We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Travel Agent Recognition Awards December 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$150 Spa Credit!!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Lewisberry , Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sandals Travel Agent Recognition Awards December 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Over the TOP! The resort staff was incredible! I want to personally thank Shamone in the sales office for always being such a great host! He goes beyond the call of duty to insure a good time is had by all! The bar tenders, wait staff, chefs, room attendants, water sports, and sales team were all so friendly and seemed genuinely happy to be there helping us! Mr. Drake the General Manager was fantastic! You can tell how much he cares about this superb property! I know how busy he must have been preparing for the awards and always making sure everyone was happy. Everyday I saw him asking guests and agents if they needed anything. The food and restaurant options are over the top! On this trip I enjoyed the best Cream of Mushroom soup I have ever had in my life! it had a puff pastry over the top of the bowl. Delicious! All the rooms are located in a great location the room that is the farthest from the beach is only a 2 min leisure walk. It is very important to find a Travel Agent who has been to this resort to assist you in selecting the best room. There are many options: great ocean views, updated chic designed rooms and standard garden views. Many offer Butler service a DREAM COME TRUE insurance! To find out more about Butler service visit: http://ultratechtravel.com/Butler_Service.html
One evening we sat outside beachfront on comfortable lounge chairs surrounding a fire pit while enjoying a cocktail! Thank you for hosting us!

Room Tip: Contact a Chairman's Royal Club or Preferred Sandals Travel Agent who has been to the resort! T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,062 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,622
    1,263
    549
    352
    276
See reviews for
76
3824
9
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My trip to Sandals Royal Bahamian in May 2011 was outstanding. My boyfriend and I went for 5 days and we never wanted to leave. The resort was clean and beautiful, with employees cleaning all parts of the hotel, pools, beaches 24 hours a day. I am also impressed with the size of the resort. It was very large but also felt like a little community. The bedrooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable--everything appeared to be brand new. Staff was incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make you feel like home--especially Demetrio (who went by the name "The Colonel") was a great addition to our trip. Always around to snap that special moment with his camera--we took many of the photos home with us. The vacation was very romantic--only couples at the resort, and most of the time it felt like we were alone. I was surprised to find that we were the only ones on the beach most of the time! felt like we had the place to ourselves. The off-shore private island was a vacation on a vacation. only took a few minutes to get there and also felt like we had the whole island to ourselves if you went around the back of one of the restaurants.

The entertainment was fantastic! Great beach party one night we were there. We attended every patio dance night that was offered--The keyboardist/singer was amazing. We also went to the piano bar often and did sing alongs with fellow tipsy vacationers. The pianist was also incredible. We definitely enjoyed the firepits on the deck and often fell asleep on the beds in front of them with a breathtaking view of the water.

The pools were always crystal clear and the swim up bar might have been one of the favorite parts of my trip. It was so relaxing to have quick, friendly service while relaxing on a float in the pool. The pool we went to every day did not have any games--it was nice and relaxing. For those who wanted games, the oversized pool on the other side of the property was perfect. It was also nice to sea the gorgeous peacocks hanging out all over the resort!

Lastly--THE FOOD! Oh my gosh, the food. It was delicious. We never tired of the buffets and we frequently visited the pizza shop and the restaurant overlooking the water. DEFINITELY make reservations for the fancier restaurants--its completely worth it. The fine dining restaurant was to die for. We ordered the lobster and what do you know--the waiter replys "Would you like two lobsters? They're delicious." Why, yes sir, I would love two lobsters! The habachi restaurant was also great. Hilarious chefs! All-inclusive is the way to go.

I am now spoiled forever because I dont think any place will ever compare to this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We visited this resort on November 24-29. When we arrived we were upgraded to a Concierge Suite in the Windsor Building. We had an oceanview room and the view was amazing! The resort was still doing some repairs from Hurricane Sandy but it did not affect the guests. The pools were clean and beautiful! The beach was amazing! Sandals cay was probably the best because it felt more secluded and was actually warmer than the main island. The food overall was really good. We didn't care for a few dishes but most were excellent. Most of the staff was great and went out of there way to help you in anyway possible. The only problem I saw was the nightly entertainment. They need alot better entertainers to come in because the ones we saw were horrible! Nightlife is lacking; Everyone seems to turn in early and so not much goes on at night. All in all, my husband and I enjoyed our stay very much and would return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed over Labor Day this year and since we had previously stayed at Beaches Turks and Caicos and had such an incredible experience, we assumed that the “adult” version, owned by the same company, would be just as wonderful. We were a little disappointed.

