We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Towne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Towne Hotel to your Saves list
Towne Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 George Street | P.O. Box N-4808, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Trinidad
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Basic budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with friends and we had problems right from the start.
despite having paid for the hotel in advance, when we got there they claimed not to have received our reservation or payment. after an extemely long wait with lots of "bad attitude" by hotel management, we were finally given a room.
the room itself was an ok size and mostly clean however the bathroom was another story. very tiny and it just looked a bit grimy.
the free breakfast is basic(toast, eggs and cheese),,
in terms of location, we didn't have a big problem because it was right up the road from the straw market and the water taxis which take you over to paradise island.
it is not far too from public beaches and maybe a 10 minute walk from the famous Arawak Cay fish fry.
overall, we had a good vacation but it was because of the great expreinces we had outside the hotel. I would return to the Bahamas in a heartbeat but Towne Hotel won't be on my list of places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    56
    25
    25
See reviews for
20
46
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thank God I just had to stay one night at this place. And thank God I had packed a sleeping bag for the following steps of my trip. In a word: Towne Hotel is DIRTY. Sheets had a collection of left behind hair, the bathroom was disgusting, the place stinks.
I wouldn't be acceptable to pay 50 bucks to stay here, but they charge you 95 USD with those taxes and gratuities...
Its location is fine but it is not worth, try somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I don't really recommend staying in downtown but if you you do this is an almost decent place and it's pretty cheap. The staff was not friendly, the free breakfast was not very good. The lobby was very nice and offered free wi-fi. The pool was tiny and super cute. Your a few blocks from the beach and some nice restaurants. Loud local children were always around. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a surprise when our taxi pulled up to this little hotel in downtown Nassau. It was exactly what we were expecting. Atmosphere with flags outside, quaint and CONVENTIENT !!!!

We could walk to everything, even the local grocery. Don't be late, it closes at 6:00 and everyone in the shops seem to leave at that time.

Getting back to the hotel, it was very clean, the pool was not the cleaness, but you have the ocean. Breakfast was included and good. Best of all, it was the island decor and most of all, Max, the Blue and Gold Macaw met you in the lobby. He loves people food, but don't feed him cheese, the owner does not like that. (Parrots do like cheese and the calcium is good for them, but I didn't own the bird, I only breed parrots for 25 years !) Have fun and go with the flow!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, there was noise, but an election celebration was happening until 12:00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Book another hotel - It's just not worth it..

I booked the room at hotels.com and taxes and all charges was included, we thought. The owner had us pay an extra 22$ for "tax" on the actual room price of 89$. The only reason we payed it was that we arrived very late and had no other place to go.

The room was just awful - an aircon that didn't work, dirty toilette and high noises from the big road next to the hotel buildning are some examples.

Save your self some trouble and book another hotel,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The towne hotel was okay. The room was a bit out of date but what can you expect with the low rate? One thing I did not like is that I booked through Hostels.com and the hotel ran my credit card through without my knowledge before I got there. This was not what was explained to me on Hostels.com. The site said I would be paying the balance upon arrival but the hotel went ahead and charged my card without my knowledge (after I had already placed the deposit on my card through Hostel.com). I did not appreciate this as I was not going to pay for the balance on my credit card. It was a bit strange that they did that and it felt sneaky. I had a discussion with the woman who processed it and she didn't seem to care. Otherwise it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We did not have reservations when we arrived, due to the Arawak Inn screwing up our reservations, but the Towne Hotel got us a room after about an hour. The room was very clean and not a bed bug in sight in the very comfy bed. It's not the Hilton, but that's not our style! We like the smaller type hotels. The breakfast was sausage (cold), cheese, breads and hard boiled eggs. We went to the Dunkin around the corner! The location was great, close to Bay St. (which is crowded with cruise ship-type people). We walked all over town and never felt unsafe. People are friendly and warm. It has a nice courtyard with a small dipping pool and a 3rd floor sundeck. The staff was very friendly and the bartender (yes they have their own bar!) was great! I would stay again!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
1.9 mi away
Orange Hill Beach Inn
Orange Hill Beach Inn
#12 of 36 in Nassau
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#17 of 36 in Nassau
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
9.1 mi away
Compass Point Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graycliff Hotel
Graycliff Hotel
#2 of 36 in Nassau
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
7.5 mi away
Coral Harbour Beach House and Villas
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 15 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Hotel

Address: 40 George Street | P.O. Box N-4808, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Towne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Hotel Nassau
Towne Hotel Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.