We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach to your Saves list
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Fredericton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It is what it is ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was initially going to write a scathing review of this hotel (it is not a resort.) ... however .. after a 2nd brief stay I have changed my mind. There are a great deal of negatives, but I am *not* giving this hotel a bad review. Bottom line Blue Water "Resort" is probably one of the least expensive places to stay in Nassau (especially if you are travelling with several people or a small group.) That alone should give it high praise. It is close to restaurants, groc store, Starbucks, lovely shops ... and right on the jitney (bus) route ... it only costs $1.25 to go downtown.

So, if you don't want to read all of my comments .. here it is in a nutshell .. avoid the "Garden View" rooms completely and opt for the "Ocean View." They are clean, spacious and bright. There is a large master bedroom with a beautiful view of the ocean .. and Sandals private Island .. (Sandals is practically next door.) All three bedrooms have private bathrooms. Kitchens come fully equipped ... stainless steel appliances and there is even a washer & dryer. Staff were all very friendly as were the other hotel guests. All in all, we were quite content to stay there.

Now ... on to the rest of the story .. four of us (two couples) travelled from east coast Canada to Nassau for a sailing vacation (adventure) in the Exumas ... We needed a place to stay, provision and make plans for the very beginning of our sailing holiday and also at the end. Blue Water was perfect for this .. inexpensive and well situated. My mistake was initially booking a Garden View room ... I was advised that I could upgrade upon arrival (This was NOT the case.) I *hated* the Garden View room. It was awful. My travelling companions, however didn't feel it was that bad ... Here are a list of my observations ...

- While sitting outside on the enclosed concrete patio I watched a rather large brown mouse poke his little head in take a look around ... Luckily I'm not a woman who is bothered by rodents, if my mother however had been here, you would still hear her screams all the way back in Canada.

- property is very old and run down

- no maid service - given one set of towels to last your entire stay .. more are available, but you need to go to the front desk and ask.

- there is a teency (tiny) beach .. that's it ... you cannot walk anywhere from the beach.

- only one place to get food on the property ... a little tiki bar/restaurant run by a nice, but rather odd woman ... most of the food listed on the website/menu is not available. If you are not into health food it should be fine ... fries, hotdogs, deep fried conch fritters .. etc ... GROSS! We couldn't eat there.

- floors of our Garden View room look as if they have NEVER been cleaned. They are filthy .. the carpet leading up the stairs had a well worn dirt trail.

- curtains hanging in our bedroom are dusty and have holes.

- screen door to the patio was twisted and does not properly close

- garbage can kitchen door was broken and hanging (we actually fixed it ourselves.)

- water had a bad smell .. disappears after a time ... shower ran out of hot water often.

- 2nd bathroom is tiny & disgusting, toilet seat falling off, dirt around the floor, shower head kind of hanging from the wall ... just unpleasant ..

After our sailing holiday we had already pre-booked Blue Water and arrived back there again ... needless to say I was VERY unhappy about it. This time it was different. The lovely woman at the front desk upgraded us (without additional charge) to the Ocean View room. It was beautiful and clean and I cannot express how thrilled I was not to be staying in that awful Garden View room again. It was a completely different experience.

I hope this review helps other travellers. Blue Water is NOT Atlantis or Sandals ... but it served its purpose for our Bahamas stay.

Room Tip: Choose an Ocen View Room only ... Avoid the Garden View ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    80
    47
    26
    30
See reviews for
115
40
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Christmas vacation for my family aged 38-94. Very spacious and well equipped. 3 beds, 4 bathrooms. 3rd floor bed needs a little sprucing up. Clean pool, ocean steps away. Small bar/dining by pool and good restaurants and grocery nearby. Jitney to downtown and airport out front. Very nice and helpful staff and security. We would return here without a thought.

