We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, but the food was a disappointment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$150 Spa Credit!
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Nassau
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, but the food was a disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Recently stayed at the Royal Bahamian. We stayed in a Penthouse Beachfront Butler Suite which was really nice. It wasn't the largest room (for instance a sofa wouldn't fit in this room), but was in the remodeled tower so everything was new. It had a nice balcony with two chaise lounge chairs. This was really nice to just lay out on in the evening and listen to the music being played below along with the waves lapping up on the shore. (Always opt for the balcony if you can...we think it is well worth the extra expense)!

It was pretty windy while we were there and as a result, the island was closed for a couple of days. We were able to go out to the island our third day and really enjoyed it. It's really a nice break from the main resort. Easy to find a private spot and you can still get drinks, lunch, a massage or just read and relax.

While the resort is pretty large with tons of amenities, it's easy to navigate. There is a "cut-through" spot to go from one tower to the other so you can hit a number of bars, restaurants or pools without having to walk too far.

The fitness center has a great view and plenty of equipment. The free weight area is a little tight, but it works.

The fire pits created a very cool atmosphere at night and the hot-tubs were nice to have too.

The Villas section is very cool. While it's the furthest point from the beach, it's really not that far and if you're looking for something quiet, this would be the section. The landscaping is really nice and the small pools dotted around this area make it seem like it's own private resort. I don't think they have pool service for drinks in the Villa section, so that may be a negative for some.

Our disappointment was with regard to the food. While it was decent, it certainly wasn't 5 Star. We had steak and lobster one night at Baccarat and would recommend that restaurant. We went to Gordon's on the Pier, but it was too windy to stay. The Pub was a fun spot, but the food just wasn't good there...thought you couldn't go wrong with a sandwich and fries, but have learned otherwise. The Royal Cafe was decent...again not great. Same for the restaurant on the island. When we were done with our lunch, we asked the waitress what they had for dessert. I'm not kidding, she said "it's up there, go get it yourself." My wife and I laughed. They were small desserts up on a tray.

The staff was friendly, but I wouldn't say they went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We're used to even the landscaping crew saying hello at other resorts and that just isn't the case here. It really has a feel of staying at a resort in the U.S. Not a bad thing, but other than the staff assigned to your specific task, they just seem too busy doing their own thing to take time to recognize the guests....doesn't have a real Caribbean hospitality feel compared to some others.

My wife used the spa and said it was great. If they can get the food straightened out and the staff a little friendlier, this will be a great place to vacation.

Room Tip: Opt for a beachfront room or oceanview with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,847 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,485
    1,223
    524
    346
    269
See reviews for
74
3646
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I were debating on where to go for our honeymoon and finally decided on The Bahamas. We got married on August 20, 2011 and left the morning of the 22nd. Hurricaine season is from June - November so basically if you are travelling at these times you are taking a chance and probably saying "Ah it won't happen to us" Well let me tell you, it happend to us!
We arrived on Monday, the resort absolutely beautiful and ocean AMAZING! Exactly what we thought it would be. Tuesday morning we were advised that hurricaine Irene may be heading our way. All the locals assured us saying they only ever get the strong winds and it passes because Nassau is protected by the other islands.They had tv's set up and updated posters watching the storm path along with a meeting in the ballroom to discuss storm planning etc. We attended the meeting with high hopes that Irene would pass. Tues evening our hopes were crushed because Irene was coming right our way. They started to prepare by boarding up all the windows and clearing the beach/pool decks. It was a ghost town Tuesday evening. We enjoyed the day/evening on Wednesday as much as we could with not alot open for us. It was windy as heck and got windier as the day went on. We stayed in the room most of the day watching tv to see where Irene was heading. We got really scared at one point and went to the airport to come home but no such luck. The airport was packed with no flights left on Air Canada. Wednesday morning around 5am I woke to our balcony doors shaking and the wind just blasting (we were on the 5th floor) As we were leaving our room, the staff were coming to evacuate everyone to the ballroom. The ballroom is downstairs with no windows etc. It's almost as if you are in another world down there which was the point. They had an emergency meeting, Irene was heading right for us :(
The ballroom set up was AMAZING. They were definitely prepared.They had breakfast and tables set up, all kinds of entertainment, a movie set up in one of the rooms, games, and a full room of cots for sleeping. We were treated like royalty. The scariest thing was not knowing what was happening outside with at some points the HUGE beautiful chandelier shaking and the power cutting out. We were stuck in the ballroom all of Thursday with many updates from the manager who was quite comical I might add, and were allowed back in our rooms at 9pm that night. It was still VERY windy and rainy outside but the worst of Irene had passed.
Friday morning we discovered the biggest mess. The beach was a disaster, pools full of sand and junk, it was very sad to see. Cleaning was under way and the staff worked around the clock. We decided to go to downtown Nassau and what a mess too. Huge trees up-rooted, the market was completely destroyed, Senior frogs torn apart, windows blown out. We have before and after pictures and it was heartbreaking. So all in all our honeymoon sucked and was definitely not what we expected. We got to enjoy 3 nice days out of the trip with the last day not even counting because of the mess Irene left, but we made it fun and tretched through the messy beach into the ocean.

