We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Save Saved
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$70 Early Booking Bonus!!
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Chino
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Sandals to renew our vow's for our 25th anniversary and it could not have been any any better. This resort was amazing, the staff went above and beyond to help you with whatever you needed. Our breakfast was delivered to our room every morning on time. The room was immaculate, the grounds were also immaculate, we were there the week after the hurricane and the crew was busy bringing it up to par. We made restaurant reservations as soon as we arrived and had no issues. We ate at the Crystal Room twice the second time they were calling my husband Mr. M, just goes to show how they get to know you, the second time we had a party of six and they were so accommodating. The pizza was soooo good we had it almost every day. We made amazing resort friends especially at the Piano Bar, our favorite bartender, we did not even have to ask for drinks as soon as he saw us they were right there waiting. I could go on forever about this resort, but I will just sum it up as: It was the best experience we have had, the staff is so friendly and could not do enough, the food was great. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, it was on the 4th floor in the Windsor Bldg. we had a view of the beach and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,693
    1,288
    559
    359
    280
See reviews for
77
3920
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After all the hype about the great Sandals service, my wife and I, along with another couple decided to take the plunge and spend LOTS of money to visist this resort. Although the food was excellent the staff and service were a complete disappointment! For the amount they charge we thought we would be catered to, unfortunately this did not happen. From no hot water in the mornings, to overflowing toilets that took 6 hours to fix, and room doors that wouldnt lock, this resort left me wondering what all the fuss is about. If you are trying to decide between this resort and a cruise - choose the cruise as this industry knows how to look after all it's guests, not just the ones with Butler service!

First and last time Sandals customer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in the day after Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was understandably effected in anegative manner. The staff were awesome. Our room was great. We did check out after one day and moved to the Cove at Atlantis. The food at Sandals was very good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. After a hurricane or any tropical storm we always try to get all repairs and cleaning completed as quickly and as efficiently as possible to ensure that our guests are not too affected during their stay. Unfortunately, it seems we were not quite up to par during your stay and for that we apologize. Even though you only spent a day with us, we're still glad you were able to enjoy your stay in The Bahamas. We do hope that you visit us again and afford us the opportunity to impress you with our luxurious accommodations, delicious dining and friendly staff.

Happy Travels!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Somehow, this place manages to clean up really well for promos and pictures. I will forever cringe when I see that Sandals commercial come on TV...

The best way to describe this place is tired. It looks like it may have once been a nice hotel, but now it just looks forgotten and depressing.

The food is horrible.... and no matter which restaurant you eat, whether it be the Italian or Japanese, the food seems like it's all coming out of the same kitchen and just re-purposed to fit the theme of the restaurant. And, the food was not fresh. Forget fresh fruit, fresh fish, or fresh anything... it all tastes like the frozen bulk food you would buy at Costco, then slathered in grease.

And I can't understand the reservation system. We had to haggle with the hostess at the Japanese restaurant, Kimonos, for a half an hour for a reservation only to find half of the restaurant completely empty for the entire time we were seated for our meal. I don't get it.

The staff is nice enough, but for some reason I felt like a constant bother to them just for being there. I felt bad every time I asked for something, even if it was as simple as a glass of water.

The biggest highlight for me at the hotel was the fire pits by the beach that turned on in the evening.

I've never spent so much money for a hotel stay only to count the minutes til departure. I don't think at the rate they charge per night that it's too much to ask to have decent food and a clean, nice looking hotel. This will probably be my last stay at an all inclusive because the cost just does not make sense for meals and drinks per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We regret to hear that your stay was not as expected. We strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. We have many guests that boast of our luxurious inclusions, water sports, fine dining, accommodations and quality of staff but as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is appreciated.

Regarding your concerns about the food and dining options, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. We are therefore sorry if you were not similarly impressed. We always encourage our guests to express their concerns while on property so that we can make adjustments to ensure that you they enjoy the remainder of their stay. Our chefs, especially, are always eager to please even the most discerning palate.

