We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in the Caribbean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $755 Air Credit!!
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Service in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Like other reviewers we were a bit concerned about negative reviews of this resort but our holiday was absolutely wonderful. We've been to other Sandals resorts and other hotels in the Caribbean but have to say that the service here was supberb. From the moment we were greeted with warm flannels and then quickly escorted to our room, we were treated like treasured guests and the staff all seemed to be genuinely happy helping us.

The off shore island is lovely and quiet if you want to escape from the main pools and it's quick to get to on one of the hourly boat trips accross. There is a restaurant, pool and bar there but it's still restful and my husband loved snokelling and swam alongside a turtle.

The range of food available is amazing and all high quality, ranging from self service to silver service at Bacarrat. We didn't have any trouble booking and could have gone to each twice if we wanted to but only did this for Bacarrat. There's a good range of wines to choose from and thanks to Oswald and his wine tasting lesson we were able to appreciate them even more.

The entertailment was great and varied. The bands were great and listening to music at night beside the sea under the stars and palm trees takes some beating.

We went in to Nassau three times by bus. It's an easy amd safe trip but be prepared for a relaxed journey. One of our bus drivers pulled in to a garage to fill up with diesel and whilst there a passenger decided to pop out and do her shopping from the shop, and we waited to collect her afterwards before continuing on our journey. All the drivers were friendly and gave us a history of the island as we drove in to town.


Before I finish I must mention Damian, who deserves his own TV show. He is such a character and can sing and dance too and trust me if you haven't met him before, you will know who he is before you leave. Other staff members that deserve a mention are Marcian, who serves food limbo style at the Cricketers, Paige is absolutely lovely and helpful in Spices, Judy on the island who has such a cheerful smile and Dmitry and Delano, both quiet but so helpful.

All in all we had an absolutely wonderful time and I envy anybody about to go for a holiday there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,735
    1,300
    566
    364
    284
See reviews for
79
3979
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent a week at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa and I truly had a Royal experience, make sure you go to the Sandals Cay (your own private island off the mainland)! I enjoyed the restaurants, the beach/pool activities, Spa treatment. There is so much to do and the Sandals Team gives you the feeling that you are their only Royal guest....awesome vacation.... it was my third trip to the Bahamas but my first time at Sandals, and it was breathtaking from day one to the end of the week!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just got back from my1st trip to an all inclusive, so we picked Sandals for the water sports, which are included. We arrived early (before noon) and were greeted immediately and taken to the Concierge area (recommend you get Concierge if you can). Our room was not ready, but we were escorted to lunch and told to come back in 1/2 an hour. The lunch in the Café was good and they had a nice salad bar set up. After lunch we returned and were given an upgraded room and had our dinner reservations booked. We were then escorted to our room and shown the resort. The room was spacious and had its own well stocked personal bar. We then went to the pool and beach, which was clean and had plenty of seating.

We had dinner (2x's) at the Baccarat and would highly recommend you eat their as one of your dinners (reservations are required). Ate lunch at the Brick oven pizza outside the pool/beach area. This resort also has its own private island approximately 1 mile out from shore. An hourly tender will take you back and forth. It is definitely a must do while at the resort. They have their own restaurant and private beach on the island.

We were unable to go diving, due to weather and our short trip (3 days) but went snorkeling instead. The water had great visibility and we only had to go 200 yrds off shore in 15ft of water. Saw a ton of fish and a 2ft plus lobster, but no sharks.

Things to remember: Book dinner reservations as soon as you arrive they fill up fast
Book your snorkel/dive trip also, so you can go as much as possible
Bring your own snorkel equip if you want to snorkel off the beach or island


Overall we had a great time and already scheduled another trip for MAY 2014.

Room Tip: If you can go last minute you can usually get the Concierge room for a couple hundred more, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero N Y
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We are frequent sandals guests, but for some reason we had not been to the Royal Bahamian in quite a while, so it was like a new experience. Absolutely great. The grounds, pools, beaches are well maintained and always clean. The restaurants served some of the best food we have ever had in our many travels. That pleasure was supported by a friendly , courteous and always smiling wait staff. We enjoyed our butler team of Cicylia, Thomas and Melonie. They not only provided great service, but were fun to interact with. The Loyalty mng., Damien, was Johnny on The Spot, insuring our stay was perfect. Concierge service was handled well by K-Cee. A special thanks to our friend Kerry Chamberlain for also insuring that everything was perfect. We're going back in the spring,would do it sooner but have other travel plans scheduled. Hat's off to the mngt. team led by G.M. Patrick Drake for setting the high standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I just spent 7 days at the resort. I must admit because of the mixed reviews I felt some anxiety. Silly me. It was wonderful. Room was clean and taken care of each day. Food was good to great and the drinks were plentiful. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our favorite waitress was Vivienne. Her laughter was so infectious. We learned to sail on the Hobbie Cats and did it four different times. There wasn't anything we were excluded from.

