We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $755 Air Credit!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to Sandals for our 20th anniversary and had a great time! For the most part the staff and service were excellent! The food was very good. The rooms were clean and spacious. At the end of our stay Hurrican Sandy hit the island and the staff was extremely accomodating, making us fell safe and secure. Plan on visiting Sandals Emerald Bay next!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,840
    1,355
    584
    371
    289
See reviews for
83
4,134
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Sandals to renew our vow's for our 25th anniversary and it could not have been any any better. This resort was amazing, the staff went above and beyond to help you with whatever you needed. Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time. The room was immaculate, the grounds were also immaculate, we were there the week after the hurricane and the crew was busy bringing it up to par. We made restaurant reservations as soon as we arrived and had no issues. We ate at the Crystal Room twice the second time they were calling my husband Mr. M, just goes to show how they get to know you, the second time we had a party of six and they were so accommodating. The pizza was soooo good we had it almost every day. We made amazing resort friends especially at the Piano Bar, our favorite bartender, we did not even have to ask for drinks as soon as he saw us they were right there waiting. I could go on forever about this resort, but I will just sum it up as: It was the best experience we have had, the staff is so friendly and could not do enough, the food was great. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, it was on the 4th floor in the Windsor Bldg. we had a view of the beach and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After all the hype about the great Sandals service, my wife and I, along with another couple decided to take the plunge and spend LOTS of money to visist this resort. Although the food was excellent the staff and service were a complete disappointment! For the amount they charge we thought we would be catered to, unfortunately this did not happen. From no hot water in the mornings, to overflowing toilets that took 6 hours to fix, and room doors that wouldnt lock, this resort left me wondering what all the fuss is about. If you are trying to decide between this resort and a cruise - choose the cruise as this industry knows how to look after all it's guests, not just the ones with Butler service!

First and last time Sandals customer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in the day after Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was understandably effected in anegative manner. The staff were awesome. Our room was great. We did check out after one day and moved to the Cove at Atlantis. The food at Sandals was very good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. After a hurricane or any tropical storm we always try to get all repairs and cleaning completed as quickly and as efficiently as possible to ensure that our guests are not too affected during their stay. Unfortunately, it seems we were not quite up to par during your stay and for that we apologize. Even though you only spent a day with us, we're still glad you were able to enjoy your stay in The Bahamas. We do hope that you visit us again and afford us the opportunity to impress you with our luxurious accommodations, delicious dining and friendly staff.

Happy Travels!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Somehow, this place manages to clean up really well for promos and pictures. I will forever cringe when I see that Sandals commercial come on TV...

The best way to describe this place is tired. It looks like it may have once been a nice hotel, but now it just looks forgotten and depressing.

The food is horrible.... and no matter which restaurant you eat, whether it be the Italian or Japanese, the food seems like it's all coming out of the same kitchen and just re-purposed to fit the theme of the restaurant. And, the food was not fresh. Forget fresh fruit, fresh fish, or fresh anything... it all tastes like the frozen bulk food you would buy at Costco, then slathered in grease.

And I can't understand the reservation system. We had to haggle with the hostess at the Japanese restaurant, Kimonos, for a half an hour for a reservation only to find half of the restaurant completely empty for the entire time we were seated for our meal. I don't get it.

The staff is nice enough, but for some reason I felt like a constant bother to them just for being there. I felt bad every time I asked for something, even if it was as simple as a glass of water.

The biggest highlight for me at the hotel was the fire pits by the beach that turned on in the evening.

I've never spent so much money for a hotel stay only to count the minutes til departure. I don't think at the rate they charge per night that it's too much to ask to have decent food and a clean, nice looking hotel. This will probably be my last stay at an all inclusive because the cost just does not make sense for meals and drinks per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

Regarding your concerns about the food and dining options, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. We are therefore sorry if you were not similarly impressed. We always encourage our guests to express their concerns while on property so that we can make adjustments to ensure that you they enjoy the remainder of their stay. Our chefs, especially, are always eager to please even the most discerning palate.

Thank you once again for your review.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed this all-inclusive resort for our honeymoon. The restaurants, bars, amenities and activities were excellent. Looking forward to going back someday. I would not upgrade rooms though as we were rarely in the room and could spend the difference on excursions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Saturday (Arrival): We just got here today for my wife's 40th birthday. This is our first trip in 5 years with no kids and we are/were really looking forward to it. We couldn't book the ocean-view room we wanted as they are booked until tomorrow. Not a huge deal as we figured/hoped we could change or pay to get the room we wanted tomorrow. So far though this is the same experience as my wife and I had the last time we went to a Sandals in Jamaica in 2005. After arriving they took us to the concierge area for check-in. After a lengthy check-in process we asked if we could make a few dinner reservations as we'd read online you need to make them as soon as you check-in. Our check-in host just said, "ok we'll make reservations for you" without actually asking where/what we wanted to eat. When we told him we had specific places we wanted to try he said ok then went off. We were then taken to Spices for a late lunch. Not only was the selection limited but we had to wait almost 15min just to get a plate. Once we got a plate half the food was gone. This was similar to our experience at Sandals in Jamaica -- food never seemed to be available.

Once our room was finally ready we were given our restaurant reservations. We only got one of the restaurants we wanted and not on the day we wanted. When we tried to change we were told everything was already booked -- so much for trying to make reservations at check-in!

When we finally got to our room it is/was nice and spacious, but nowhere near the location we wanted and the balcony is so small we'd be nervous if the wind picked up.

All in all we are still away with no kids and it's warmer here than home, but it's day 1 of our trip and we're already a bit aggravated and seriously debating if Sandals will ever be in our future again. Here's to hoping we can somehow get dinner and maybe get lucky on a room change. Stay tuned!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for notifying us of your concerns while on property. We really appreciate the opportunity given to make things right during the remainder of your stay. I'm so glad that the management and staff at Sandals Royal Bahamian were able to address your concerns and provide you with the kind of customer service we strive for everyday. It's great that your stay turned out to be an amazing one with memorable moments and lots of exciting surprises.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.