We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation, But!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Saint Johns
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation, But!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Royal Bahamian Oct 31-Nov 7 2014. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed all the restaurants. As in the past, I still recommend Sandals. We had a club level room on the 6th floor of the Balmoral Tower and it gave us easy access to the gym facility.

First, we want to recognize several employees in particular: D'Andra was spectacular and very pleasant at both the Casanova (evenings) and at the Royal Grill; Akila was our waitress at the Casanova and she made dinner an excellent experience; Kdoy and Sherwin helped us at Spices and tried to go the "extra mile"; Maurice served us drinks around the pool; Alex took care of our candlelight dinner and made it a memorable occasion, despite the wind!; and Garth served us a perfect dinner in the Baccarat restaurant and did just what a premier waiter is supposed to do. Last but not least, we wish to thank Mr. Patrick Drake for listening to some of our concerns and treating us as special guests (even though we were not!).

Of the restaurants, we enjoyed the Baccarat, the Crystal Room and Casanova the most. Make your reservation for the Baccarat as soon as you get your room number at check-in (not possible before that). No other restaurants require reservations. The Crystal Room is like the Baccarat, but slightly more casual, and the food and service were excellent. Casanova is pretty informal but the food selection is excellent. KImonos is so-so, fast in and fast out. For us Spices was a problem. It was generally open in the morning for Bkfst, and the Casanova was closed (low season). The staff at Spices needs some new training. It is all buffet and I am sure they do not get many "thanks" from the guests, but that is no excuse. Many of the staff at Spices definitely have an "attitude". But, it all worked out.

We also had a problem with our reception upon arrival. We are prior guests (not as much as some!) and were at a Club Level. But our reception was not up to general standard of Sandals. We will, however, compliment Keyshawn; he took over our reception, showed us our room and made things better. If you book reservations upon arrival, just be sure the restaurant gets the reservation. Also, be advised, during the Fall and Winter period, the floor in the room can be a little cold, so bring a pair of slippers. The "fancy" slippers from Sandals are only for Butler level guests - we were so informed.

The wind blew hard during our stay and the service to the Private Island from the Sandals dock was suspended. However, the launch did operate from the main Port area, but, unfortunately Sandals did not notify people of this. We discovered the procedure after the first day. If this happens, see the Bellman Desk first thing in the morning and get your name on the "Bus" list ASAP to get a ride to the launch service. It is worth the effort!

Sandals is still a first class resort. My only observation is that Sandals must be careful that "they" do not develop an "attitude". There are a lot of new resorts (yes, all inclusive) opening up in the Bahamas, and in the Caribbean in general, and guests will not return if they must deal with employees, at a 4/5 star resort, who do not do their job and show an "attitude" to the guests. That also goes for guests - be respectful as always, but, as the saying goes "the customer is always right" (well, usually).

Room Tip: If you want to be close to gym, stay in Balmoral Tower - 6th floor is best, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,871
    1,366
    592
    375
    292
See reviews for
83
4,183
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff of this resort from top to bottom is focused to providing each and every customer with service that can not be beaten. Everyone went out of their way to make sure that we were having an excellent time at the resort.
Service here is the best we have experienced in 30 years of travel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side offered wonderful view of the beach and water while not having any issue with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Here are the highlights from Sandals...

When we arrived I told the butler we wanted to use the phone in the room to call family. She advised calls to the US costs two dollars a minute. According to the website under butler inclusions and in the butler literature we received, calls to the US and Canada are free with the butler level. I called the desk and complained. After affirming the calls cost money I referred them to the website and literature at which time the desk put a fifty dollar credit on our room. They said they are working on the changing the website. False Advertisement.

Party Pool closed on the second day I was there. It was drained and workers surrounded the pool with plywood, see photos. We were told by one assistant manager they were making repairs for safety and the pool will be closed for 10 days. We were told by our butler they were doing scheduled pool renovation. Guest relations manager Tatyana stated they were doing scheduled pool renovation mandated by Sandals corporate. The workers stared at my wife making comments to each other as we walked by while going to the pool on the other side of the resort. We got to hear power washing for a whole day. Sandals failed to tell any guests of the closure or post on their website prior to our arrival.

They were painting the outside of the building I was staying in, see attached photos.

They filmed a commercial in the room next to mine. I was awakened to hammering at 730 in the morning. They removed the sliders out of the room and placed them against the wall in the hallway by our room. The hammering continued while workers attached lighting in the room next door. I called the front desk and complained. They didn't know what I was talking about. When I called a second time to complain about the hammering noise I asked for the hotel manager or second in command of the property to call me. No one ever did. I called Sandals corporate. Spoke to Audrey Labean who is the head of customer relations for Sandals. She said someone from the property would be calling me in the morning. At 4pm Audrey called and asked if someone had contacted me on property. I advised her no one did. Twenty minutes later Tatyana called me and I advised her of the issues. We couldn't use our swim out pool as camera people huddled with there equipment around it.

