We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun at Sandals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good fun at Sandals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Despite reading bad and average reviews for this resort, we decided to book anyway!

I will attempt to explain what the truth is and leave out the petty issues that others have included, this is a Caribbean island and yes, the staff are on Bahamian time - but so are you! You will request items and they don't arrive instantly, maybe 10 minutes for coffee at breakfast, a queue at the buffet to sit outside or 20 minutes for a freshly baked pizza, but you're on holiday, enjoy the relaxing and the great scenery.

The rooms are fine, they are a little tired in places but we didn't experience any bed bugs, found a cockroach the size of a large wasp in the bathroom but one whack with a flipflop and the job was done. Towels are changed every day in the room, the balcony had a table and chairs and it was clean. Leave a tip for your maid and she will ensure you get all you need in the mini bar and some towel art :o) .

The restaurants are all good, I didn't like the cafe by the colder water pool, the chicken was the factory made stuff in a pattie but the salads were fresh and the dessert was lovely. Kimono's is good fun, the Italian we found the best, as was Baccarat and the Crystal Room, the only let down was it was very difficult to get reservations for the restaurants on the nights we chose unless we ate at around 9 - 930pm. Your concierge (if you get a good one) can book them all in advance for you and gives a little slip of paper with it all written down. We were not aware this happened until around night 4.

All the bars were well manned and drinks arrived very fast. Try some of the Sandals barman equivalent of Sky juice, but don't plan on doing much activity after two, you won't be able to. Banana daquiris and Mud Slides are great and very filling!

The staff make this resort the place that it is, they are very friendly if you ask them questions about their families and lives on the island, they get used to stroppy tourists barking orders at them and enjoy talking if you're pleasant! There is talk that they all plan to leave and go to the new hotel being built up the road - Sandals need to invest in their good staff to keep them.

The water sports are great fun, we did kayaking and snorkelling on the reef (saw Manta rays and Sting rays, Angel fish, Pipe fish, Parrot fish, clams, lots of corals - beautiful) and the Cay is also a great day out and quieter than the resort. Take note: Take towels with you to the Cay, they never have any there and we had to use soiled ones or go without all day - not pleasant. This would be easily resolved by staff taking the towels when they deliver everyone on the 10am boat - no idea why this wasn't addressed in the two weeks we were there.

The Spa is lovely, very relaxing and my manicure lasted a week! Katie Price got married whilst we were there but we didn't let it spoil our holiday :o) .

There is a facility for late check out so you can remain in your room if needed, although this is another $80 extra. We couldn't stay in our room so we had to check out at 11am, the other room wouldn't be free for us until 2pm. We were due to get the bus to the airport at 7pm so we would have used the room from about 4pm till 630pm - we didnt bother for $80.

This is a good resort, no kids and very enjoyable but I wouldn't go to another Sandals again, I would rather try another chain of resorts for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,882
    1,371
    591
    380
    295
See reviews for
84
4,203
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Got back Sunday from an amazing holiday at Sandals Royal Bahamian. From the minute we got there the level of service we got was outstanding and they went out of their way to make our holiday special & thr staff were very friendly.
The resort was immaculate with different areas on offer dependant on your mood. Our room was in the newer Balmoral Tower and we had minibar and fridge in the room which was a nice touch. The beach was lovely and I loved private island which was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a trip to paradise.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I could have paid less for a cheaper hotel on any beach in Mexico, however I am glad I stayed here at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We stayed in the Royal village and it looks like the Bahamas should look. The front of each building looks like a Colonial house and then the rooms spread out to form private patios and decks. We have two pools and a rather nice hot tub out here in the village, a two minute walk to the action of the swim up bars and restaurants. Sure these building are a little old, but they are clean and the atmosphere is awesome. Our friends stayed in the nice big tower with butler service and that was great for them. The staff was awesome, food was great, and I'm glad we came here. I read every negative review dating back to 2009 and Im telling you that I did not have any of those issues. Beach chairs were plentiful, bars and restaurants were not crowded like those other less expensive Hotels. It was worth the extra $$ to be here. My hat goes off to the entire staff ..Sharon, Kerry, Marvin and Sherman. PS... Please do not do bad Austin Powers imitations in the English Pub, I guess it's "cheeky".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First time at Sandal's and we will definately go back, maybe try another one next time. Best restaurant was Kimono's, amazing! Food was great, staff was great (most of them), resort was great. A little bummed the beach wasn't larger to walk on but the island beach is much better. The pool staff was great, Jason and the others made sure everyone had a great time while we were there and the piano bar was awesome. Biggest disappointment was I mentioned twice (when we booked and when we checked in) it was my husband's 40th birthday and we were celebrating both of our 40th birthdays and they said they would do something special and they did absolutely NOTHING to recognize it was his birthday. I heard them doing things for others but his birthday went unnoticed by Sandals and then the island was closed that night so we didn't get to eat there on his special day either (which wasn't the resorts fault, it was to windy). The Windsor building was a little noisy so if you don't want the pool noise and the marching band noise, stay in another building. Overall, a great vacation so thanks to the staff that made it wonderful.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, don't stay in the Windsor building. We had a great view overlooking the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Since I own Amore Travel, I've had the opportunity to visit all of the Sandals properties. In my thirty yrs. experience I've never had anyone not totally enjoy any of the Sandals. Stayed at Royal Bahamian many times. Each time my experience has been great. Beautiful resort with great staff, food, entertainment and accommodations. I always stayed in the Windsor bldg. since it's close to beach and restaurants and has fabulous views.

Room Tip: choose the Windsor bldg., higher flrs.. it's close to restaurants beach and off shore island
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were just engaged the day before on valentines day and had the oppertunity to spend the day in port at Sandals Royal Bahamian !! One day is NOT enough ! Beautiful beaches and pools ! Fabulos food and good drinks ! We sailed over to the private island and watched the sun set . Loved it so much we may have our wedding here ! Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First time, and not the last, at Sandals for 3 nights starting Valentines Day 2013.
Best tip I would humbly pass on; be polite and friendly to the staff (ask them their names even though they have name tags). Treat them like your favorite family member and you'll have a wonderful time.

Food was good. Best restaurants were Baccarat for breakfast twice ( order the caviar, perfect poached eggs for eggs Benedict, excellent omelet); dinner once ( escargot, crab cake, lobster, fish in papillote) and the Royal Cafe (seafood omlet for breakfast grouper and lamb for lunch) Ricarda the chef, can cook! Spices always has a good and varied buffet.

Best of all were the staff.
Blessings to the Concierge crew, the bar staff (especially Cupcakes and Fluffy in the piano bar). The restaurant servers at the Crystal room and Baccarat, especially Arizona and her staff at the Royal Cafe. She went the extra mile to make us feel special. Damien at the Back Soon booking desk.
The people at Snap Shots; Alex, Amaeleo, Jermaine, and Elizabeth.

All of the entertainment was top notch.
(Congrats to Ronny, try to hear her world class singing voice)
Most of all, Leo the piano player, was very accomplished, gracious, and fun. If U like to sing, don't miss it! Tell him "Beyonce says hello and enjoyed performing with him" He can explain it.

Relax and enjoy this Paradise! (get out to the island, weather permitting).

Room Tip: Ask for an Oceanfront view in the Tower, if available in your booking category. Breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.