taxes. The location could not be better - half way between the downtown and the Fish Fry (5-10 min walk). The Junkanoo beach is right in front of the inn, which makes for a nice view, although the beach is nothing special. The #10 jitney passes right in front and takes 15-20min to the Cable Beach. The taxi from the airport is $27 (takes 30-40min). If you are on budget and are staying up to 3 days, this place is right.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It is our pleasure to serve you though only for one night.
Guest comfort is very important to us. Our maintenance department has dealt with the mold issue. There is no longer a problem.

We are fortunate to have such a nice location.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

my husband and i stayed there for 4 days in December. the two girls at the front desk were awesome!!. the location is great ...very central about 5 mins to downtown and same to the Fish fry. The rooms were well maintained and the pol was clean...overall it was very good for the price. i would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, General Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for posting such kind words on Trip Advisor.

I'm happy to know that you visit with us again for the second time.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our amenities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for the third time.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hotel twice for two weeks each time. Both times we had a view of the Caribean and all of the arriving and departing cruise ships. Beach is right across the street, bus stops in front of hotel, 5 minute walk to shuttle to Atlantis, 10 minute walk to fish fry.stayed in and had pizza delivered. The name was the Nassau Junkanoo Beach the second time we stayed but same staff, Doug the manager is great and so is Sonya at the front desk. Stay here and walk or take the bus to your destination during the day and taxi at night, Free wi fi and continental breakfast. Did I forget to mention Kimberly, ask her where to shop, she is very pleasant. Thank you all

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words you posted on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the second time.
We are looking forward to serving you for the third time in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My apologies for such a late review! My husband and I stayed at this hotel Mid August 2012. The price was reasonable. The staff was excellent! From the manager to the security! Everyone was very friendly, accomodating. Excellent customer service. I love the location of the hotel, junkanoo beach across the street, Fishfry down the street. I can't wait to return. Thank you to everyone who made our stay memorable. Dawnett from Cali

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, General Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for posting such kind words on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.
We are looking forward to it.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junkanoo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junkanoo Beach Resort

Address: West Bay & Nassau st, Nassau 8191, New Providence Island (Formerly Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Junkanoo Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Junkanoo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach Hotel Nassau
Quality Inn Nassau
Nassau Quality Inn
Junkanoo Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junkanoo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.