Room Tip: Spend the $ for the ocean view - nice to look out living room and see cruise ships coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This resort is in a great location with a lot of the apartments set away from what is a main road. There are supermarkets, a few restaurants and small clothes shops and a Starbucks within 10 - 15 minutes walk, and of course the big hotels like Sandals and Sheraton nearby for other dining options. Downtown Nassau is only 10 minutes away by Jitney - the small coaches that run up and down the road outside and have set fare of $1.25 to anywhere - which also means that you don't need a car a lot of the time as they also run past the supermarkets and out to further points.
The beach is small and clean and the sea is protected by a reef further out, shallow and calm for easy swimming. Various fried foods and burgers are available at pretty dining shack and there is a tennis court with coach available and a heated outdoor pool. The staff are friendly and helpful.
What really lets what would otherwise be a great little place right down is the very intrusive noise from large air conditioners out-side each apartment that run loudly 24/7 and even though you are by the sea and on the beach the sound is a constant loud drone and makes sleeping well impossible - and apart from everything else is environmentally unfriendly and also very intrusive upon the neighboring apartments. I spoke to one couple who were staying next door at the 'Carefree Apartments' who said that although they had rented a condo for 2 weeks they were moving out that day, only their 3rd, because the noise coming from Blue Water was too intrusive and that they had to turn their TV up to hear it properly in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, N.D.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Recently sold and the remodeling and upgrades are just barely getting started. You will have to buy a 5 gallon jug of water (9.50) as the faucet water is smelly and NOT very potable. This is/was an RCI silver crown resort and I traded Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay in Mazatlan for time here and this place is a definite 2 Stars below PBEB. It is on W. Bay St. about 2 miles West of Sheraton and Wyndham Resorts. The only dining is a tiny bar on the beach by the pool. The office/lobby at check-in is tiny and cramped while you wait for check-in at 4:00 pm. The staff was friendly and helpful and they did NOT have a bunch of extra charges like some places. The pictures look better that it actually is.

Room Tip: Maybe stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are not high maintenance travelers -- personally, I prefer to be out exploring rather than sitting in my hotel room. I just need somewhere clean to lay my head. So with that said, Cable Beach Resort didn't meet even my fairly lax expectations.

Pros:
- Lots of space -- LOTS of space, great for a family or big group.
- Ok location, if you have a car rented. Close to grocery, a few restaurants, Cable Beach.
- Decent price, although I booked through a package and feel I paid too much for what we got.

Cons:
- Not clean. We both got bitten up every night in bed -- by what, I don't know, but it's been three days and I am still scratching. :( There were ants everywhere in the kitchen and bathroom the day we checked in. Also, a huge hairball behind the bed. Among other things.
- This hotel does NOT have a beach. The waves crash way too close to the sea wall to sit on the beach. Maybe it did before Sandy?
- You'll rarely get Wifi in your room.
- Like a lot of New Providence, the place as a whole is pretty run down. The kitchen had some nice features, but most of the furniture needed replacing.

Other thoughts:
- I've stayed in resorts and this is not it. This is a condo rental. Don't expect maid or room service. There isn't any. I'm fine with that, but I think the name of the place is misleading.
- Would benefit from a LOT of landscaping. Gravel entryway into the apartment has no curb appeal.
- The staff was not especially friendly. The gate guys were sweet, but the front desk folks were perfunctory at best.

Definitely wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay oceanfront if you can. We didn't ask, and should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in these Villas Nov 15 to Nov 19. The outside needs a remodeling but the villas are clean and spacious. 7 Adults stayed in one villa and we all had enough space. They're stores not far which is convenient. there isn't much to do on the property unlike Sheraton or a big name hotel would have. My party and I went downtown everyday. If your only looking to relax then this is your place. There isn't a beach only a pool. The pool was clean and deep enough to swim laps. FYI the hotel says they have wifi but it doesnt work in the room, only at the pool and main office. All in all I would stay here again if I was with a big group. If its a only gonna be a couple people elect for a big chain like Sheraton, or wyndam because there are more activities to do. The staff here was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for ocean view even if you booked garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We walked in to check out this resort for a friend. We only saw 3 guests the entire walk through. Pool is closed, taped off & the property got a bit wrecked during Hurricane Sandy. We asked to look at a room and they said they were at capacity. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone right now and it looks like they were renovating some units closer to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Water Resort is a tropical escape. Relax in spacious three-bedroom ocean or garden villas. Step outside and enjoy the island breeze and sounds of the unending waves. Play tennis onsite or jump into the beautiful ocean-side pool. Treat yourself to the excitement of the nearby casino, go deep-sea fishing or put on your snorkel and fins. At night, visit Da Sand Bar & Grill for dinner, or visit the bright lights of Paradise Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Hotel Nassau
Blue Water Hotel
Blue Water Nassau
Bahamas Guanahani Village
Guanahani Village
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.