Friday night we got into our room and did not have any water pressure, the shower trickled. We were told they were making repairs, see photo.

For 6577, not our idea of a luxurious vacation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

How can anyone give this resort a bad review? The staff is like an extended family reunion and upon arrival we felt like we were home. Our room was in the Windsor Building, 4th floor, 4 poster bed with super comfy mattress and pillows (I previously read the beds were uncomfortable – WRONG). Our 5 night trip was filled with new experiences and friends. We enjoyed the spa and steam/sauna (complimentary access) and evening romantic fire pit seating. Tameka at the Spa arranged our couples massage and served organic tea. The massage was AWESOME and worth every penny – don’t miss it – candles, music and therapists with magic hands! Food choices were plentiful and well prepared. Breakfasts at Spices were a treat – with prepared lattes, Darlene’s fruit smoothies and Ursula’s amazing custom omelets. My husband and I both requested low salt preparation and every server obliged. The off shore island is amazing and Stew Fish was one of our favorites. Gordon’s had the most tender filet mignon and melt in your mouth Lobster tail and Arizona (the manager) made sure our evening was perfect. The Royal Café had an outstanding salad bar which paired with the brick oven pizza at Napoli’s. Marge talked us into trying the chocolate/banana pizza and it was amazing! We did the fitness walk with Bullet and Zumba with Diana. We arranged custom photos with Fyuro and got some memorable ones with no “high pressure “sales. Tiko in sales helped us to arrange a flight to Exuma (only $140 RT) to visit the Sandal’s sister property with complimentary transfers – what a cool way to see the other resort. We also went into town a few times to the Straw Market and Bay Street Shopping using Bus #10 ($1.25 each way – what a bargain!) which stops just outside the resort and took the Ferry to Atlantis for a tour of the hotel and casino. Although beautiful, it was very impersonal and we were happy to arrive home to Sandals! Karen (Susie) even helped us pack our Rum purchase for the trip home. Most special thanks to Angela and all the staff that made our trip memorable! See you next year!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickelle W, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Susan!

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of Sandals Royal Bahamian! We're so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation with us, and that you particularly enjoyed our delectable dining options, Red Lane Spa services, private island experience and exemplary hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you when you visit us next year for yet another memorable Sandals experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have gone to many other Sandals resorts, and this one was terrible, food was excellent but that was all, staff seemed unhappy to even be there,very few would even speak to you, wait time in reception was close to 2 hours before we got in our room, rooms were not made up everyday, mini bar not filled until we begged for them to make our bed and fill up the mini bar, would not ever go back to this resort.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickelle W, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for reaching out to us about your recent stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian. Comments, both positive and negative are an important tool that we use to constantly improve ourselves and we appreciate the time and effort taken to provide them. It is always our goal to provide an exceptional product and high level of service, and we take very seriously any comments that indicate that we were not successful in that endeavor.

We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy some aspects of your stay with us and it was very disheartening to know you left with an unsavory impression of the resort. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority, and we are never pleased to note that our guests return home with a sense of dissatisfaction. Thank you again for bringing your concerns to our attention. We strive for excellence in the service we provide. Therefore, we highly regard your feedback, as this is the means by which we are able to amend any possible shortcomings in our vacation package.
If you have further concerns please contact our Customer Care Team by email at customerservice@grp.sandals.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a long weekend enjoying this great location. Staff and service was spectacular. Dinners were 5 star plus and food was delicious. Would be great to have non dairy desert option at dinners. Love the 4 o'clock tea! Room was comfortable and had all the necessary amenities.
Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed with friends at Sandals from Dec 3-10, 2014 for the purpose of diving. Well as an inexperience but already certified diver, I had my concerns about diving without my dive masters. Reggie and his dive team (Bryant, Samuel, Sonel and Wenzel) were fabulous!!!! Not only did I feel safe and had wonderful dives (especially diving with the sharks), they took the time to educate my friends and me on how we could become better divers and on the ocean (why the lion fish were bad for the Bahamas and surrounding waters), I would rate the dive team alone 6 out of 5. Sandals itself had a problem most of the stay with the wifi but did finally get it working. Everyone was very friendly and willing to assist. We didn't have a butler but Dillon (Number one butler in the whole resort) was always checking with us every time he saw us: Rashard was an excellent tour guide and can make a delicious Martini; Kayshawn check us in and was always available to us, and the Jazz sax/flute player was unbelievable. I will be going back to Sandals especially because of the dive team

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.