We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our week.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$110 Early Booking Bonus!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our week.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our first Sandals visit and we generally thought it was a good hotel. Nice welcome and really excellent position overlooking the amazing turquoise sea. Good clean room and decent size. The food was very good most days&nights but we noticed that the earlier you ate, the better the food. Gym was good and great view! Staff overall were very attentive and kind. The hotel could do with some money spent on it to make it into a true 5 star experience, but we still had a fabulous break.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,086 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,638
    1,267
    552
    352
    277
See reviews for
76
3841
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Royal from Nov 4th - 13th 2012. We had a wonderful time at the hotel overall. Service for the most part was fantastic and the people were Incredible. I'll break our review down into different areas to make it easier to read.

ROOM:
We had a Windsor Oceanview room with the concierge. Room #1522 was spacious and comfy and had an amazing view of the ocean. The room was cleaned daily and the bar was always freshly stocked. We had turndown service every night and ate breakfast in bed on a couple of occasions. There was a safe in the room and everything in the room worked well including the A/C.

FOOD:
We booked all of our reservations at the restaurants on the day of our arrival and had reservations for every night we stayed there. Food at all the restaurants was great. We found Gordon's on the pier to be AMAZING!!! We've been to quite a few all inclusives between the two of us and Gordon's was the best ever for us. The steak and lobster were amazing, my wife had been in Las Vegas a couple of weeks before and had eaten a Wolfgang Pucks place there and she felt the steak was way better at Gordon's so our compliments to the staff there! Besides Gordon's we really enjoyed Baccarat. The pizza was also great at the pizzeria and the ladies went out of their way to accommodate my special request for anchovies.

DIVING:
This was primarily a diving trip for my wife and I as the diving is somewhat included in the price. I say somewhat because the shark dive, blue hole and night dives are extra money. The diving in the Bahamas was simply fantastic. This was our first time diving on wrecks and the variety of the dives were great and there was lots of interesting things to see including boats, barges and airplanes. We primarily went for the shark dive which we did with Sandals and also did a more ramped up shark dive with Stuart's Cove off the resort. Both dives were GREAT, Stuart's cove was just another notch higher as they fed them and brought the sharks right to you. Both my wife and I were bumped by the sharks several times and watched out handler fighting with the sharks. All in all a really cool dive. We did want to give a special shout out to RAMON and WENZEL at the dive shop at Sandals. These guys were really great and went out of their way to help make out diving and amazing experience, thanks very much guys!

ENTERTAINMENT:
The entertainment during the day was a lot of fun. KENDAL, BULLET, ELAN, PO-PO and all the rest of the entertainment crew were Incredible! These guys really tried hardto make it a good time for everyone. Unfortunately for them their efforts mostly fell on deaf ears. I understand everyone has their own level of fun and excitement, not everyone wants to party the night away on vacation. That being said, I have never seen a more boring group of guests anywhere. No one seems the least bit inclined to have fun, people basically totally ignored the entertainment crew and other then a few people no one would even cheer on people involved in some of the games. Give the entertainment crew their due though, they didn't give up or let the apathy of the guests get them down. This brings us and to what was our one big let down about this resort:The nightlife.

NIGHTLIFE:
Where to start, everything up to about 10 or 11pm wasn't too bad as there were shows put on by the staff which were great. But as soon as the shows were over there's was a mass exodus out the doors. I mean it was unreal, the was a DJ starting up in the same building same room and people couldn't get out of there fast enough. I've never experienced a more boring nightlife then at this resort. EVER. In addition the demeanor of PRESCOTT, the bartender in the Royal Theatre, was insulting. This man never smiled once and was consistently rude to patrons. I don't often call someone out over the way they act but this guy was miserable. I mean why are you even there? You made it perfectly clear you didn't like the guests and that serving drinks was a chore. Maybe it's time for a career change? Every night, and we were there for 10 of them, 95% of the people seemed to have gone to bed by 11:00pm. I'm not talking just the old folks, but most of the 30-40 crowd were down for the count as well. We tend to make our own fun anyways but it's really a downer when it's like 12:00 and there's like 0 people out and about. By the way I'm not exaggerating that either lol. Oh well at least it made us get up earlier for diving!