With all that being said, the main thing is everyone was safe and THANK YOU to the staff and management on what a great great job they did in keeping all of us safe. They were so prepared and made us feel as comfortable they could with continuous ballroom meetings. On our way to the airport we spoke with another couple who were staying on the other side of town. They didnt get half the treatment we did and said they would definitely go to Sandals next time they visit The Bahamas, and NOT during hurricaine season lol but who's to know right. It's such a large timeline.

I would 100% go back (probably not for many years though due to price :( and would highly recommend it to anyone. I have no complaints even though we only got to enjoy 2 days of the experience and what an experience it was.

THANK YOU AGAIN TO ALL THE STAFF AND MANAGEMENT THAT KEPT US SAFE THROUGH SUCH A TERRIBLE TIME.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hopefully this review helps some folks who are trying to make their travel decisions!

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We were able to relax and make the most of our stay - however there are some things that need polishing at the resort for the prices paid. We traveled 12/21-12/26. We opted for a penthouse room in the Balmoral Tower with butler service. We decided to go all out on this vacation, and overall we were mostly satisfied with the experience. As Americans, sometimes we have to remember that we're on island time and in a different country, so things don't work quite the same as they do at home... but in the end... you are on vacation and you're away from reality. How bad can it be?

Booking & Pre-Check In
We booked with Funjet because they had the lowest travel insurance costs at $119 a person, fully refundable up to the day before travel. Great experience with Funjet, all documents were received on time. I did have to call the toll free number for Sandals to get our booking number for the resort so we could complete online check in. Once I got that number, we completed check in online and also filled out our butler preference form.

Arrival at airport
The Nassau airport is a dream come true. Very easy to navigate, looks brand new, clean and modern. Customs and baggage are a piece of cake. Walk right out of customs and there is the Sandals desk. Someone was waiting there for us, and within 5 minutes we were in our private car being driven to the resort. Very easy process. Compared to previous arrivals at the Cancun airport for beach vacations, the Nassau airport is a walk in the park! I love the Bahamas for their airport alone!

Transportation to resort
Being that we had the butler service, we were driven to the resort in a private Rolls Royce. We were so excited for this because when else would we ever be in a Rolls? Unfortunately the vehicle needed some work. The A/C was not functioning (and it was pretty warm outside) and the window buttons were broken. Not a great initial impression. On the way back, we were driven in a Mercedes and it was much nicer. The resort is SO close to the airport - 10-15 minute drive max. If you are looking for easy travel from the states, this resort is your ticket. And request the Mercedes! :)

Check In
Check in was easy and fast. We arrived and were escorted to a private area where they check in the butler level guests. We were given cool towels (which was nice after the hot ride over). After check in, our butler came to meet us and gave us a tour of the resort. We were then shown to our room, #609 in the Balmoral tower. The room was on the eastern edge of the tower, and overlooked the ocean and also some other small homes that were kind of run down. We also overlooked some trash cans, air conditioners etc. For the price we paid, I was really expecting a better view. When we asked about changing rooms, the butler told us the resort was only 65% full, so he was able to get us a room with a better view. We moved down the hall to room 614 which was right in the center of the tower and it had a spectacular view. No complaints! Luggage arrived about 2 hours after check in.

