We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in Paradise !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island to your Saves list
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$305 Spa or Tour Credit!
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Quebec
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A week in Paradise !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our stay at Sandals Royal Bahamian,early January,was pure bliss.
We felt in love with the Bahamas 30 years ago and Sandals is the apotheosis.We were treated like royalties .Sandals people are friendly and helpful,warm and caring,they make your experience unforgettable.
We would like to thank all of them personnally but we can't remember the names of all the angels who made our stay so special.All day,the managers are around ,making sure everthing is at it's best.Thank you Mr.Drake,Jonathan,Angela,Porsha,Anyssa,Sandra,Scion,Devon,thank you Damien for all the love you put in the resort,thank you Mr.Gibson( a real gentleman by heart and spirit) for beeing a model to everyone by your high standards of quality and hardwork.
Sandals Cay is a gem by itself,thanks to Mr.Joël's good care.We enjoyed having lunch on the island,thanks to Anton,Valerie,Latoysa,Candace.Our island butlers,Dillon and Ram, were very helpful.Even the gardeners will lend you a hand if you need a chair (thank you Mr. Morrisset !)
We had our breafast at Spices,plenty of good things,fresh fruits ,omelets,viennoiseries,etc.Candace and Cecilya welcomes you with a big smile,our darling Darlene will prepare for you the best smoothies,Daphne,Chaquita,Marge are great with eggs,pancakes,waffles,etc.Special thanks to the nice young man who makes sure the buffet is well furnished at all time.
We had dinner at Baccarat(Gerard,Saronte,Sylvaro) ,Crystal room(Mark and Gail),Casanova(Kate ,Kimberley,Antoine,Judy,Vivian) and Gordon(Miguel,Shannon).Really great food and service at every place.Special thanks and a big hug to chef Jeffrey,chef George,chef Jamaal and to Mr.Gary.
Mark from the pool bar prepares the best Hummingbird and Ansel from Cricketers makes a mean Negroni.Wine and cocktails are first class all through the resort.
Our suite was gorgeous and well tend for.For the first time, we had a team of butler caring for us.You don'y really need them to enjoy the full Sandals experience but they make your trip extra-special.It's like they can read your mind .They will prepare exciting surprises and make sure everything is perfect.Diana will supervise the team with great talent.Thank you Yorlet,Melissa,Raynard,Mark and Ekron for giving us our first experience of what a butler could do for you.We would love to have you at our next trip.
Alexis ,from the concierge desk,has a great potential.He is very courteous.Donnella is my favorite massage therapist.Mr.Oswald,sommelier, will glady answer your questions about wines.Tatsiana,Samantha,Phillipa and Mitzpah will charmingly help you with anything you might be looking for.
Captains Sonny and Toriano will make sure you get to Sandals Cay in a safe and agreable manner.
Once again,Sandals exceeded our expectations.Thank you all !
N.B. : There is construction going on at the Manor building but it is barely noticeable.We are very excited to see the brand new rooms and suites ready next spring.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,871
    1,366
    592
    375
    292
See reviews for
83
4,183
9
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We went to the Sandals Royal Bahamian for our 7 night honeymoon in July 2011. We had a very unpleasant experience which is not what we expected from all of the wonderful things we had heard about Sandals resorts. Among some of the issues we had...we paid extra for an oceanview room but could not see the water at all, a horrible mold smell in our room, a hole in our bathroom wall, I had multiple bug bites that we think were sand fleas (our neighbors had bedbugs but I don't think we did), they were out of all beer but one kind and never gave brand named liquor when we asked for it, the entertainment at night was music on a CD almost every night we were there, we waited over an hour for dinner at restaurants that were half empty, the smell of sewage by the pier was overpowering, we didn't receive any of the honeymoon "specials" like champagne, strawberries, etc. after signing up for them, we didn't get any TV channels and there were 2 DVD's that were over 10 years old, we had to pay for internet use...there were many other issues that just snowballed into constant issues. We paid for our wedding and then had to save our money to afford this honeymoon.
We emailed Sandals our complaints and received an email back with a voucher for 7 nights at any Sandals resort at no charge. We were impressed by their dedication to show how great they actually were. We tried to book using this voucher and received a bill. When asking why we were being billed, we were told that the voucher was actually for 2 nights. It states 7 nights on the voucher...we have had many friends and relatives read this and nobody understands where 2 nights is coming from. I have emailed Sandals and requested a complete refund of our honeymoon expenses. I was supposed to receive a response in 3-5 days, it's been 5 days but haven't heard back yet.
We are so disappointed as we could have went somewhere else for all of the hard earned money we spent at Sandals. We have friends and family that told us how wonderful a place it is and we had a poor experience. There were many other poor ratings around the time that we went, I wonder if perhaps it had something to do with the staff or management at that time. Maybe it has been remodeled since then as it was in poor repair when we were there.
As we spent a lot of money on this trip, we will continue to take further action if they don't respond.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Sandals is well maintained and the staff could not be friendlier. There is plenty of room to chill by the pool or the beach. The drinks are average but plentiful. Same with the food. You can catch a bus right outside the resort to go downtown for $1.25 each person one way. They take USD or local currency but may not have change. That said, there wasn't anything downtown worth looking at so I would stick to staying on the resort. There is a Starbucks across the street and down a block if you want to get a quick wi-fi fix on the cheap. Make sure you make dinner reservations as soon as you arrive so you can get into the nicer restaurants before 9PM. There is snorkeling included so no need to pay for an excursion through a third party. The private island was cool.

