We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret BEAUTIFUL beach! GREAT SERVICE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nirvana Beach Bar

Nirvana Beach Bar
West Bay Street | West of Compass Point Resort, Nassau, New Providence Island
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 198 Restaurants in Nassau
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Secret BEAUTIFUL beach! GREAT SERVICE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nirvana is at Love Beach in Nassau. If you're driving, it's on Bay St right past Compass Point Resort. If you're bussing, take the #10 (make sure to check that it goes all the way to Compass Point), get off at Compass, and walk for about 5 minutes due west. Nirvana is a large purple structure- you can't miss it. They have a wonderful stretch of beach, kayaks, snorkel gear, tubes, paddleboats, etc. It's very secluded and private, and the staff couldn't be nicer. Hurricane Sandy took out some of their facilities, so it's very quiet at the moment, but they are working diligently to rebuild. Drinks are reasonable, and they have Kalik Gold, which is a great strong local beer, and veggie burgers.

We loved our bartender- Antonio. They are CASH ONLY, and when we realized that we didn't have enough cash on us to cover bus fare home, he took money out of his gratuity to make sure we were covered. A total gentleman. Louis, their grounds caretaker, is from Haiti, and he works at Nirvana to support his family. They also have two resident pups: Pork Chop and Dragon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nirvana Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Beach and location is AWESOME... but the amenities is kindda dated and for that reason only they got an average but the BEACH IS AMAZING!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were looking for an out of the way, clean beach to spend the day. We just happened to stumble upon Nirvana and decided to stay after we were greeted by a very nice employee. We didn't spend the $5 to stay, just decided to try lunch there. (There are signs that say you either buy lunch/drinks or pay $5). The beach is OUTSTANDING. Beautiful and clean, there are chairs/towels available, and it's great for the kids. We sat outside and had a well prepared lunch, with fresh ingredients and great Bahama Mamas :o).
There were hardly any people there, and we had our best day yet of our vacation. We plan to go back before we leave!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We went here for an afternoon. Beach was nice but they charge for everything, including lounge chairs. There is a cafe. The waitress was great. But the food was awful. My husband got very sick from his conch burger. I had a shrimp salad and the shrimp was bad and the salad had a ton of dressing on it. Sick with beer & fries at this place!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fabulous beach & amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Great beach for kids very safe, excellent service from Scott, food great with happy singing server Adrianna, what else could you ever want. $5 a day Great price to pay for showers, toilets and smiles.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Beach Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Nirvana Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nirvana Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.