We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day at Sandy Toes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Toes

Sandy Toes
Rose Island, Nassau, New Providence Island
1 (242) 363-8637
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #1 of 60 Attractions in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Spend the day snorkeling and kayaking or lazing on our private beach or in our hammocks. Get in the water and take a swim, or socialize with other guests during a game of volleyball or dizzy lizard, organized by our activities coordinator. Rent a water float and bask in the sun or join us at the Sandy Toes Beach Bar for music and our famous Sandy Toe drink. When it's all said and done, your experience with us is sure to be a memorable one.
Gilmer, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great day at Sandy Toes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We did the all day trip on A Sunday. The ride over was nice allowing us to see some of the fabulous homes on the island on our way out. And when we go over there I panicked a little because I couldn't find the beach, it not visible from where we pull up on the ferry. Not to worry, a short little walk across the narrow island takes you to the sandy side and we were not disappointed!! It was beautiful and there were plenty of lounge chairs available. though, if you would like your chairs near some of the shade trees or palapa huts you might go stake one out first, snorkel later. My husband and four children thoroughly enjoyed our day there relaxing, snorkeling, and watching the yachts and small charters pull into the cove nearby. Lunch was good, not delicious, but not bad. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We would absolutely book this excursion again. It was a welcome break from the crowds at Atlantis.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello, Jennifer!

We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at Sandy Toes! Thank-you for taking the time to write such a great review. We hope to see you and your family back again with us sometime soon!

Sandy Regards,
Sandy Toes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    68
    34
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Sandy Toes trip was an all day experience. The boat ride out to Rose Island was nice and the island itself was gorgeous. The snorkling was quite fun, also. We walked around a little and found a nice private cove not far from the main beach and spent some time exploring. This would be a great trip for families and first-time snorklers!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed yourselves! Thanks for the great review and hope to see you again!

Sandy Regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been to Sandy Toes Rose Island a dozen times and are never disappointed.
A 45 minute boat ride to paradise.
Great beach bar with reasonably priced drinks.
The staff is very attentive and want you to have a good time.
Lunch is great with Bahamian dishes , fresh fish and Hot Dogs and burgers for the kids.
The beach is sooooo nice. Take lots of sunscreen , your camera and a towel.
Plenty of fish to see while snorkeling by the coral on the shore.
If you bring a waterproof camera you will get some amazing photos.
I would give this tour a 10 out of 10 and we'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Yes - remember to bring lots of sunscreen - the sun is hot! We look forward to having you back next time!

Sandy Regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Sandy Toes is a beach getaway that I enjoyed. The company provides a ferry to Rose Island, and it was a little choppy. However, the staff were very nice (Matt, in particular), and the island was pretty, although a little too public beach-crowded for my taste (a fair amount of kids). There are beach chairs provided, but they're kind of weird, and there are also shaded areas and a bar, where you can get use an all-day drinking pass. The bartenders are cool, too. You can rent snorkeling equipment, and there's a guided snorkeling tour a little bit after you arrive. I only wish there was some instruction on snorkeling for first-timers like myself. They actually have decent bathrooms, which was awesome (it seems like a weird thing to say, but it's rare on a beach! They're in little air-conditioned clean buildings and everything!). Lunch was good and organized; it was a buffet with grouper fingers, chicken pasta salad, hot dogs, rolls, and lemonade.
The whole thing did seem a little short, though-- I think the ferry ride cut into it a bit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Again, we do apologize if the boat was a little choppy on the way up but please understand that the weather is out of our control (believe us if we could control it we would wish for flat calm everyday!), but are glad that you enjoyed your excursion to Sandy Toes!

Sandy Regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOO HOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a great time from start to finish! The boat ride to Rose Island was peaceful and the island itself is beautiful. Not wheelchair accessible, but Rose Island is so unique and pretty that you can't wait to hop off the boat and explore everything once you dock.

I visited on a holiday weekend so I was a little worried about over-crowding, but the Sandy Toes crew members were very friendly, helpful, and attentive to everyone the entire time. You'll also have a blast with other guests on the boat because the crew does a great job of giving you all the information about the island and getting everyone excited before they even arrive.

Snorkeling was so fun and the drinks at the bar were fantastic! It is so rare to find an excursion with no hassle or unexpected additional costs, but Sandy Toes takes care of everything. We only paid for alcoholic drinks and they are fairly priced. We went for the full-day excursion and were served buffet-style lunch with lots of delicious options-- GROUPER FINGERS, yum. The island is also small enough that you can't get lost but large enough that there are lots of seating areas, hammocks, and beautiful views of the water.

If possible, I would reccoment the full-day excursion so that you have enough time for beach/ snorkeling activities, food-- GROUPER FINGERS, and most importantly RELAXING ON THE BEACH! Thanks to the whole Sandy Toes team!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Great! Yes we LOVE the grouper fingers too! Hope to see you again!!

Sandy regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Toes also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Sandy Toes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Toes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.