If you and the Mrs. want to soak up the sun, drink cocktails, catch up on some reading, and never have to walk more than a block to dinner... Sandals will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I visited the Bahamas on a cruise and fell in love with the place, people and culture. So I decided to save up and go the Sandals resort Nassau, if you want to be spoiled, pampered treated like Kings and Queen I strongly suggest that you save up and go on this Adults only experience.
The food was faultless, freshly cooked in front of your eyes, waiter service impeccable, a very high class experience.
If you want to kayak, scuba dive or go in a glass bottom boat, this is the holiday for you strongly recommend.

Room Tip: I recommend a suite with bar facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

First I want to say that this resort could not have been more accommodating to the group of sales people that we traveled down with. They just bent over backwards. From the bartenders, to the restaurants, to the spa. Everything. It was nothing short of amazing. They were great at giving us our private area with our private bar during the day. Then our own private dinners at night. SO Completely impressed. We absolutely loved everything about the resort and plan on coming back very soon! It was quiet and tranquil the whole time!

Room Tip: have fun and be opened minded! Its always better to join in on the fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Sandals Royal Bahamian for 10 days beginning Dec 27. We had stayed at another Sandals in Jamaica a few years ago which we were very satisfied with and were wondering if this Sandals resort would be the same. It was the same Sandals as we remembered. Royal Bahamian is an older resort, but very well-maintained and the staff were all very friendly, helpful & welcoming. Upon our arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded. We stayed in the Windsor Building. We truly enjoyed our view and the services of the concierge. We ate at all the restaraunts on-site and they were all good. The breakfast & lunch buffet at Spices was always great. Always a very good selection and food was always kept replenished. Staff always friendly.

Our room was always clean and well-taken care of. Always towels made into different shapes on the bed and every night used towels were replenished and bed was turned down and soft music playing.

We were at the resort for New Year's Eve and attended the "pool-deck" cocktail party and New Year's Eve Gala in the ballroom. What a fantastic evening. At the cocktail party, we had a server ask us right away what we wanted to drink and there were servers with appetizer trays circulating constantly. The ballroom was beautifully decorated and the champagne flowed all night. The meal was delicious and not rushed at all. The floor show was fantastic and the music was a good mix of everything. Then after midnight, we all went out to the beach to see the fireworks which were spectacular. One of the best New Year's Eve parties we have ever attended.

The off-shore island we very relaxing and there was never any problem finding a place to sit either on the beach or at the pool. Cafe Goombay had good food and snacks.

Back at the main resort, the pool always had something going. We were never without a drink and someone was always there to get you one. There was a second pool close to the Manor Building which was a bit quieter. There was construction/renovations being done to the Manor Building, but we never heard any of it at all. The construction workers never worked on the weekend and they didn't start early in the morning and quit work around 4 p.m. - very clean around the area.

We always felt very safe and secure at the resort and whenever we needed something, all we had to do was ask.

We would highly recommend this resort for anyone planning on visiting Nassau.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My wife and I went to Sandals as part of a trip the company I work for put together and we had a really nice time. We have been to several other spots in the caribbean but this was our first expierence at Sandals. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. We ate at the japanese steakhouse and the italian restaurant and really liked both. The pools were big and the swim up bars had a nice selection of drinks. Their is construction going on as a new building is being built but it wasnt an issue as it didnt bother us any. We enjoyed the free snorkeling trip that is included in your stay also. The brick oven pizza place by the pool was a daily treat. We did not venture much outside of the resort but in my opinion downtown Nassau is just ok. Paradise Island and Atlantis isnt too far away which is nice if you want to go to the casino or just check out Atlantis. Overall we enjoyed our trip and might check out some of the other Sandals resorts in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island

Address: West Bay Street, Cable Beach, Nassau 13005, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#1 Spa Hotel in Nassau
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#2 Family Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•New, extra comfortable, ultra luxurious Day Beds added poolside on Sandals Cay •Sandals Cay now has Zen Spa and Fire Pits.-----•Butler Service, 24-Hour Room Service, and Rolls Royce or Mercedes Transfers for select suite categories. •Over 10,000 sq. ft. of the Island’s most impressive Freshwater Pools•Sandals Cay – Nassau’s only resort with Private Offshore Island & Restaurant.•Ten Dining Options featuring an array of cuisine from French to Bahamian. •Minutes away from excellent duty free shopping in Downtown Nassau on Bay Street and world class gambling on Paradise Island.•Weekly Late night decadent Chocolate Buffet offering specialty coffee •Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. •Voted Sandals Royal Bahamian “Bahamas’ Leading Spa Resort”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort And Offshore Island
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Hotel Nassau
Sandals Bahamas
Sandals Royal Bahamian Cable Beach
Sandals Bahamian
Sandal Resort Bahamas
Sandal Royal Bahamian
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.