We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$235 Spa/Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
oakville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Attended as part of a destination wedding set up by Renee Cannon, Marlin Travel, Oakville.
From arrival to departure the service was first class from our butlers Kenese and Nitika. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was very good this time, with themed buffets and quality restaurants. The wedding itself in the gardens was amazing and the wedding staff did a fabulous job putting it all together.
The grounds were impeccable and good entertainment each night
Mr.Drake, the Gen Mgr should take great pride in the staff he has assembled here and as we are only a 3hr flight from Toronto-we will be back

Room Tip: the newly renovated Balmoral building is clean and fresh The older Windsor building needs some impr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,025
    1,443
    644
    397
    302
See reviews for
97
4,441
9
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Better options on Nassau/paradise island. Cheesy attmosphere. Rude staff. Below average food & watered down drinks. The best part of this resort is the private island. 5*price, 2*resort
Grounds are well maintained and rooms are specious and clean

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Michelle,

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. It is always our goal to provide an exceptional product and high level of service, and we take very seriously any comments that indicate that we were not successful in that endeavor. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Royal Bahamian was our third Sandals resort to visit and I have to say, it was the best (prior two being Emerald Bay and St. Lucia). One of the staff members (Khethino Cadet, or "Tino") made the experience truly memorable. You can meet him at "Cricketers" bar - truly made us feel at home.

Room Tip: First floor (beach walk out) is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After three weeks of traveling from San Francisco to Las Vegas we were ready for our week in paradise!!!
However when we got there we found it was not quite the paradise we had been looking forward too!
We were put in one of the Villas and told this was an upgrade, yes the room was spacious and the mini bar was stacked with branded spirits however they were the only positives.
We felt that the room was very dated, the bath was stained and when you turned the shower on (every time) the water came out brown, you definitely would not want a bath in there!!!
On two separate occasions we found that there were lizards on the wall in the bedroom and if that wasn't bad enough every morning when we woke up we would have been bitten!!!

The pools were both lovely and the staff working there were excellent extremely friendly and always happy to help! The one complaint about the pool area was that there was never enough towels by 1pm they would have ran out by both pools which was slightly annoying!!!

We both felt that the food let the hotel down dramatically, in 6 nights we only had one nice meal and that was at Baccarat. We felt at the other restaurants the food was served either cold or warm it was NEVER hot!! From choosing your starter this was served to you within 2 minutes of ordering it and then your main course would arrive immediately after it was clear that the food is prepared in bulk and heated up, it never tasted fresh which resulted in the food being left and is having late snacks at the cricketers pub!!!
The best food there was the pizza station and the afternoon tea which you would not mind of you were not spending thousands of pounds to spend a week in luxury!!
If your thinking of going there looking for paradise I would strongly consider looking elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We travelled to the Bahamas with British airways as a belated honeymoon and stayed at the Royal Bahamian, its the first time we have stayed in a sandals resort and was not sure what to expect, as the reviews were mixed. We stayed for 10 nights in a cottage style room, it was overlooking the gardens which I didn't mind as it was very quiet and peaceful. Many travellers preferred a room with a sea view, and were asking to upgrade but the rooms were really comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was cleaned regularly, the only gripe I would have is the mini bar was stocked for a couple of days and then we had to ask when it ran low. We had a pool to ourselves most days, these are dotted around the cottages, as most people went to the big pool or the beach. It felt like we had our own villa!!

The food was fine for us, and we did not have a problem booking the restaurants. Spices restaurant was the best I think personally, the service was great and the staff always seemed genuinely pleased to see you. You don't have to worry about a thing at sandals just relax and enjoy your holiday. We met some great people from Canada and the USA, and had many a good night at the cricketers pub!!

Overall a great holiday, would definitely go to another Sandals resort.

British airways were a let down, they lost my luggage on the way out and it did not arrive for 3 days, and going back home even though I had booked and paid for my seats, we had to wait two hours to see if we could get on the plane as they had over booked, a regular thing apparently, we eventually got on the plane but not the seats I paid for. Not the service I expected really, would rather have gone with easy jet!

Room Tip: The cottages are quieter and very pretty, still the same luxury I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed: July 10-14

Room type: Windsor corner swim up suite with butler service

View: a five foot wall and apartment complex next door. Also, on the other side of the wall is where the day vendors park and sell goods so it gets pretty noisy.

Water sports (included): lots of fun! We tried water trike, paddle boards, kayaks, and wind surfing. You need a lesson on windsurfing and sailing before you can check those out. We checked out all activities on our own instead of using the butler for this, there were no waits or lines.

