We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room without a view” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central

Save Saved
You added Grand Central to your Saves list
Grand Central
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Central
Charlotte Street | P.O. Box N-4084, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a room without a view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

i came across this hotel on the internet and even a seasoned traveller like me thought it looked just fine for an overnight stay on my way to harbour island. my 15 yrs old daughter accompanied me. it is located on charlotte st. just off the main shopping area of bay street.
the hairs on the back of my neck stood on end on entering the building,i was,nt sure which was worse...the smell or the bulletproof panel at the reception desk which had a slit for credit cards. against my better judgement i went up in the vomit smelling lift and into the room. one of the windows was bricked up...the headboard was hanging off ,the sheets were stiff and grey, the bathroom was filthy ,need i go on? needless to say we checked out and ran. this hotel should be condemned and certainly not advertised for human consumption on the internet. grand or hotel it aint!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    2
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

It's small, not fancy, in a little disrepair.... But when the next cheapest place to stay is 200 bucks... IT IS FINE!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowlton,pq
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

if your looking to visit Nassau and be right in the middle of what you need then this is your place!!!! It was fantastic and the new restaurant is supurb. We loved it and we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrounded by Water
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

While the hotel has received many bad reviews recently, the owners are working on improvements. Chef Freddy Van Breugel has opened a gourmet restaurant in the Historic Guest house on Charlotte Street that is a part of the hotel property. Without advertising, word of mouth promotions fill the establishment daily with business people, politicians and tourists. Van Breugals is an excellent addition to the planned upgrading of the Bay Street tourist area. Don't miss it if you visit Nassau.

BDAnderson
WetFeetTheNovel

Stayed February 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

First of all a massive warning - this place doubles as the local bordello in the Bay Street area.

Secondly, the service, rooms, effort and staff are absolutely shocking - this is without question the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in in my life - including a tin shack at the Zambian border. Stay well clear.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel was horrendous. The service was sorely lacking. Not only were the sheets threadbare and soiled, and at some point, upon returning from a day out, we found a piece of hardened, chewed gum in our just changed (by housekeeping) sheets. The room smelled of cigars and stale cologne for the duration of our stay (we don't smoke or wear cologne), the red carpet was so filthy that it was black in some places. The bathroom was less than clean, we found a previous visitor's hair in the sandy/dirty bath tub. This is definitely one of those places where you get as much (or less) than you pay for. I would NEVER stay here again. The website is nothing more than misleading. I don't recommend it to anyone for whom sheer basics include cleanliness. This is horrible place for families, I wouldn't trust children on the floors. The one good thing about this place was that there was a huge air conditioner, the problem was that it was too powerful for the small room. We took a chance on the Grand Central Hotel and it turned out to be more like the Destitute Central.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The filthy room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Just came back from from a stay at the Grand Central. Curtis the hotel manager was great..he gave my wife and I wonderful tips for local restaurants and nightlife...the rooms were very nice and clean...location was perfect, can't wait to go back and see Curtis and his wonderful staff at the Grad Central.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central

Address: Charlotte Street | P.O. Box N-4084, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Nassau
Grand Central Nassau
Grand Central Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.