The room we stayed in was extremely nice. We stayed in a villa that had a bedroom, a sitting room, an in room bar, a porch with an overhang and table, and access to a private pool. An absolutely wonderful room. Within view of our room was a bocci court, a shuffleboard court, and tennis courts. The room was very private and faced away from the rest of the resort so felt even more private than it actually was which was very nice. The in room bar was stocked with local beer, wine, and champagne and was restocked each day with whatever you requested. There was a couple of bottles of liquor supplied in the room as well, but we did not partake in these. I’m sure they were adequate.

The resort itself was smallish compared to many others we’ve stayed at, was kept neat and clean, but for such a small resort had a few things we were not crazy about. First of all, when there were weddings, the main route from our room to the rest of the resort was closed to traffic for the wedding party, so we had to go around. Small issue but a little annoying. Second, the service really was not great. The staff was nice enough (if you said hello first), but not overly accommodating. The week we were there was not very busy (less than half capacity from what staff members told me), but took forever to get a drink anywhere we went. Third about half the restaurants require reservations, which is just downright annoying to me as I’ve been to so many resorts that support many more people where reservations are not required and it works. Be prepared to wait for your meals and drinks in the restaurants as well; nothing is quick.

The beach itself is very nice. The ocean is absolutely breathtakingly clear and beautiful, the sand is clean and soft, and the beach is large so you never felt crowded. The resort has its own private island that is accessible by resort boat and is nice. The pool on the private island looked oily and dirty, and the beach on the side of the island opposite the resort is VERY rocky, but the beach facing the resort is pristine and beautiful. The whole private island experience, with the exception of the one beach was actually a bit disappointing. I expected so much more as it seemed a bit dingy as a whole and could have provided such a better experience. Also, the island closed and boat service stopped very early so if you got there in the afternoon, you really had only a short time there, which in retrospect, was probably enough. The pools in the main resort were clean and open to swimming, even after hours, which was a nice change of pace as most resorts close their pools after dark.

The food was adequate, but really nothing to write home about. I’ve had better and worse. Room service was available and we did take advantage of having some meals, especially breakfast, brought to our room. It was very nice to have coffee and pastries on our private porch in the mornings.

Cricketer’s Pub was nice and had a piano where karaoke was held at night. The karaoke was nice, but the room and area around the piano was small, so it got crowded quickly. The pub itself had a very nice, large bar, but as with all the other bars, the service was slow. Even with crowds around this bar, as it was the main congregating area each night, I never saw more than 2 bartenders working which was inadequate to keep up with the pace. Can’t imagine what it would be like on a crowded week.

Just above the beach was where we had one of the most enjoyable couples’ evenings in quite a while. There is a large area with couches, tables, and fire pits that are lit at night. A singer set up just below the sitting area and played music and sang while we sat together, sipped a cocktail, and danced. It was romantic, fun, and beautiful; overlooking the ocean.

Overall, the experience we had was not worth the price we paid. We’ve stayed in other resorts that were priced comparatively and had much better experiences as it pertains to service and quality. Would I recommend this resort? Not really, unless you can pick up an incredible deal on the price and be guaranteed that the time you go is not crowded. I am a member of the Sandals / Beaches Club and I don’t know that I would chance visiting another Sandals resort. It’s too expensive to leave to chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for posting about your stay with us. I’m so sorry that your experience with us did not quite meet your expectations. We are known for providing amazing experiences and not just so-so vacations. Unfortunately, during your experience, it seems we did not quite meet that expectation. Please accept our apologies.

We want to make sure future guests do not have similar feedback and will take action by notifying the appropriate departments of your remarks. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

Thank you once again for your review.


Kind Regards,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After reading some really negative reviews post Sandy, we were a little concerned as to what we might encounter. We needn't have worried, I guess there's no pleasing some people! We had no trouble at airport, Sandals desk easy to find and a warm welcome, then directed to coach stop across road. On arrival, check in was easy, like others have said, drink and wet towel to refresh you. We were then shown to our room. We had Windsor building 4th floor concierge service, oceon view. Lovely size bed, all clean etc, mini bar stocked daily. We had to ask for a kettle as we don't drink coffee, but was bought very quickly same day, as was 2 bath robes i requested, as they do not seem to be supplied to all rooms.

Our favourite restaurant was Baccaret, we managed to eat there 3 times. Service was excellent, staff very attentive, and enjoyed a chat when they had time.

Crystal Room was good aswell, although very dark at the back of restaurant and needed to use candle light to read the menu! Like many have said, the pizzas are excellent, do not miss out.