We were scheduled to eat at Bacaratts one night and could because my husband could not get his pants zipped as he had been eating and drinking too much. We accepted this. While we we walking by the restaurant 10 minutes later, we were approached by Valerie who worked at the restaurant. She graciously explained again to us why we could not eat in the restaurant, but said the staff wanted to accommodate us by serving us dinner outside in a secluded area. She indicated we could have whatever we wanted from the menu and would have wait staff dedicated to just us. I have to admit tears filled my eyes. How very kind. Needless to say, do dinner was fabulous. Thank you to Valerie and her staff. What a wonderful vacation. We highly recommend it to everyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a fantastic time (1st time at SRB, 4th time at Sandals, 2nd time in Nassau). Dinner choices/foods were excellent (tried them All) lots of seafood choices and non--for those allergic, etc....No need for reserv for breakfast in Baccarat (takes more time, schedule it in)...brick oven pizza by the pool almost daily...thank you to Kwame, Natishca, and Garvin at the swim up bar...Shervin, Dion, Deandra, and Rashad (Fluffy, Cupcake, Sprinkles, and Lil Sis) were lots of fun in the Piano bar...the Crystal Room's bar was more subdued/tho drinks were just as good (hot wings and shepherd's pie late at night at Cricketer's were delicious)...Thank you Damien!! for a wonderful returnee dinner--and everything else! Even enjoyed ourselves when it rained and thunderstormed (it's not the Staff's fault...and make your own fun! We played Scrabble, drank, and ate--what's to complain about?) Chocolate buffet/White night-Sat., Junkanoo beach party (island)-Fri (the performers come later, so go later if you have earlier plans)...Music (including Garrett/1 man band) and Sharmond (sax) several diff nights was excellent--go early for a seat at the Firepits..4pm afternoon tea daily...Diving was great! (thank you Rramone, Donovan, Brian, Damien...)saw more colorful fish than in Jamaica. Take the $1.25 bus downtown for shopping. Try the Sky Juice at the Fish Fry... Booked photo session (got some lovely pix) around 6-7pm for sunset. Never had trouble with lounge chairs, towels, lots of float mats, clean rooms, beautiful grounds...Enjoyed all of it w/o a butler. Made new friends from Canada, Lawrence, St. Louis, New Orleans, and Virginia. We will be back here. We also took advantage of Soon Come Back and will be returning to Jamaica in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went to SRB for the 5th time on July 6-11. We stayed in the Windsor Grande Luxe room in the Windsor building. We had a view of the ocean and pool. There was a 40th anniversary Independence Day celebration for the Bahamas while we were there. Sandals provided a wonderful evening of music, food, and entertainment. Definitely a memory we won't forget.
We obviously enjoy the resort, and are familiar with the positives and improvement areas.

Positives:
*Majority of staff very helpful and friendly

*Offshore island (major selling point for SRB, don't miss it)

*Food is good, despite the reviews otherwise.
*Baccarat was great as always(James and Shakeem provided excellent service)
*Stewfish had great Bahamian food(coconut bread was a favorite).

*Great pina colada at Cricketer's

*Windsor pool bar/pizza staff much more friendly this visit

*Evening entertainment-sax players, bands, piano bar, chocolate buffets, sunset watching,

*Beautiful grounds and pools

*Room was cleaned twice a day, refrigerator drinks replenished daily, room service breakfast perfect each time.
*In-room treats for our anniversary and as returning guests

*Plenty of beach towels available-big improvement from previous visits

*Beaches cleaned every day, and the ocean is beautiful!

Areas for improvement:
*Check-in was very drawn out this time, even with online check-in. We were assigned a room, but then waited quite a long time for someone to take us to our room. We would have been happy for someone to give us our key packet and let us go to the room ourselves.

*Concierge in Windsor building not always well informed. There was a location change for the 40th celebration night that we found out about from another guest. We went to the Windsor concierge to get the details but he knew nothing about the change of plans.

*The "Soon Come Back" person in the Windsor building offered us a bottle of rum because of the Return Dinner cancellation that week, but she never followed through.

*Watersports desk staff not as friendly as the majority of resort staff. I overhead one speaking somewhat abruptly to a guest trying to book an activity. (I get that working in customer service is sometimes challenging, but excellent service should always be a priority).

*Snorkling staff on boat were talking among themselves and on the cellphone instead of being more helpful to those entering/exiting the water.

*More umbrellas for shade at pool would be great.

*Would prefer hearing less songs with explicit lyrics at the Windsor pool

*No hot water for showers on the morning of our last day.

We love SRB, and look forward to returning. They do an amazing job trying to please so many guests. The excellent level of service and beautiful surroundings are what keep us returning to Sandal's Royal Bahamian.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.