We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$150 Spa Credit!
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Nassau
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently had a stay at sandals in Nassau and loved it! The resort is very nice and the beach is beautiful! The best part was the entertainment staff, especially Bullet. He made everyday very enjoyable and had everyone laughing and participating. He definitely made our trip that much more special as he took the time to make sure we were all having fun. AND... A fantastic dancer which we got the chance to see. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Bahamian! It sounds like you had an awesome time at our resort! We are so pleased to hear that you had so much fun and that you made so many fond memories of our staff! We will be sure to tell Bullet of your high praises and what a positive impact he had on your holiday experience!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,490
    1,223
    524
    347
    269
See reviews for
74
3652
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Remember you are in NASSAU, not Mexico, not St. Lucia, not Puerto Rico, so add 30 minutes to virtually everything and don't expect much from the population. This is my 40th year visiting the Bahamas, beginning in 1973. We reserved Butler Suites, got Mercedes Limo pickup at airport after some confusion as to where Sandals representatives were (new lounge is under construction and not finished so we were sent to the parking lot, then back inside to check in), no one met us at hotel door so our driver got us a wet towel, and then we were put in a small office by ourselves. When no one showed up to check us in after 25 minutes, we went to lunch. Our butler showed up half way through lunch, apologized, and then we went back to check in. Room was beach walk out, perfect view, no elevators. Small room, but best walk out in the hotel, small hot tub to the right, main pool only about 100 feet away. Luggage got lost between front door and room (approximately 150 feet on the first floor) and took an HOUR to be delivered. I have a rule in the Bahamas, never to let my luggage out of my site(after years taking large groups to Atlantis, I learned this the hard way) and I broke my own rule. Shame on me. Staff is good at telling you, "we'll be with you in just a few minutes", and then not getting with you in just a few minutes. Baccurat Dinner reservations at 6pm, front door locked until 6:15 when one guest finally pounded on the door for them to let us in. Bahamas time. Poolside restaurant, ordered soup that never came. Breakfast at Baccarat ordered sausage and got bacon. Nassau! Spa was great. Island was great and a 3 minute boat ride. Massage was great (be prepared for $27 service fee added on to $110. Why don't they just charge $125? Never got check out time or transport info from butler. Until a bellman showed up at 11:15, we didn't know checkout was at 11 and transport was at 12. Kind of stupid, what do you do for an hour, sit around the lobby? Fortunatly ANOTHER butler got our chauffer to take us to the airport earlier. The property is marvelous, just prepare yourself for the Nassau staff. Ever been to New Jersey? Kind of the same. Earlier this year we were at Butler Suites in Sandals La Toc in St. Lucia and Sandals Emerald Bay Exuma and had the best service in the world, so Sandals knows what they are doing. Nassau is very challenging to any service provider, from Atlantis, to the Ocean Club, to Sandals. I may bring a group back next March because of the beauty and amenities of the property, just have to prepare them to wait a little while for service.

Room Tip: The older towers have been completely renovated, the rooms are small but the views and beach walk ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one week at the Sandals Royal Bahamian for our honeymoon in early September. It is definitely possible that my expectations were far too high.. after all, I have heard so often that Sandals resorts are the best all-inclusives. And that's exactly why we chose to stay there. I've been to other all inclusives that were wonderful and paid nearly half the price and was shocked at the lack of service at Sandals. Don't get me wrong, we were on our honeymoon, so all in all we had a fantastic time. But there were so many times throughout the trip that we both looked at each other saying, "we paid how much for this?!" I could not believe that at an all-inclusive that boasts "luxury included".. there are SO many things that are NOT included! That didn't leave a good taste in my mouth. I was shocked the moment we walked into our room- the balmoral tower ocean view suite- at how SMALL it was! And the balcony.. the two of us could barely stand outside together it was so small. I felt as though everytime we went to get a drink from almost every bar, we felt as though we were bothering the bartender. There would be no one else in sight, and we would be standing at the bar, and the bartenders would look at us then continue to sit around and talk to each other. We would continue to wait. Not what I call good service. I did like that chairs were pretty easy to come by even in the later morning hours... sometimes that is an issue at resorts. The food was for the most part good. The pizza place is excellent. The french restaurant was the best- good service AND good food. The hibachi restaurant is great. The Junkanoo party is a blast. Breakfast is very good. But everything else was so-so. There were a lot of really friendly people- some servers that were SO great. A few bartenders that were super friendly. For the most part everything was great. But at a resort like this, little issues such as these should not be a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Our service has been the highlight of many reviews on Trip Advisor, which leaves us quite disappointed that your experience was not indicative of the norm. We strive to uphold the highest standard for service and quality and we are surprised to hear that during your honeymoon this is not what you experienced. For this, we apologize.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks - including our resort management team. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have now been here twice and it is better than we remember! The resort and amenities are terrific, the Scuba Diving is some of the best in the Caribbean with lots of wrecks and a good variety of fish and marine life, but it is the staff and management that make this place so WONDERFUL!

We go for the Scuba diving and the team here is terrific!

Recently renovated rooms, common spaces, and restaurants make it feel like a new and even more luxurious resort. The food is better in every restaurant and Marcian at Cricketeer's is still as wonderful and charming as before.