Snorkeling: .
If you want to snorkel around the beaches, you have to bring your own snorkel and mask. My husband ordered a prescription mask online for $50 and snorkel separately from Amazon. He was thrilled he did. He said it worked great. I thought I could just check some out at the water sports desk. you can't.They are available to purchase at the gift shop for $30. The butler said the dive shop across the street has them cheaper. We walked over there but they were closed, so we just paid the $30 at the gift shop. I am terrified of the ocean, and didn't think I would like this, but my husband really wanted me to try. I am so glad I did! We saw so many beautiful fish around the rocks on the beach. The snorkeling was even better at the private island, but again you need your own gear. There are a few snorkel trips per day you can sign up for (mask and snorkel included). You need to sign up a day prior as they fill up quickly. By the time I got the nerve to do this, we missed the opportunity.

Jellyfish: A woman asked us about the jellyfish. She was afraid to swim because a staff member warned her of the jellyfish. We were really surprised by this. Yes, there are jelly fish, and yes we were stung a few times. But the sting only felt like a horse fly bite, and didn't last longer then five or six minutes. By the time you got out of the water and made it to your beach bag to get anti-sting gel, the stinging sensation was gone. I guess we are used to the ones in Galveston, Texas that sting for days.

Bugs: BRING DEET!!!! The no see em's (sand fleas or what ever you want to call them) are awful! So are the mosquitoes. I wore 100% deet (available on amazon in a small pump bottle) in the morning and at night and never got bit. Until the last day when I packed it up and came home with 30 bites.

The private island: Amazing! Great snorkeling, Stew Fish is simple but fantastic! Everything we ordered tasted great. The first ferry will take you over at 10, the bar doesn't open until 11, and stew fish doesn't open until 11:30 so don't skip breakfast and bring some bottled water! Also there is a dress code even for lunch which we thought was funny. Everyone goes to the island during the day to snorkel and swim yet you can't eat unless you are fully covered. I had on a bikini top and put a pair of shorts on over my bikini bottoms and they wouldn't let us in. I called our butler ( he is the one who suggested we leave our beach cabana and enjoy the snorkeling off the island), and he said to tell them our butler said to let us eat lunch. The host said the butlers only think they have authority and we need to follow the rules. I would have if I knew them. I was starving and ready to just get on a ferry back, when a waiter felt sorry for us and let us eat if I wrapped myself in a towel. I felt really bad, I don't actually like breaking rules, and was unaware and surprised by this rule. Especially since the bathrooms for the island are in the restaurant and people constantly parade through in bikinis and speedos.
tl;dr: Bring water, and cover ups to the island

Butler service: You are assigned three butlers and given a phone to contact them if you need anything. We only met two of our butlers. Mark was wonderful! We didn't call very much. We mostly just wanted to make sure we had cabanas reserved, and could eat at Gordan's. Mark would call us to make sure we were ok, and said we should utilize him more often. He would just show up with fresh drinks if we hadn't called in a while. He told us our reservations for all of our dinners on the first night. The night we were to eat at Gordan's, it stormed and we ended up at Baccarat. It was delicious, and also our reservation for the next night. The next night we had a different butler who let us know our reservation was at 6 pm. Unfortunately he told us at 6:10 pm, and we were originally told on the first day it was at 8 pm, so we ended up at Casanovas at 7 pm. This was the only real hic up, and seemed like miscommunication.
There is a separate butler on the island. I'm not sure what her name was. She was mildly rude, and seemed annoyed all day. We just got our own drinks and food the days we went to the island, and the second day, we found our own cabana instead reserving one through the butler.
If we decide to go to sandals again, we wouldn't get the butler service. It seams like if you get up early enough (we do) there are plenty of places to sit, and towels available on the beaches. And if you don't mind where you eat (we did see a lot of people get bumped on reservations if they didn't have a butler) then you really don't need one. Plus I didn't really like paying so much more money to be treated rudely by the island butler, and the island is where we spent most of the time.

The Staff: They aren't rude, but they aren't happy to be there either. The staff at the swim up bars are the worst (they were actually rude! Unless the boss was walking around, then it was all smiles and jokes) God forbid if you ask for a recommendation, they will just yell at you to know what you want. You are better off asking other guests what they are drinking, what to see, and where to go. There were a few exceptions, Rishod at Baccarat, the waiter at Stew fish, and Mark the Butler were all very nice and friendly. They seemed to really enjoy their jobs and working with people.

Overall we loved the Bahamas. I only mention the few nagging negatives, because that is what trip adviser is for. So you can be aware and avoid any hassles on your trip. Some really big positives; the water is beautiful, the food tastes good, it's relaxing, and there is a lot to do if you don't want to relax. not to mention, no kids is a huge plus! We would definitely recommend a room with a view before a swim up room, and look forward to our next trip to paradise.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms have no view and vendors on the other side of the wall are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were so fortunate to have Everette, Dillon & Antonio as our butlers. They were fabulous! Went above and beyond to make our stay special. Our only complaint was that our room was very noisy. The hallways echoed and we constantly heard doors slamming and talking. Overall, a fabulous honeymoon!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.