We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday at Sandals Royal Bahamian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to $755 Air Credit!
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday at Sandals Royal Bahamian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We were there 16 years ago and, although the resort has virtually doubled in size, the standard is as high as ever! With its off-shore island and new improvements it is now extra special. The standard and choice of food is exceptional. Our only complaints were the facts that it has no working cappuccino
machine and ice-cream on tap. They are endeavouring to install a "Cafe de Paris" to counter thes problems. But overall FANTASTIC!!!

Enjoy!....Tricia & Richard Butler [ 95 nights - 9 Sandals resorts.]

Room Tip: Speak to Rick Burrowes - Resort Hotel Manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,081
    1,462
    651
    402
    305
See reviews for
103
4,519
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I booked a 3 night trip to the Bahamas a week before departure so were very limited in which resorts had availability . . . therefore ended up here. I find it extremely unlikely we will return.

To be kind I will start with the pros:
Our room in the Tower was decent – ocean view from balcony, no cheesy statues in our room or Sandals logos on our bed spread which was a welcome relief from the grounds - everything in the room worked.
The tennis courts – we didn’t have to fight to use them and while we played mornings we did notice light switches, so assume they are good for night play as well.
The beach – it is not big, but it is lovely and much quieter than the pool areas.
There is a hot tub off the boardwalk (at the opposite end from the boat deck) that has a view of the ocean and not very many people seem to know about it . . . great for a relaxing moment at the end of the day. There is another whirlpool hidden in the back of the grounds – look for #36 on the map – we didn’t try it but it seems like another nice quiet escape.
The billiard room across from the piano lounge can be a nice diversion after an early dinner.
The fire pits by the sea are cozy for a night-cap.

Now for the cons:
The food was atrocious – think Applebee’s meets high school cafeteria. Baccarat had a nice atmosphere, and the food was the least awful, but still no dice.
The wine – the only way I could stomach it was in a white wine spritzer to mask the awfulness.
The service – too many of the staff were unpleasant and acted like you were annoying them when you made simple requests for things like water at a meal.
The island – if the wind blows it closes, plus it seemed like too much of a hassle to get there (people lined up on the docks, not able to fit on the boat and having to wait longer for the next boat, boats are timed only every hour so you have to watch the clock on your holiday).
The drinks – super inconsistent in their amount of alcohol, so be careful.
The photographers – couples milling about having their photo shoots, couples getting married in the middle of the beach where everyone is trying to enjoy themselves – not so classy or relaxing of an experience.
The pools – too crowded and noisy – loud terrible music, chairs too close together and too many of them. The “activities” were super cheesy eg name that tune, bingo. At least in other resorts there are palatable activities like water aerobics, or water volleyball. Pools and hot tubs at pools are to be avoided.
No room service beyond breakfast, no breakfast room service before 8a.
The check-in – if you arrive before 3p like we did you get corralled into a group check-in situation and then taken to the worst restaurant on the resort and told to eat there. If you want to arrive here early take a change of clothes and sneak off to the beach if you can, they won’t know the difference. We couldn’t because we had bad weather on our first day so were stuck. We endured that grim excuse for lunch at the restaurant by the pool and then played pool until our room was ready.
The restaurant reservations – we called to make reservations first thing and were told they were booked all week. So we had to go down to the front desk and present ourselves, and low and behold we were able to get reservations. What an unnecessary pain.
The last thing I’ll say is that Sandals is a marketing hyped pre-packaged experience that attracts the kind of clientele who like marketing hyped pre-packaged experiences. I went with an open mind, and was able to make the best of it, but if you are on the fence like I was and are wondering about the Sandals experience hopefully this review can point you elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our 7 night stay way amazing! This resort was so clean, the staff was awesome & the food/drinks highly exceeded our expectations!!! The entertainment was great!! The play makers always had something fun going on! In the evenings there was a live performer, costume parade, the piano bar, etc.. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We paid extra for the "extra" services, turn down service, in room drinks and snacks. I thought there would be snacks available all the time. I was expecting to be able to get a little snack from my room or in a hospitality room. There was nothing like that. Our bed was only turned down 50% of the time we were there. The events were fine. Although, one night we were hoping to get to bed at a good time so we could get up early the next day. There was a dance party in the theater. We could hear the music even with our door closed and the A/C on. I hope they had a good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Despite reading bad and average reviews for this resort, we decided to book anyway!

