We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo to stay at” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Save Saved
You added Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Nassau
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Condo to stay at”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Were to begin. We rented the end beach unit and it was amazing! We had and extra large patio/ deck area and it also had a gate for direct access to the pool/ ocean from out unit. That was a great advantage for our group.
The Wifi connection is a little slow and drops you from time to time, but it was free so I guess I can't complain to much. It was better from the 3rd story balcony than any other location in the the condo.
The staff cleaned up the trash once we put it in the right location promptly. It was taken with in 10 minutes of being placed out side. There was a wild cat and a rat that got into the trash when we put it out on the grilling area instead of out side by the entry door.
The unit is a little out of date and not super modern, but it was clean and worked great for our needs. It was similar to most off the beaten path hotels and was not bad by any means.
If you are staying on the third floor then keep in mind this room has no door. It kept us entertained and we got some good laughs at this. This seemed to be a great spot in the morning for coffee looking out over the ocean. It was a great way to start your day!
If there is a late night group in the pool the sound does carry up into the unit. We were up late most nights so it was not an issue for our group, but I see how it could become one quickly.

Room Tip: You won't get hotel room service here or even super attentive front desk staff. Defiantly a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    44
    25
    26
See reviews for
100
33
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

So much space in the 3 bedroom, 3 story apartments...big lounge and dinning room....well equipped kitchen...
3 good size bedrooms...plenty of bathrooms, baths, showers, etc...and we had great views out across the pool, beach, and sea...

so if you want a do it yourself apartment - you really should be very happy with these - we certainly were.

the negatives:-

- if you like hotels, you might miss the instant service and flock of staff...
- there is only one bar and food outlet (the pool bar), which is run by mum and 2 daughters..they were friendly, and the food was good..but you will be using the kitchen, or finding restaurants if you stay in this resort, as they are only open for limited hours...

these things didnt matter to us, and we enjoyed our stay and would recommend these fantastic value and facility apartments to any of our friends...

for info...

you can catch the local stop and go buses into Nassau town right outside the apartments, so no problems there. Nassau's bus system is pretty good...
Paradise Island is over hyped, but you need to do it !
the cafe by the town market does fantastic food...wow their breakfasts and main meals were tasty!
the people were friendly ,and funny - I found them smart, knowledgable, and great company.

unfortunately i cant comment on cable beach as Isaac had pushed the waters so far inland that our beach was virtually gone...from the little that was left, I would imagine it to be very relaxing, but with sharks and stingrays inland while we were there, it was not explored!

Room Tip: we were in 12a and found it great..they say that all the villas have pool and sea views so i think y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We are scuba divers. We don't look for fancy. We want a clean place with room to dry and store our gear - the roominess of the three storey units attracted us to Blue Water - it appeared to be an inexpensive option in the Bahamas where hotel rooms run much higher than the the units at Blue Water.

We chose to stay in an Ocean Front Unit that had spectacular views overlooking the pool area, then ocean from each level - we thoroughly enjoyed the view.

When we arrived our unit was not completely cleaned. The bathroom on the second floor clearly had not been mopped (hair, gross) and a towel that appeared to have a daquiri stain on it was thrown on the bed in the room it was attached to. We immediately called the front desk. They said "sorry" but no offer of cleaning was made nor did it ever take place.

The hot water in the main ensuite shower was non-existant. Thankfully, the unclean bathroom did have a warm shower and was on the same floor. We told management about the issue and they did send someone. Unfortunately, that person didn't fix the problem and when we mentioned it at checkout they had received feedback from the person who fixed it and appeared to be aware that it was not functioning correctly. Not sure if they plan to correct it. As it was just two of us in a unit with three ensuites, we were able to make due.

The front rooms have very noisy windows and when the winds kicked up, we had three nights that were hard to sleep due to the whistling winds. There was a rain storm one evening and water leaked into the unit from the top and middle floors. We were not surprised about the windows, we just didn't bank on how hard it would be to sleep with the wind howling.