Thank you for making this paradise on earth for us, we can never repay the joy you all give us! We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Chose the room you can afford, and you will enjoy it. We lover the Balmoral building, but everyone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited SRB for a second time, mid-September. The first trip was in April 2012. The experience of both trips was comparable.
-Our room was in the Balmoral Tower -we had a view of the ocean and the quiet pool. The room was nice and was cleaned every day in the morning. We never had to ask for new towels or for the fridge to be restocked. The electrical socket in the bathroom and the clock didn't work, those took two days and three calls to the concierge desk to have fixed.
-The food at the restaurants was very good.
-The staff at this resort are very friendly. Everyone there greets you when you pass by. At this resort is apparent that the staff are concerned with your needs as a guest.
-No sand flies, yay! (The sand flies last September at the Sandals Emerald Bay in Exuma were out of control.)

I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The Balmoral Tower, which is renovated, is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We go to the Carribbean 4-5 time a year. When we go to the Bahamas we normally stay at The Cove in Atlantis. We gave Sandals a try in August because this resort was under consideration for my son's destinations wedding next Spring. The resort was nice and the food good. We had the Butler program and they were first class, but we never could find anyone to discuss the prospect of having the wedding and reception there. Beyond that when we arrived it was suggested we have lunch on the off Island. We did, but the 4pm boat did not show up as scheduled and we were stranded an extra hour in our traveling clothes and it became very hot and uncomfortable.I also I had a few small items missing from my suit case when we arrived. It was not a big deal, but I reported it to the Butler. To my amazment two security people came to our room and went through everything we owned as if we were criminals and trying to complain about items worth barely a $100. It was really humiliating. I'm sure there are reason why, but it would never be good enough for our satisfaction based on how we felt we were treated. Certainly not First Class. Too bad the policies dont matech the Butlers surperb professionalism. Dont think we would give Sandals another try.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We regret to hear that your stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

We encourage our guests to also contact us while on property so our management team can address any concern you may have. We are always willing to work with you if you find that anything during your stay does not meet your expectation or standard.

As you may know, we take all reports of theft very seriously at our resorts and while it is not a regular occurrence, we still make the necessary provisions to ensure that there is not a repeat. I would like to look into this matter on behalf and will be contacting you privately for a few additional details in order to start this process.

Thank you for your continued patience and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are Travel Agents in the UK and send clients all over the world, Sandals was on our visit list to promote to our clients but unfortunately we will have to tell it as it is. Our expectation from looking on their website and speaking to our BDM was over a 10. We were really excited to be visiting Sandals and were hoping to be well looked after. The Resort knew we were arriving and we were looking forward to being shown round the resort and all it had to offer. No one contacted us. The staff were extremely helpful and polite, they could not do enough for you, however, please remember you are on Bahamian laid back time and nothing is done in a hurry. On arriving you are gathered for check in with all other guests arriving. After travelling for nearly 14 hours, a 40 minute check in was not appreciated. Again,the staff were not at fault this is the procedure but to be shepherded to your room with all other guests did not give us the 'special sandals treatment' we expected. The Resort itself is tired, certainly our room on the Windsor block (Windsor Honeymoon Club Level Oversized Junior Suite) needed a little attention. We did ask to move room but when we asked to view the alternative room, management did not call back to confirm a convenient time to view. We chased twice and gave up. Branded drinks are not in the room, they are all local drinks. The fridge is well stocked with all soft drinks and always plenty of water. Should you want a branded bottle eg Bombay Gin, there would be a charge. I am not sure that 10 fine dining restaurants best describes Sandals restaurants, some are only open at lunch and they are all convenience foods. The spices restaurant is however good at lunch time and served some lovely food, fresh and healthy. You have to pre book virtually all the restaurants and sometimes you could be eating a 6pm to get in the restaurant. This is not flexible, you either book it or miss out. The Cricketers is extremely poor, our first night it rained heavily and we chose here for somewhere quick as we were exhausted. As we sat to eat our burger and chips, rain dripped through the ceiling and down my back. Desparately needs refurbishing. Food throughout all the restaurants in our opinion did not have the WOW factor and after spending nearly £5k on a holiday we were not going to pay another USD140pp to dine in the Gordons Pier Restaurant. The menus are not changed unless its buffet so if you eat twice in one restaurant you get the same menu each time. There was never any specials with Fresh Fish or Steak. One day we ate lunch really late and therefore did not go to have our evening meal until 930pm. The only restaurant available was Cricketers and after our first experience we decided to go back to the room and order room service at 945. Our food arrived at 1115pm, as you can imagine, our hunger had turned to tiredness and we left the food. The private offshore island is only half an offshore island, one half is exclusive for Carnival Cruisers. We asked for an item of clothing to be collected for dry cleaning. It was packed in the case retuning home still dirty as the concierege had arranged for it to be collected and it was never picked up. Sunbeds need upgrading along with rattan cushions. As a travel agent we wanted to experience the resort and promote Sandals to our clients. Unfortunately we would not class this as 5* and therefore would have to let our clients know exactly what they were paying for. In short summary in the UK we have a saying ' All fur coat and no knickers'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review, Sue.
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. Our staff goes through 120 hours of rigorous training each year to ensure we are providing excellent guest experiences. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.
We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will be forwarding your review to the appropriate departments for further discussion. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.