We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok and free.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Junkanoo Beach

Junkanoo Beach
West Bay St and Nassau St, Nassau, New Providence Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 60 attractions in Nassau
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Oxford, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was ok and free.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After being stranded by a no show on our Bahamas Segway tour, we walked to the beach. We met a lady leaving who said, "watch out there is broken glass everywhere." We did see several pieces of broken glass on the beach but the water was clear and the sun was bright and it was a cheap way to spend the day in Nassau.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    162
    91
    32
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but hurts your feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Water was calm, beautiful.. But it was rocky and lots of broken glass. Homeless onlookers.. Wear shoes and enjoy the visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to the tourist beach the first time around and it was crowded but beautiful and had a lot of things to do aka purchase but we decided to stay local and explore the area on our own so we decided to come here. It was pretty local, you won't find many tourist in the area. The beach is beautiful and the color is breathtaking. The had side area were many trees stood and a lot of the leaves and other things were there so be careful if you want the shade because there a lot of glass and leaves and other things that might injure you. The site of the ported cruiseships was pleasant. They have shopping areas around so enjoy it if you ever get hot or bored, but be careful because the stuff is quite expensive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you're the picky type, go to your private island. If you want to walk to the beach from the cruise ship, listen to rasta music while sipping a freshly-made coconut drink or Kalik, and interact with the locals, this beach is paradise. We've been paying through the nose for Carnival excursions and ran across these reviews about this beach and decided to give it a try last week. My wife had the time of her life and we enjoyed it so much that we're jumping on a disney cruise with our daughter and her hubby in 3 months just to return to Junkanoo Beach. My recommendation is to hang out at the Junkanoo Beach Bar and Grill "hut" and get some jerk chicken from the guy at the smoker grill and get him to chop off the top of a coconut for you so the hut tender can blend up a nice rum drink for you. Glass on the beach? I specifically looked for it because I'd read about that here before the trip and found none. My wife said she saw one piece. Rocky? The Bahamas is a limestone shelf...duh. This is a public beach and they aren't going to rake it for you. I had no trouble at this free beach but hurt my left foot the following day at Peterson Cay after paying through the nose again for an excursion. Just wear water shoes. Bathrooms? Looked fine from the outside but had too much fun to remember to go inside and look. A storm came and we had to run so never had to go while there.

Attempting to link my pictures...
https://www.box.com/s/64elk52sr6jksrum05te

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Mixed reviews were read about this beach. We decided to give it a try and I must say we were pleased. No one harassed us to purchase anything the restrooms were clean and you could purchase food and drinks nearby.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Beach also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junkanoo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Junkanoo Beach to your Saves list