Thank you once again for your review.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed this all-inclusive resort for our honeymoon. The restaurants, bars, amenities and activities were excellent. Looking forward to going back someday. I would not upgrade rooms though as we were rarely in the room and could spend the difference on excursions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Saturday (Arrival): We just got here today for my wife's 40th birthday. This is our first trip in 5 years with no kids and we are/were really looking forward to it. We couldn't book the ocean-view room we wanted as they are booked until tomorrow. Not a huge deal as we figured/hoped we could change or pay to get the room we wanted tomorrow. So far though this is the same experience as my wife and I had the last time we went to a Sandals in Jamaica in 2005. After arriving they took us to the concierge area for check-in. After a lengthy check-in process we asked if we could make a few dinner reservations as we'd read online you need to make them as soon as you check-in. Our check-in host just said, "ok we'll make reservations for you" without actually asking where/what we wanted to eat. When we told him we had specific places we wanted to try he said ok then went off. We were then taken to Spices for a late lunch. Not only was the selection limited but we had to wait almost 15min just to get a plate. Once we got a plate half the food was gone. This was similar to our experience at Sandals in Jamaica -- food never seemed to be available.

Once our room was finally ready we were given our restaurant reservations. We only got one of the restaurants we wanted and not on the day we wanted. When we tried to change we were told everything was already booked -- so much for trying to make reservations at check-in!

When we finally got to our room it is/was nice and spacious, but nowhere near the location we wanted and the balcony is so small we'd be nervous if the wind picked up.

All in all we are still away with no kids and it's warmer here than home, but it's day 1 of our trip and we're already a bit aggravated and seriously debating if Sandals will ever be in our future again. Here's to hoping we can somehow get dinner and maybe get lucky on a room change. Stay tuned!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for notifying us of your concerns while on property. We really appreciate the opportunity given to make things right during the remainder of your stay. I'm so glad that the management and staff at Sandals Royal Bahamian were able to address your concerns and provide you with the kind of customer service we strive for everyday. It's great that your stay turned out to be an amazing one with memorable moments and lots of exciting surprises.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better stay!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sandals from October 30 2012 to November 6 2012, right after hurricane Sandy. This is our 5th vacation together staying at all inclusive restorts, that are 5 star acommadations. Just a little background information for you readers. We are 27 and 26 years old and go on vacation together once a year and always try somewhere different.

When we arrived at the airport everything went smoothly, luggage and customs took no time at all. (The airport was new and only opened about 1 week) There was a small Sandals desk, like we were told there would be. We did not have to go up to it because the rep was waiting right by the doors. He looked up our name on his list and advised us that our car would be there in about 5-10 minutes to pick us up.

We were picked up in about the 10 minutes as he said in a Royles Royce. Our driver was extremely nice, took our bags right away (all of them, he would not let us carry not one!) He made sure to open my door first and then went around to the other side to open my boyfriends door. He was trying to be very "proper" I guess you could say but once we started talking he seemed to relax abit. He was more then happy to give us a little hisorty of the Island as well as answer and questions that we asked. The ride to the resort was only about 15 minutes from the airport.

Once at the resort we were greated right away with warm towels. Our butler was there within 2 minutes of arriving. After having read all the reviews we desised to spend a little more money and book the Royal Village Honeymoon Villa Suite with butler service. Our first butler Shamal told us that our room was not quite ready (I expected this from reading all the reviews, the rooms never seem to be ready when you arrive), no big deal is was right around noon so he took us to the Royal Cafe to have lunch and told us he would be back in a bit to check on us. As we were walking to the Royal Cafe we pointed out where the restaurants where as well as a few other things. The food at the Royal Cafe was okay, burgers, sandwiches, friends, that sort of thing, nothing special. Service was great, and staff were really friendy. After lunch Shamal had not come back so we desided to talk a walk around the resort.