The Staff are all amazing, we could not fault them. They obviously have frequent customer service feed back, nothing was to much trouble, and often heard, 'we are here to serve you'
We always went to Spices for breakfast which was excellent, always a warm smile and welcome from the girls. Freshly made omelettes, egg benedict, pancakes, you name it they cooked it.


They have been really busy making the grounds look great since Sandy, there has been a lot of saltwater damage to all the plants and trees etc. Also the Pier is now newly renovated and up and running again over to the Island. They were painting walls, signposts, generally everything that was looking a little tired.

They have 2 pools, The Windsor pool where the Playmakers do there thing, you can join in as much or little as you want. The Balmoral pool we found very quiet and water was colder.

All in all, we had the most relaxing 10 days, with the nicest of staff and best service we could wish for, along with our expanding waistlines to bring home!

We would love to return to SRB.

Room Tip: Best tip would be to make sure you make restaurant reservations when you arrive, and a few days late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Cathy, thank you so much for your review. I know you were worried about your stay in the beginning because of some of the not-so-good reviews but I'm so glad that everything turned out fine. Sandy didn't hit us too badly but she still brought quite a bit of work for us to do on-property. However, no job is too big for us! The clean-up was initiated and completed quickly, the pier was reconstructed and now looks even better than before. And in the midst of all this the staff continued to provide excellent service with a smile. I am truly happy that you had such an amazing and relaxing stay.

We are definitely here to serve you and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Take Care.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The pools views are absolutely gorgeous of the ocean. And the staff was absolutely amazing with anything needed. If lost and asked they would walk you to your destination. Beach is nice and food was absolutely great! And if you workout - the view of the ocean from the gym is beyond words! Definite motivation :)

Also it is only 15 mins from airport. None of those long bus rides!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We're thrilled to read that you had such a great stay with us at Sandals Royal Bahamian. We strive to provide the highest levels of service and accommodations to all our guests and I'm so glad that we were able to achieve that goal during your vacation.

Thank you for you review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here from Nov 19th- 24th for our honeymoon. After our Vegas wedding we wanted a place to unwind, relax, and enjoy the beautiful waters of Carribean. We did just that and it was perfect. Since it was our honeymoon, we got the butler service and stayed in the Windsor bldg. We are a couple in our mid 30's and enjoyed every last second of this resort. No problems at all, don't understand the negative feedback. I'll break it down:

Arrival: Smooth and quick. Checked in at Sandals desk (can't miss it) and Rolls Royce picked us up. Got to hotel, given cold refreshing lemon scented towels and our butler showed us to our room. Bags arrived within minutes and we hit the beach.

Room: Not sure what room it was, but it was located in Windsor bldg. We had a wrap around patio with sun loungers and partial ocean view. Bed was comfie and bathroom was huge. Two closets, two sinks, and giant bathtub. Our fridge was stocked everyday with beverages.

Staff: Absolutely friendly! Everyone we encountered was a joy. I realize if you are happy and smiling most everyone you encounter will pick up on vibe and smile with you. The staff works hard to make sure the guests enjoy their stay! Little things like notes left, towel sculptures, flowers, fruit, desserts, bubble baths are fun suprises and treats. Our butlers also had cheese and crackers brought to our room every afternoon.

Food: Such a variety. If you don't like one thing, there are so many other restaurants to pick and options are plentiful. Our favorite was Gordon's on the Pier. During day, we enjoyed the pizza and nacho bar at Cafe Royal. Crickteers has pub fare available all night. We liked Baccarat and enjoyed breakfast delivered to our room most every morning. We never had a long wait at the bars and sampled just about everything from rum punches to champagne.

Beach & Pools: Plenty of towels and loungers available at pool and beach. Our favorite was the private island. Go there! It's so relaxing and you feel a million miles away. Plus there is restaurant/bar on site, tons of places to sunbathe, hammocks, swings, and cabanas. We didn't encounter any bugs like some people. Beaches were clean and water was clear.

We loved getting a drink after dinner and sitting around the firepits listening to the live music. It was so romantic and this is perfect place for couples since it's just adults and mainly couples of all ages.

Side note: We went in to town one day. So easy to catch the 10 bus and visited the straw market and shops. There is also a gift shop on site if you forget something and cute selection of bath products and beach wear.

Most of all, I felt safe and our expectations were exceeded. We liked being able to trun off cell phones/internet and escape to relax and soak up sun.

I would definately come back and we look forward to going to another Sandals resort.

Feel free to message me if you have questions! I truly don't understand how someone could not enjoy there stay here.

Room Tip: Butler rooms are all good and they help you with everything you may need/want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.