As others have reported, the mattress is very soft and added to the poor nights' sleeps.

The bathrooms & kitchen have been updated and are lovely to look at - the kitchen had all the right equipment, but zero starter food (ie. coffee, salt & pepper) that you find in many other places. We bought the 5 gallon jug of water from the office - very worth it.

We purchased groceries at the City Market for breakfast & lunch and chose to eat dinner out.

We had two wonderful meals at The Sand Bar on the property. Dawnie needs a day's notice to make fresh fish dishes and it is worth it: she prepared an amazing Bahamian Grill Grouper for us as well as a delicious pan fried Grouper. The green salad she makes is large, fresh and delicious - we enjoyed eating her food on our balcony a couple of nights. Dawnie is a gem and certainly the highlight of this property.

The pool was always clean, warm and wonderful to sit in . We never had trouble finding a seat around the pool, though we were there in low season to be fair.

The beach is wonderful - no it's not big, but that is the way the beaches are on Cable Beach - even the pricey Sheraton has a limited beach. If you're looking for a Seven Mile Beach, you're on the wrong island. The ocean was as warm as the pool, unfortunately, the winds were from the north so the visibility was nil for snorkelling - that is the danger of travelling in October when the winds are up.

We did a day trip to Atlantis (not our thing), enjoyed dinner at Jimmie Gone Bananas at the Fish Fry, Beach Grill at Sandyport (best restaurant EVER) and Amici at the Sheraton for a delicious Grouper & Lobster.

We dove with Stuart Cove - great service, they pick up at the front gate of the Blue Water & will even store gear there for people diving multiple days.

We took the #10 Bus into town and up to Sandyport - simple and inexpensive, but be aware, the bus drivers expect tips, so it's not really $1.25 .... unless you're comfortable with a scowl.

Overall, if you are looking for an inexpensive way to enjoy Nassau, Blue Water fits the bill - don't expect luxury at non-luxury prices and you will be pleased, not disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for Ocean Front, the view is worth it. Units 7 - 9 are closer access to the pool and bar than mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fireball92771
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Two things that would help this resort tremendously would be a maintenance and a housekeeping staff who take pride in their work. Those two things would resolve every con I found with this resort.

I am fresh off a trip to this resort. We checked in on Friday October 5th to the Blue Water. We were traveling with another couple and at first glance we impressed by the facility. The first impression was short lived once we figured out that the front door would lock occasionally, (we returned to the unit twice and the front door was open) the the sliding glass door in the upper bedroom wouldn't even close completely, and the kitchen door going onto the grilling area could only be closed by a man with the slamming ability of superman. (My husband repaired the kitchen door in about five minutes...a handy-man who takes pride in his work) The floors were filthy. Granted, at first sight, due to the color of the tile one might think they were clean, but after about an hour of barefeet on the floor I learned otherwise. (See the attached picture) The bathrooms were completely remodeled...they could have been easily cleaned and keep the new appearance...instead the dirt and grime has already built up in the cracks and corners and the room looks ten years old. BTW, check out the picture taken from the master bedroom... it would have been a awesome view, had the window been clean.

About an hour into our stay the men of the group had been out touring the property, they returned with big eyes describing rats as big as house cats. We'd thought they were embellishing the description until we (the women) saw the rats ourselves. My border collie would have thought he was in heaven!

Since I always try to be objective and fair in my review I will say that the office staff was incredible. They were quick to accomodate anything we asked. I certainly appreciate their quick response since we didn't have a single washcloth in the entire condo upon our arrival.

The security staff was very nice and helpful. I will say however that the last night of our stay a group men, possibly locals, were allowed into the pool in the early morning hours. (The pool closes at 10pm) They woke me, yelling obsenities one at the other, at 3am. This behavior was allowed to continue until after 4am. I assume someone in one of the other oceanview villas called security....I couldn't call, our phone was inopperable for our entire stay. The following morning there were empty rum bottles left along the pool's edge. Trust me, it was a heck of a party and NO ONE in the oceanvillas could have slept through it.

