We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Junkanoo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Junkanoo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Junkanoo Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay & Nassau st, Nassau 8191, New Providence Island (Formerly Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Great Abaco Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My family and i stayed here a few times and find the rooms to be clean,the beds are ok,its not a 5 star,but its good enough for nights stay.The resort is just 10mins walking distance from the town so everything is within your reach.I would recommend this resort if your on a tight budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of our hotel room.
Our hotel is very proud of it's level of service and cleanliness.
We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value but comfortable clean accommodation.

Thank you for sharing your review with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    45
    32
    31
See reviews for
22
44
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The best thing about this hotel was its location being right across the street from Junkanoo Beach, and within walking distance to downtown Nassau. The lobby area was also quite spacious and welcoming, with a beautifully stained reception desk on one side and a floor to ceiling mirror on the other side. Apart from those characteristics there was little else to like about this property. First, the elevator was out of order during my entire stay. Then the room assigned to me was adorned with cheap, hideous-looking curtains, linen and bed covering. Though I would add that it did have some character with its crown molding. The bathroom was awful with rust and stains visible. The toilet tank lever would not automatically reset after flushing. There was also no remote control for the television, neither was there any telephone in my room. Upon check-in, I was never informed about a safe in the closet which required a lock and key available from the front desk. My biggest issue though, was the amount of shady activity and commotion that occurred there at nights. Surely not the best spot for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you have encountered while staying with us. Many improvements have been made to our rooms and property.
Our maintenance staff is working diligently to keep up with improvements.
The feedback we recieved from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention as we pride ourselves in excellent customer service.
Hope to see you soon.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel may not look like much on the outside, but the hospitality is warm & inviting on the inside! Don't judge a book by it's cover, until you stay here! This hotel is perfect for someone who doesn't care about all the little pampering & luxuries so much, and wants to just be close to where all the action, shopping, and beaches are. The front desk staff are so friendly, they even washed up all of my laundry for me, even when the washers weren't even for public use at that hour of day! I was completely out of clothes, and they were so nice to accommodate my needs! This hotel is directly across the street from Junkanoo Beach, plenty of bar & grills, and a 5-10 minute walk to downtown Nassau and all of it's attractions. This hotel offers free continental breakfast, although it's nothing special, the pool is mediocre, and the hotel cleanliness could've been a little better overall. This hotel is not your dream getaway in paradise type of hotel, but if you are just in town to wing it with some buddies, or solo like I was, just doing the touristy stuff, this place is for YOU! You won't even need to hale a cab or bus! Save $$$ !!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water has traffic noise as well. It's a mixture of good view, with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accommodations.
We are fortunate to be in such a nice location.
Glad to hear that we were able to help with your laundry.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My Friend Erica and I stayed for four days, we found the staff was EXTRA NICE and did everything to make our stay as comfortable as they could, seeing that they was doing renovations. Kimberly,Jessica, Shavette and Mario was the BEST ! The room was clean the air condition was COLD ! Headed back there for my 3rd time this weekend !!!

Michelle Albury

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, General Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for posting such kinds words on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to read your excellent review especially those concerning the staff and service.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Junkanoo Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is fine, if you want to visit Nassau for a few days. It is a budget hotel and you will not likely find anything better for this price on New Providence Island or nearby Paradise island. If your purpose is a beach holiday, I suggest you go a bit more up-market or go to less expensive countries like Jamaica. The room with two double beds was okay for us, with a nice view on the sea and cruise ship. The city centre is about a mile and we always walked. The hotel staff was very friendly to us. In the other direction along the beach for the same distance is Fish Fry where there a number of local restaurants, which serve excellent local seafood. It is very colorful and the atmosphere is great. Food prices at these restaurants are low for Nassau standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible with sea view. The higher the less noise of the surrounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us. Our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide a clean and comfortable accomodation.

We are fortunate to have such a nice location.

Please come back and stay with us in the future.
We will be glad to serve you again.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

They show you the outside of this building. In person it looks nothing like the picture the paint is chipping. The inside is horrible, the walls are dirty, paint chipping, the toilet seats are soiled, the linen looks dingy the beds looks like they picked the mattress of the streets and placed them on any springs. and through a quilt on them. this has been the worst experience ever

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor and also taking time out to talk with me while still on property.

As discussed you were told that the hotel is under new Management and will be under going a Major renovations, and all of your concerns will be taking care of.

We also discussed that we do have a Painting Contractor who is painting the building.

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the exterior and interior of our hotel. We will take your points into consideration during the refurbishment and rebranding.

Hope you return upon completion. Please accept my apology.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good location right across the street from Junkanoo Beach, and downtown area. The hotel staff was very accomodating to us and the lobby spread and pool was well groomed.
The room is a small, european style room. The sheets were very scratchy. The A/C was extremely loud and noisy. They are very strict with towels there and won't give you any until you exchange your old ones. The shower had no working hot water. The price was a very good deal though, so we were ok with it. Again, you do get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SONIA B, Manager at Junkanoo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
First, of all sorry for such a late reply.
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We have an ongoing effort to make the hotel better for you our guest in the future.
I apologise for the any inconvenience you experienced while staying with us.
All of these issues has since been recitified.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Sonia Bain
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Junkanoo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Junkanoo Beach Resort

Address: West Bay & Nassau st, Nassau 8191, New Providence Island (Formerly Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach)
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Junkanoo Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Junkanoo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Junkanoo Beach Hotel Nassau
Quality Inn Nassau
Nassau Quality Inn
Junkanoo Beach Resort Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junkanoo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.