Room
Rooms in the Balmoral Tower were renovated about a year ago and the finishings are beautiful! Comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, loved the canvas prints of the Carribean sea on the wall. Soft robes and slippers are provided. Our balcony was big, about 8' x 18' and it had 2 sun chairs, two regular chairs and a table. Plenty of room for a nice meal outside! There was a mini bar with beers (their local beers are Kalik and Sands), wine, champagne, rum, vodka and gin. Most of the booze was not brand name but I'm sure we could have requested other bottles if we wanted them. There is a large flat screen TV with quite a few American channels plus local news from Miami. There is also a Bahamian channel as well. It would have been nice to have a DVD player for nights in, to watch a few movies from home for entertainment, but that was no big deal. The only negative about this room was that it is right underneath the fitness center and we could hear, very clearly, any time that someone was using the treadmill. That wasn't so cool. We probably would have enjoyed a room on the 5th floor a little better without the treadmill noise. But overall, the room was gorgeous and the view was a highlight of the trip. True paradise!

Butler Service
The best advice I can give with butler service is to be very direct about what you want and when you want it. I was not used to having people do things for me and at first I felt kind of snooty asking for things to be delivered (like lunch at the pool) when I could easily get them myself! But, this is what the butlers are there for. We did have a negative experience with one of our butlers not too long after arrival. When we arrived, all of our dinner reservations had been made for us. A nice gesture, but the reservations were for 6pm and we prefer to eat later around 7:30 or 8pm. I called our butler to change a few of the restaurants and the reservation times and got a lot of attitude in return. I really didn't think I was asking for a lot considering the resort was only 65% occupied, plus we had really planned on making our dinner reservations upon arrival. After some back and forth, eventually our other butler stepped in and said that she would take care of everything, which she did. This is really the type of service that I expected. Once that was ironed out, our experience was much improved. Our two butlers did some nice things for us during our stay - we had a cheese plate in the room each day when we got back from the beach, chocolate covered strawberries in the evening, shrimp cocktail, etc. If we go back to a Sandals, it's tempting to have the butler service again... but you really need to make use of it. We didn't make great use of it the first few days and if we had it to do over again, I'd change that.

Restaurants
We are foodies, so we went into this experience with average expectations of the food considering that these resorts are mass marketed and not really known for true 5* restaurants. I would say the expectations were met. The food was tasty and we did not go hungry, but it was not 5* gourmet by any stretch of the imagination. House wines are included and they are Beringer wines - anything else is an upcharge. The house wines are cabernet, merlot, pinot grigio and chardonnay. Wine prices for anything other than the Beringer house wines were fairly reasonable. There is no shortage of choices around the resort for where to eat. Some highlights:

Baccarat - French restaurant, ate here the first night. We had the Caribbean lobster. It was cooked nicely, but covered in a white cream sauce that was a little heavy. Very nice servers. We had breakfast at Baccarat twice and enjoyed the experience. Champagne and caviar for breakfast, what a treat!

Kimonos - below average experience. The chef didn't entertain us at all and the grill stopped working halfway through. Everything was doused with a thick brown sauce. Not so good on the food side, but we met some other guests that were really nice.

Gordon's on the Pier - ate here on Christmas Eve and Christmas day. Had the steamed lobster and requested drawn butter. One of the better meals at the resort. We had a few questions for the server about some of the drinks/food on the menu and he couldn't answer them right away - had to go ask someone.

Bella Napoli pizzeria - tasty little pizzas make for a nice lunch or snack on the beach.

Cafe Goombay lunch - wraps, burgers, etc. Pretty standard fare, nothing too exciting. Same with the Royal Cafe.

Spices buffet - we mostly ate here for breakfast and were happy with the selection. We had lunch here on our first day - large salad bar and lots of other things to choose from. Pretty typical resort buffet.

Entertainment/Activities
We were given a schedule of activities when we arrived. We wanted to do 2 of the activities that were listed (on separate days), however when we showed up, no one was there and nothing was set up. We asked around, but weren't given much of an answer, so eventually we just kind of gave up. We did take a Hobie Cat out one day and that was tons of fun.

Private Island
Definitely a highlight of the trip. We went over twice and had a cabana reserved both times. Soooo relaxing and barely anyone was there! We preferred the side facing outwards into the ocean. Very peaceful. Vivek waited on us at the island and his service was great. We had lunch in our cabana both days and he brought champagne for my husband's birthday and other drinks we requested. The water was calm on both sides and just lapped at the shore. Very nice for swimming or snorkeling.