I will attempt to explain what the truth is and leave out the petty issues that others have included, this is a Caribbean island and yes, the staff are on Bahamian time - but so are you! You will request items and they don't arrive instantly, maybe 10 minutes for coffee at breakfast, a queue at the buffet to sit outside or 20 minutes for a freshly baked pizza, but you're on holiday, enjoy the relaxing and the great scenery.

The rooms are fine, they are a little tired in places but we didn't experience any bed bugs, found a cockroach the size of a large wasp in the bathroom but one whack with a flipflop and the job was done. Towels are changed every day in the room, the balcony had a table and chairs and it was clean. Leave a tip for your maid and she will ensure you get all you need in the mini bar and some towel art :o) .

The restaurants are all good, I didn't like the cafe by the colder water pool, the chicken was the factory made stuff in a pattie but the salads were fresh and the dessert was lovely. Kimono's is good fun, the Italian we found the best, as was Baccarat and the Crystal Room, the only let down was it was very difficult to get reservations for the restaurants on the nights we chose unless we ate at around 9 - 930pm. Your concierge (if you get a good one) can book them all in advance for you and gives a little slip of paper with it all written down. We were not aware this happened until around night 4.

All the bars were well manned and drinks arrived very fast. Try some of the Sandals barman equivalent of Sky juice, but don't plan on doing much activity after two, you won't be able to. Banana daquiris and Mud Slides are great and very filling!

The staff make this resort the place that it is, they are very friendly if you ask them questions about their families and lives on the island, they get used to stroppy tourists barking orders at them and enjoy talking if you're pleasant! There is talk that they all plan to leave and go to the new hotel being built up the road - Sandals need to invest in their good staff to keep them.

The water sports are great fun, we did kayaking and snorkelling on the reef (saw Manta rays and Sting rays, Angel fish, Pipe fish, Parrot fish, clams, lots of corals - beautiful) and the Cay is also a great day out and quieter than the resort. Take note: Take towels with you to the Cay, they never have any there and we had to use soiled ones or go without all day - not pleasant. This would be easily resolved by staff taking the towels when they deliver everyone on the 10am boat - no idea why this wasn't addressed in the two weeks we were there.

The Spa is lovely, very relaxing and my manicure lasted a week! Katie Price got married whilst we were there but we didn't let it spoil our holiday :o) .

There is a facility for late check out so you can remain in your room if needed, although this is another $80 extra. We couldn't stay in our room so we had to check out at 11am, the other room wouldn't be free for us until 2pm. We were due to get the bus to the airport at 7pm so we would have used the room from about 4pm till 630pm - we didnt bother for $80.

This is a good resort, no kids and very enjoyable but I wouldn't go to another Sandals again, I would rather try another chain of resorts for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Got back Sunday from an amazing holiday at Sandals Royal Bahamian. From the minute we got there the level of service we got was outstanding and they went out of their way to make our holiday special & thr staff were very friendly.
The resort was immaculate with different areas on offer dependant on your mood. Our room was in the newer Balmoral Tower and we had minibar and fridge in the room which was a nice touch. The beach was lovely and I loved private island which was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a trip to paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I could have paid less for a cheaper hotel on any beach in Mexico, however I am glad I stayed here at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We stayed in the Royal village and it looks like the Bahamas should look. The front of each building looks like a Colonial house and then the rooms spread out to form private patios and decks. We have two pools and a rather nice hot tub out here in the village, a two minute walk to the action of the swim up bars and restaurants. Sure these building are a little old, but they are clean and the atmosphere is awesome. Our friends stayed in the nice big tower with butler service and that was great for them. The staff was awesome, food was great, and I'm glad we came here. I read every negative review dating back to 2009 and Im telling you that I did not have any of those issues. Beach chairs were plentiful, bars and restaurants were not crowded like those other less expensive Hotels. It was worth the extra $$ to be here. My hat goes off to the entire staff ..Sharon, Kerry, Marvin and Sherman. PS... Please do not do bad Austin Powers imitations in the English Pub, I guess it's "cheeky".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.