OVERALL:
Great resort! As I've already said entertainment staff are great fun and extremely talented. Diving was amazing. Staff and hotel are super nice and the food is delicious. We had a great time and would definitely return to the Bahamas sometime. The people in the Bahamas are great and it's a lovely country. We might return here, but the nightlife would definitely have to improve. In the mean time there's other places to check off our bucket list so safe travels to you all.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Like many others this is a mixed review.

Lets start with the positive reviews.....

We had paid for for the Butler service at the Royal Village. We were picked up from the airport in a vintage Rolls Royce and the driver was extremely knowledgeable about the Island, especially James Bond!

When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the Windsor Building with a terrace overlooking the entertainment pool. However, this was our 'WeddingMoon' and we wanted a quiet relaxing holiday and so declined and went along with our original choice in the royal village area. We were pleased we did as we had a small pool right outside our suite and were mostly alone everyday there.

Our Butler team, Reynard, Corey and Diana were fantastic unlike a previous reviewers opinion on theirs. Although it isnt a 'personal' service, whenever we wanted or needed anything it was brought for us. maybe not in seconds but as the 'Bahaminan' way within half an hour. Every morning not only were our seats reserved with towels and 'towel art' we had a cooler brought to us with beers, sodas and water which was topped up throughout the day, we were also bought snacks, nachos, cheese and crackers and fruit and a plate left in the room for the evening along with a bubble and rose bud bath (twice!!) and amazing towel art every night.

We had asked for several premium brands of spirits in our room which we got!

The Buitlers organised the entire 10 days reservations and we did change these around and asked for different times, all of this was done.

We did not use the Butlers for our every whim although we did see one chap being run ragged by a group of visitors on the beach fetching drinks every few minutes!

The food in all the restaurants was excellent with the exception of Gordons ( which had been reloated to the Royal Cafe due to Hurricane damage). We asked for a table at 9.30 and we were the only guests in there. Baccarat was definatly the best restuarant also for breakfast which was a welcome change from the mainly chaoitic service in Spices! The Crystal Room runs a close second and the Alaskan Spider Crab legs are just simply amazing!

We got married on our third day at the Resort and chose the Garden Gazebo which was more private ( and less windy) than the beach locations. We opted for the Beautiful Beginnings which was free and it was fantastic, there was no need to upgrade as everything was perfect. Our photograher, Kamone was brilliant and athough we did not purchase a pre-paid package and just chose a few of the hundreds she had taken we were not given any hard sell at all to buy more. Overall, we would not have changed a thing about that day.

The Firepits are a great place to be sociable in the evenings, we met lots of people and every evening was different. However there is not much to do at night, does everyone go to bed early? one evening we were alone in the Cricketers at 11pm!!

The gym is excellent with fantastic views from the treadmills to the island. The equipment is modern with lots of machines, free weights etc, it was never busy when we went there, this may have something to do with how early we got there!

The Cricketers pub does decent snacks and the service is really good even when busy. You should really consider putting on a Traditional English Sunday Roast there it would give the pub a more traditional English feel!

On our last day we asked the Butler to arrange a late checkout which we got for no extra cost. We had a private transfer to the airport in a new 4 x 4 and surprisingly got upgraded to the First Class Lounge on arrival (I dont think this had anything to do with Sandals as we flew Premier Economy both ways).

The not so positive reviews of the Resort......It was smaller than we thought it would be (however this could also be a positive thing too), the Piano Bar does smell strangely and there was a definate whiff of sewage on the beach depending on the wind direction! The Resort really does need an update to make you feel you are in a 5* resort and not one that was 5* years ago.

