We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$70 Early Booking Bonus!!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at a Sandals resort. The staff was very attentive and friendly without being sycophantic. While the weather was cooler than we had hoped, we were able to get some sun in. The food was acceptable. Don't plan on going to five star restaurants. The only negative of out whole trip was the first night at The Crystal Room restaurant. We had to wait for 45 minutes to get into the half empty restaurant and then it took us close to 2 hours to get out of there. Either the waiter was terrible or the kitchen was in disarray. Having said that, the other restaurants were fine and the pizza place was a great choice for lunch.

Our in room bar was restocked every day and we always had fruit and coffee brought to our room in the morning which was delightful. We sat on our balcony to enjoy the beginning of the day.

This is a quiet place. If you want a lot of noise and excitement, go to the Atlantis. But, this place was the right one for us. We would come back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,701
    1,291
    561
    361
    281
See reviews for
78
3935
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good weather, good people, great time!!! read some bad reviews before we went did not experience any problems. With a all inclusive like Sandals you expect the best, you pay for it and we received it. Staff was great and helpful

Room Tip: Book your dinner reservations the day you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Bahamian. We're so glad that we were able to meet your expectations and offer you an amazing vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another great experience in the near future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My second trip was not impressed this hotel is getting old and tired.
We stayed in one of the best rooms 1 bedroom butler but it had not been updated even though the cheaper rooms had been. Seems to me if you pay more you should get the best.
We arrived a few days after the hurricane the dock was damaged had to board bus like cattle to get boat to off island took over an hour . Pool wasn't even open there and no one told us.
Ok so it is a Caribbean island so will overlook the cockroaches in the bathroom behind the kitchen on the off island, But it was the Rat in our room that convinced us we won't return.We had a ground floor room. Took 24 hours to get a trap !!!
Thank Goodness for the guys in the piano bar Peaches,and Fluffy they made our evenings enjoyable.
As repeat guests there used to be snorkeling tours and some of the activities for returning guests have been eliminated. Disappointing.
And where was the Berringer they only found it if I really insisted , substituting it for cheaper wines.
Like I said Sandals I know you can do better !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not live up to your expectations. As this is not your first stay with us, you already know our standard and it seems we were not up to par during your stay. Please accept our apologies.

While we have not had similar complaints regarding pests in our rooms, pest control is of the greatest importance to us. We continue to make every effort to ensure all practices and standards are in line with strict sanitary and pest control regulations.

We hope that you will afford us the chance to redeem ourselves and exceed your expectations during a future stay.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort was wonderful. We arrived from our short 20-25 minute shuttle ride to the resort, were greeted immediately, and wisked off to check in. Our room was in the back garden area, low rise, and our view was bad. I didn't pay for a view, so I was not expecting a view. However, there was a fence, and on the other side of the fence was a big empty semi trailer (sticking out over the top of the fence), and you could hear the traffic on the road plain as day.
For us, that was no big deal.
While we were there, the winds were high every day, and the offshore island was never open. We were there 4 nights. That was kind of a bummer, as this is supposed to be the highlight of the resort, and we never got to experience it.
Our room was nice, we had a huge TV, a mini fridge, a king size bed, small but nice vanity and bathroom area. Nothing super huge or fancy, it was pretty much what I was expecting from a Sandals resort. So that was nice!
I loved the little paths in our garden area, great ambiance.
We tried most of the restaurants, and I can't complain, food was top notch everywhere we ate. We did the buffet for breakfast, and that was good. You can't really screw up a buffet breakfast I guess.
The beach out front of our resort was small, and where there wasn't beach there were huge boulders. It was beautiful, but if you like to 'walk the beach' this is not the resort for you. Especially if the winds are high and you can't get over to the offshore island.
There were 2 pools, both very large, both with swim up bars, loved that. There were several hot tubs.
I loved the little firepits by the beach, we sat there every night before and after dinner. Loved that!
Overall, it was one of the most relaxing trips, everything went well, and Sandals lives up to it's wonderful expectations again.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room: Try and get up in the tower rooms, they have a better view, if you're look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned from a great 10 day stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We had a great time but would like to provide a bit of feedback. This was our first stay at a Sandals and we selected it because of the "unlimited" scuba diving - we are veteran divers that normally select liveaboards for our vacation. I felt the diving here was just average for the following reasons:
1. "Unlimited" really means you can complete 2 tank dives in the morning only. If you wish to complete a set of afternoon dives you pay extra and the resort will only take you out if they have a minimum of 5 guests. There is no diving on Sundays,
2. Due to weather conditions we were driven by bus to the boat (in Coral Harbour). The bus used for transportation is NOT roadworthy. It is missing lights, pieces of the floor and we were dripped on by water leaking from the bus ceiling. This is a 5* resort - please arrange suitable, safe transportation.
3. There are no facilities to store dive gear near the bus/boat. All gear had to be cleaned, dried and stored in your hotel room.
If you are a keen diver, by the time you complete the dives, return to the resort, store your gear and have lunch - it is well into the early afternoon. The last ferry leaves the resort island at 3:45pm. If you are diving, do not expect to spend any great amount of time on the island.

We stayed in one of the garden rooms - and we were glad we did. They were quiet with small pools and available deck chairs. We were so glad not to be staying near the Windsor pool - the loud 'party pool' would have driven us crazy.

The restaurants were mostly good - I think we were lucky that the resort had low occupancy during our stay so it was easy to get reservations. Only one night did we have bad service in Casanovas - for the rest of our stay the food and service was fine.

We loved hanging out by the fire pits with a drink in the evenings - that was one of our favorite parts of our stay. We will stay again at a Sandals in the future - but for diving - we will stick with liveaboards,

Room Tip: If you like quiet, relaxing rooms - select carefully - we liked the garden villas. The Windsor towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second trip to Sandals Royal Bahamian and we have already booked our third in advance. Everything about the resort is absolutely first class: beautiful beach, elegant buildings, a good variety of restaurants, entertainment in the theater, and most important the staff is genuinely friendly.

Room Tip: I recommend a room or suite with utter service. From meeting us upon arrival (Sandals sent a Rolls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was our second Sandals vacation. First time was our honeymoon @ Sandals Antigua. The grounds and scenery are beautiful here. If you can get an oceanfront room, get it! It's surreal! We had the butler service just because it was in the room category we chose. We enjoyed the butler service perk when we went to Antigua but the butler service here was not as good. It took our butler(s) a long time to do us minimal favors like getting us a cooler for the beach and getting our food to our room.. took way too long. After the 4th night we just did everything on our own because it was a lot faster. Other than that the food was okay nothing out of this world. Even the steak and lobster @ Gordon's Pier which was supposed to be for exclusive guests only was just okay. My husband and I were invited for a special invitation only reception for returning guests, they served the same thing steak and lobster as they did @ Gordon's.. how originial! It was nice to meet other returning guests and see what other resorts they've been to as long as it was not longer than the 2 hours we had to be there. If you are there on the weekend the resort does an amazing Junkanoo Parade with music, a dance show, and fireworks right on their long driveway as you pull into the resort. They serve local foods and sell local arts and crafts which was lots of fun. We loved taking the jitney for just $1 and going to the local eateries. Must try "Fish Fry" the food there was cheap and very good. It was easy to get around just using the jitney which went back and forth to downtown Nassau. From Nassau take a $15 cab ride to Atlantis...a must see! All in all would not mind staying here again but wouldn't mind trying something new either for a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.