We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Toes

Sandy Toes
Rose Island, Nassau, New Providence Island
+1 242-363-8637
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$89*
and up
Rose Island Day Trip by Boat from Nassau
Ranked #2 of 20 Nature & Parks in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sandy Toes is located on Rose Island, Bahamas and is a private island experience just off the shores of Nassau and Paradise Island which offers three very different yet very unique experiences for our guests. Full Day Excursions - 10:00am - 3:45pm "Party Pass" available only on Sundays Overnight stays at our Villa - "The Retreat" at Sandy Toes Groups and Private/Exclusive Events
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been to Sandy Toes Rose Island a dozen times and are never disappointed.
A 45 minute boat ride to paradise.
Great beach bar with reasonably priced drinks.
The staff is very attentive and want you to have a good time.
Lunch is great with Bahamian dishes , fresh fish and Hot Dogs and burgers for the kids.
The beach is sooooo nice. Take lots of sunscreen , your camera and a towel.
Plenty of fish to see while snorkeling by the coral on the shore.
If you bring a waterproof camera you will get some amazing photos.
I would give this tour a 10 out of 10 and we'll be back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Yes - remember to bring lots of sunscreen - the sun is hot! We look forward to having you back next time!

Sandy Regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    91
    38
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Sandy Toes is a beach getaway that I enjoyed. The company provides a ferry to Rose Island, and it was a little choppy. However, the staff were very nice (Matt, in particular), and the island was pretty, although a little too public beach-crowded for my taste (a fair amount of kids). There are beach chairs provided, but they're kind of weird, and there are also shaded areas and a bar, where you can get use an all-day drinking pass. The bartenders are cool, too. You can rent snorkeling equipment, and there's a guided snorkeling tour a little bit after you arrive. I only wish there was some instruction on snorkeling for first-timers like myself. They actually have decent bathrooms, which was awesome (it seems like a weird thing to say, but it's rare on a beach! They're in little air-conditioned clean buildings and everything!). Lunch was good and organized; it was a buffet with grouper fingers, chicken pasta salad, hot dogs, rolls, and lemonade.
The whole thing did seem a little short, though-- I think the ferry ride cut into it a bit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Again, we do apologize if the boat was a little choppy on the way up but please understand that the weather is out of our control (believe us if we could control it we would wish for flat calm everyday!), but are glad that you enjoyed your excursion to Sandy Toes!

Sandy Regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOO HOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a great time from start to finish! The boat ride to Rose Island was peaceful and the island itself is beautiful. Not wheelchair accessible, but Rose Island is so unique and pretty that you can't wait to hop off the boat and explore everything once you dock.

I visited on a holiday weekend so I was a little worried about over-crowding, but the Sandy Toes crew members were very friendly, helpful, and attentive to everyone the entire time. You'll also have a blast with other guests on the boat because the crew does a great job of giving you all the information about the island and getting everyone excited before they even arrive.

Snorkeling was so fun and the drinks at the bar were fantastic! It is so rare to find an excursion with no hassle or unexpected additional costs, but Sandy Toes takes care of everything. We only paid for alcoholic drinks and they are fairly priced. We went for the full-day excursion and were served buffet-style lunch with lots of delicious options-- GROUPER FINGERS, yum. The island is also small enough that you can't get lost but large enough that there are lots of seating areas, hammocks, and beautiful views of the water.

If possible, I would reccoment the full-day excursion so that you have enough time for beach/ snorkeling activities, food-- GROUPER FINGERS, and most importantly RELAXING ON THE BEACH! Thanks to the whole Sandy Toes team!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Great! Yes we LOVE the grouper fingers too! Hope to see you again!!

Sandy regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sandy Toes - Rose Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a fun trip. Catamaraned to Rose Island where there was a private beach. We snorkeled alone and then did group snorkeling on the rocky side of the island. There was a lot of walking on the island and climbing (fine for us but if you have trouble hiking up hill I would not recommend it). There was a nice buffet lunch. The restroom facilites were nice - figured there would be out houses on the island! The beach was beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your compliments! And yes, the island is not handicap accessible but more suggestible for someone looking for a more "soft adventure" experience. We hope to see you again!

Sandy regards,
The Sandy Toes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice day away from Atlantis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a fun time away from the disney-like atmosphere of atlantis. A quiet and peaceful island surrounded by beautiful blue sea. We went snorkeling and had a good time. Saw lots of fish and found a few huge starfish. Staff was helpful and fun and lunch was good, but the best part of lunch was eating on the deck with an incredible view of the water. We met the friendly island pig. I believe her name was Rosie. My boys loved meeting her and she loved the attention. Nice day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_Toes242, Manager at Sandy Toes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We love that we can offer guests a true "out island" experience away from all the noise on the mainland. We are thrilled that you and your boys had a wonderful experience and hope to see you again!

Sandy regards,
The Sandy Toes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Toes also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Sandy Toes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Toes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.