Spices for breakfast was always chaotic. The buffet was limited and pot luck! Somedays there were no glasses for the juice or spoons for cereals. When asking for tea be prepared not to get it even when asking several times and when it does arrive you get a large pot of hot water and one teabag! Baccarat is a better option and less busy. Lunchtime is better at Spices with more choice of food and more attentive waiters with drinks. We tried the Pizzaria and the Royal Cafe for burgers but neither were that great (unless you like to eat fast food).

The rooms in the Royal Village need some overhauling as they were dated.The accommodation (especially the bathrooms) could do with being a lot bigger, however, it would be difficult to do this without either losing some of the smaller rooms or adding onto the buildings. We have been to other resorts in the Caribbean (not Sandals) and these had better standard accommodation.

There is not enough attention to detail, the little things that we all appreciate. The mini bar was topped up every day but after the first bottle of bubby was drunk this was not replaced, neither was the wine. The toiletries in the bathroom were not topped up at all, I left a note for the maid on 2 days to ask for more which we got but we were left with no shampoo for the last 2 days of our holidat despite asking the evening maid who said she would have to go and get some. A few days we did not get enough towels and resorted in using the pool towels.

We did go to the 'Back Soon' desk as we were tempted by the 65% discount. We would have definatly booked another holiday with Sandals if we had been 'wowed' by this vacation. However, like other reviewers we have been to 5* hotels in the Middle and Far East and the service at Sandals is not up to what we would consider to be 5* especially for the prices that Sandals charge.

However, overall we had a lovely time but we are unlikely to return. :(

Room Tip: The Royal Village is quiter and the gardens are lovely. You feel you are in a completely different R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to Sandals for our 20th anniversary and had a great time! For the most part the staff and service were excellent! The food was very good. The rooms were clean and spacious. At the end of our stay Hurrican Sandy hit the island and the staff was extremely accomodating, making us fell safe and secure. Plan on visiting Sandals Emerald Bay next!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Sandals to renew our vow's for our 25th anniversary and it could not have been any any better. This resort was amazing, the staff went above and beyond to help you with whatever you needed. Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time. The room was immaculate, the grounds were also immaculate, we were there the week after the hurricane and the crew was busy bringing it up to par. We made restaurant reservations as soon as we arrived and had no issues. We ate at the Crystal Room twice the second time they were calling my husband Mr. M, just goes to show how they get to know you, the second time we had a party of six and they were so accommodating. The pizza was soooo good we had it almost every day. We made amazing resort friends especially at the Piano Bar, our favorite bartender, we did not even have to ask for drinks as soon as he saw us they were right there waiting. I could go on forever about this resort, but I will just sum it up as: It was the best experience we have had, the staff is so friendly and could not do enough, the food was great. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, it was on the 4th floor in the Windsor Bldg. we had a view of the beach and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After all the hype about the great Sandals service, my wife and I, along with another couple decided to take the plunge and spend LOTS of money to visist this resort. Although the food was excellent the staff and service were a complete disappointment! For the amount they charge we thought we would be catered to, unfortunately this did not happen. From no hot water in the mornings, to overflowing toilets that took 6 hours to fix, and room doors that wouldnt lock, this resort left me wondering what all the fuss is about. If you are trying to decide between this resort and a cruise - choose the cruise as this industry knows how to look after all it's guests, not just the ones with Butler service!

First and last time Sandals customer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in the day after Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was understandably effected in anegative manner. The staff were awesome. Our room was great. We did check out after one day and moved to the Cove at Atlantis. The food at Sandals was very good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. After a hurricane or any tropical storm we always try to get all repairs and cleaning completed as quickly and as efficiently as possible to ensure that our guests are not too affected during their stay. Unfortunately, it seems we were not quite up to par during your stay and for that we apologize. Even though you only spent a day with us, we're still glad you were able to enjoy your stay in The Bahamas. We do hope that you visit us again and afford us the opportunity to impress you with our luxurious accommodations, delicious dining and friendly staff.

Happy Travels!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.