Pool
We mostly hung out at the Balmoral pool which is the quieter one. The Windsor pool has the music and is more of the party pool. As the other reviewers have said, the pools are not heated. They are pretty cold in December. The hot tubs were quite nice though :)

Beach
While it's not huge, the beach is clean and has plenty of chairs and cabanas. There are staff members out there each morning raking up the seaweed. They do a good job of keeping the beach nice and neat.

Overall Condition of Resort
This resort is about 15 years old and it's starting to show its age a bit. The room renovations in the Balmoral tower are fabulous, but there are some other things around the resort that could use a good scrubbing. Also... there are Sandals logos EVERYWHERE. On the buildings, doors, in the concrete sidewalks, across on the private island, at the bottom of the pool, everywhere you look! It's sort of annoying and very much overkill.

Overall Experience
I'd say we were happy with this vacation because it fit what we were looking for - an AI resort in the Caribbean that was easy to get to, no long travel times or layovers. We had no need or want that went unaddressed. The staff members are very hard working and so friendly! Sandals Royal Bahamian is really nice on the surface, but needs just a bit of polishing to be truly spectacular.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor center of Balmoral tower are spectacular, however choose a 5th floor room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed from December 21-26 at this resort and booked another stay at Sandals Halycon in St. Lucia for our anniversary. This was our third stay at a Sandals resort. This resort is smaller compared to Sandals Grande Antiqua and has an active side with more entertainment (pool near the Windsor Building) and a laid back side (pool near Balmoral Tower). There are cute, quiet villas if you want to be away from the crowds. The beach is a private cove which is small but well maintained and gorgeous. There are many free water activities you can take advantage of while there. Parasailing and jet skiing is available but is not part of Sandals so you will have to pay a private individual for these activities if you are interested.

Room: We booked a concierge level, which I did not see the benefit in this room category at all. Unless, you just want the stocked mini bar, I did not see the value in this room when you can get alcohol at any of the bars or restaurants 24 hr. a day. Also, the concierge did not book any spa treatments or dinner reservations for us. Maybe, I didn't take full advantage of the concierge. The only thing the concierge did during our 5 night stay was check us out. In my opinion, the concierge level room is not worth it. We stayed in all 3 categories so far (standard, concierge and butler). So, I would advise you to save your money and book the lowest level category or the Butler level.

Food: All the food was good. Spices is good for breakfast and lunch (buffet style). Royal Cafe is a good place to eat for lunch if you want to grab something quick. Crystal Room's crab legs are amazing. Baccarat's baked lobster is great and this restaurant requires a reservation. So book this restaurant as soon as you get here. Cassanova is also very good and the pizza place is okay for a quick snack.

Things to Do: Lots of water activities and entertainment at the resort or choose to be a beach bum if this is what you like Go to Sandals Cay (Sandal's private island). The ferry will take you over. It is a quick 7- 10 minute ride. The ferry runs every hour from 10- 4 and you can also make dinner reservations at Cafe Goombay. The island has pools, lots of seating, a spa, a restaurant and is peaceful since it is away from the main Sandal's property. Bring your towels. Also, jump on the # 10 bus right in front of Sandals to check out downtown and the "Fish Fry', which is a strip of local restaurants. We tried Oh Andros and is was delicious and the bahama mama was a refreshing delight. The bus was easy to catch and downtown and the Fish Fry is only 10 min. away.

Room Tip: If you are low maintenance. Book the lowest level category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As you will read in many reviews we set off for the Bahamas a little worried having read the other reviews. But we went with a positive attitude. Thank goodness we weren't put off as we both agreed this was the best holiday ever. What made it so good? I think the first thing to mention has to be the people. You read that they are good but really they are incredible. We were there for two weeks from 1 December 2012.

The resort is truly beautiful. We had a Concierge room on the 6th floor of the Balmoral building. It was large and had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. Although it was over the pool we weren't disturbed by noise at all. The room was kept extremely clean at all times by the lovely Mae. And the minibar was regularly restocked with everything we needed. When it was overlooked one day a request to the Concierge had it refilled before we returned to the room.

The pools on the mainland are both well maintained although not particularly warm - but this was a welcomed relief. There are plenty of sunbeds. If you are going during the winter choose a sunbed on the right hand side of the pool as you are looking out to the ocean as the ones on the left tend to lose to sun earlier. There were plenty of towels and plenty of staff stopping to ask if everything was ok or if anyone needed a drink.