Shamal came and found us around 1:30. He had let us know that he had upgraded us to a Royal Bahimian Oceanview One Bedroom Suite. That room was located in the Windsor Tower one the 6th floor. The room was very large with a bedroom and seperate living/dining area. The balcony was also huge and wraped around the entire room. He explained that our reservation for dinner were made for us and gave us a list of the restaurants with dates and times of reservations. As well as the cell phone to get intouch with the butlers (if you loose or break it apparanetly it is $150 charge to your room so be careful!) Also let us know about the tipping policy. Butlers are suppost to be the only ones to accept a tip, the tips are included for the other staff in the resort. (If you do want to tip someone else they will accept it, so if you feel you would like to go ahead) The only issue with the room was that it was facing out of resort over looking a parking lot and apartments. Due to the huricane there was construction going on the was noicey so you could not keep your balaony open. About an hour later our other 2 butlers came to introduce them selfs, Perez and Latoya. The came up with a shrimp cocktail for us, nice little touch.

Our first night was at Casanova. You do not need reservations, but our butlers had made them for us. If you dont have reservations the wait was about 30 minutes. For some reason too our room number was writen 1363 instead of 1636 so whenever we went for dinner we had to figure out what room number the reservations were under. We both enjoyed the meal and found we had great service. The butlers came to check on us and asked what our plans were for tomorrow, and asked if we wanted a beach chair or chairs by the pool reserved.

Breakfast at spices was average, normal breakfast food nothing special. But the hostess that works there Mon-Fri is soooo nice! Alwasy smiling and so pleasant!

We found our chair by the pool near Spices restaurant. We ended up calling Perez and asked if he could come speak with us about our room. We explained to him about the contruction and noice as well as the view and asked if we could have any other room facing into the resort instead. He let us know he would speak with the manager and get back to us. The next morning he had the same room facing into the resort for us (room 1605). That made a 100% difference!

We also had a credit for the spa for $150 due to the room be booked. We had to ask our butlers about it, Im not sure that if we didnt ask that we would have been told about it. It would have been nice if they had reminded us about it. They did confirm that yes we did have the credit and told us that when we were ready to call them and they would book it for us. We found it easier to just book with the lady in the windor tower loby. If you look at the prices, they are crazy! A massage will run you min $130! I go to spas often in Toronto and its never that much! A facial will cost about $120. For those prices we expected great quality. And I have to say this is the worst massage and facial that I had ever recieved. It ened up costing around $500 minus our credit but then they add 12% tip for the spa staff. They dont even do that in Toronto, I feel you should be able to tip according to the serice and satisfaction that you recieve not being forced to. All in all save your money dont go to the spa, wait till you get home.

Gordons on the Pier was broken due to the hurricane so they relocated it to the Royal Cafe for dinner. If you are not a butler guest dont waist your money on this restaurant, the food was average, not worth it. We originally had reseravtions there twice but cancelled the second one.

The private island was closed the first 3 days we were there. They had to make repairs and clean after the hurincane. That is to be expected, also the peir where the boat would pick you up from was damaged so the boat could not come over. The 4th day the made alternative aragements to get to the island. They had a bus pick you up and drive us over the the main docks on the island and grabbed the boat from there. I thought this was great, they could have just said the island was closed untill our peir at the resort was fixed, but insead they went the extra mile to make it happen. We ended up on the island 2 days and enjoyed both of them. Great way to spend your day relaxing.

Baccarat was one of the better meals as well as the Crystal room. Crystal room did not have our reservation one night and we were told a 45 minute wait but Shamal ended up showing up and within 5 minutes of his arriving we were seated no problem. Also Ashley in the Crystal Room is amazing! Kimonos was more of a show and lower quality food, but it was a fun night anyways. They had moved the restaurant from the island that you go to for dinner to spices. We wanted to eat there one night, for some reason our butlers did not reserve that one for us, when we asked our butlers could not get us it, they were booked solid. I was a little disapointed, I thought that is why you have butler service.

After everything said and done the service was great, All the staff are so happy to help, no one is rude, they are always smiling. Dont waist money on the spa, its not worth it. Butlers were a nice touch, Latoya made us a bubble bath with rose peddles one night. The food was not was I thought it would be, there is so much hype built up around sandles I just did not see it. For the money you spend there are much nicer and less expensive places you can you down south. Look up the Westin Playa Conchal in Costa Rica!

If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com and Otel so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.