The beaches are kept clean and again there are plenty of beds. The beds in the firepit area are a lovely place to be to watch the sun go down and chill out for a few hours.

The island was a particular highlight for us. It was closed due to the wind when we arrived and when it reopened to had to go via Arawak Cay for the first day but it was definitely worth the effort, After that is was open until the last day we were there when the wind returned.

The restaurants were all outstanding.

Breakfast - Spices was our favourite as we met the fabulous Latoysa and Darlene. Latoysa was the most welcoming hostess you could imagine. Always cheerful even when she was not well. Darlene makes the most wonderful smoothies and having tried several of them a day we should know! We did eat breakfast in Baccarat and it was lovely with excellent service but personally we preferred the atmosphere and the massive selection and quality of food in Spices.

Lunch - again Spices was a favourite. Although it is a buffet the choices changed every day and the quality was excellent. Cafe Goombay was fabulous and what a setting. Royal Café is good for a quick snack and obviously the pizza café is definitely worth a trip.

Dinner – All amazing although Kimono depends on the other people who are there. I think the Crystal Room was our favourite although we did also love Cassanova and Goombay. The Cricketers Pub is run by the lovely Kerry from Notthingham who runs a tight ship.

The Piano Bar – everyone mentions Cupcakes and Fluffy and I can see why. They are both excellent. If you want help knowing who is who ….. Fluffy is the cute one (he told me to say that!). Leonardo is exceptional and we spent most evenings here having a brilliant sing along.

I think what makes this place so stand out is the people. We received excellent service from many many staff but as promised I am going to mention Carlos (Cricketers Pub) first. We met Carlos on the first night and he was brilliant, helpful and funny. Also at the Cricketers is the best barman in the world – Garith. Thanks for creating the Phoenix! Obviously Latoysa and Darlene stood out for us and we miss them already.

My advice to you would be to go with a positive attitude. You definitely get back what you put in. A little respect and a friendly attitude go a long way. We will definitely be returning guests next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Disappointed from start to finish! Room quality, food quality, staff experience. So bad we stayed at another hotel while we were paying for Sandals room. Honeymoon was ruined! Thanks Sandals! We have been to 3 different credits for between $7200- $8300. We kept thinking it can't be this bad again. But they just keep on handing out credit's. wish we had of stopped after Nassau, Ochoa Rios was worse, Negril had no A/C for the most expensive block of rooms for the whole week we were there. Finally just let $7500 credit expire. Sandals has run it's coarse there is much better value for the dollar.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed 12/19-12/23 for a pre-Christmas getaway. Highlights? We stayed in the Balmoral Tower in Room 620, which had a great view of the ocean. We used the small balcony. The food at Baccarat was our favorite meal, and we regretted that we only ate there once. The lamb and lobster were both delicious, and our server was first-rate. We also had a fun, almost private wine tasting with Oswald; he offered a great tasting lesson and he was very friendly and knowledgeable. We loved the piano bar and spent every night there. Each night was a different mix of guests, from older to younger couples. The pianist, Leo, was awesome. So funny and he posed for pictures with us. The bartenders in the piano bar room were also very good. The dinner for returning guests was also very nice, and the free bottle of rum was a bonus. The rooms were kept clean and tidy. We also enjoyed our breakfast buffets, though the one morning we ate at Baccarat service was very slow.

Criticisms? It was our third Sandals and we weren't upgraded, despite having stayed there previously and knowing that the hotel was not full. There was limited restaurant availability due to the weather one evening and the hotel not being full. We waited nearly an hour to get into Crystal Room, and the service/food reflected the fact that the restaurant was over-capacity. At times, activities and restaurants were listed on our handout that in fact never took place or were closed. The staff wasn't fully in the loop, and at times, a few of the pool bartenders were not very friendly. However, one of the chefs at the pizza place found and kept a misplaced bag for us, so we were very grateful for that. We also were dispatched to the airport ridiculously early--we had 2.5 hours to kill before we boarded our flight.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed swimming, kayaking, playing pool, snorkeling, and the TX Hold 'Em game. And I'll also emphasize we really enjoyed Leo and the piano bar--definitely spend one night there!

Room Tip: Balmoral tower. A balcony is nice to leave out wet swimsuits and towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.