I am not, nor have I ever been a person who requires a five star resort....I will say however that I hold timeshare affiliated resorts to a higher standard. After all, someone paid hard earned money to buy time at that resort. I'm thankful that I'm not an owner at this resort...I was there on an exchange. I'm not sure how much the maintenance fees are for this resort, but there is very little maintaining going on.

There is a Burger King and Subway within walking distance. The City Market is also near by and I much preferred shopping there over the Value Market and there was little difference in the prices. The Swiss Pasty shope, across the street, is awesome...try it.

All in all, this resort was an okay way to burn up some expiring RCI points. Would I ever stay there again? Nope! If I ever return I'll spend my points down the road at SandyPort. Before I took this trip I'd read both good and bad reviews...I went into this with an open mind but unfortunately, the bad just outweighs the good.

Room Tip: My only suggestion would be to go elsewhere or just deal with the quirks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Absolutely loved the accomadations (was nice to have a washer and dryer when going to beach or pool everyday). Went with 3 other women. Had plenty of space to not drive each other crazy. A/C worked too well, but we liked that. The place was very clean. Staff was nice, friendly, and helpful. (We got there way before check-in at 4pm and they got us into a villa within an hour). The place is in a very safe area and close to different plazas with fast food restaurants and a 24 hour market (which serves food). Got a lot more than was expected for the price. Would definately go back to this particular residence. Only issue was that we had a large roach that we had to kill, only once. However, I'm used to seeing roaches of that size in NYC streets... so was not big deal. Just had to make sure did not take any home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

for the money it was OK. swimming pool closed the first 5 days. greeted bij 2 gigantic rats (we saw 2 more later). Small beach . clean water. big house, No door closes, the bar was good. Every one seems to be drink all the time Even in the water. Nice restaurants and supermarket. Swiss bakery outside. You can get every day clean beach towels. Have to wash you own bed and bath towels. Buy there 5 gallon waters Only $5. Tennis courts are ok. Trip with stuart coves is fantastic. All in all Good vacation.

Room Tip: choose the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This place is really hard to decide on. If the website were not so ridiculously overstated, and your expectations were lowish, then it is a good deal, tho you have to pay up front, which should have tipped us off. It costs around $200/night but for that you get 3 large bedrooms, a living room, and a very well equipped kitchen. The washer/dryer and fridge freezer were brand new. All the appliances worked. There's a working DVD player and 2 TVs, wifi is free and reliable. It's right on the ocean, has a bar, a pool, a nice tennis court and a (very small) private beach. Sounds too good to be true (it is) but for bargain travellers who are not picky it's a find because you can sleep 8 here for less and do your own cooking. The downside? Well the worst was the a/c which was REALLY loud and in 2 bedrooms it was v hard/impossible to sleep. A/c also broke down (Unit 17 - I see from reading reviews, it's happened before) so security brought us fans but 1 night it was v hot. The pool was dirty and closed 1 of the 2 days we were there, presumably for cleaning. Half the outlets didn't work, batteries in the remotes were dead, the menu at the beach bar/grill is not remotely related to the 1 on the website, and the "resort activities" were non existent, tho we did manage to rent illicit jetskis from the 'private' beach; the rates were not a rip off, and the guys who rented them to us really nice. It kind of grows on you as there is plenty of local color, but DON'T believe the website. The "garden" units don't overlooking the garden, some are by the road which combined with the a/c must make for no sleep at all! Go for a sea view because at least it feels glamorous and if the a/c breaks down it's cooler on the ocean!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view - don;t end up by the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau CB13317, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Water Resort is a tropical escape. Relax in spacious three-bedroom ocean or garden villas. Step outside and enjoy the island breeze and sounds of the unending waves. Play tennis onsite or jump into the beautiful ocean-side pool. Treat yourself to the excitement of the nearby casino, go deep-sea fishing or put on your snorkel and fins. At night, visit Da Sand Bar & Grill for dinner, or visit the bright lights of Paradise Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Hotel Nassau
Blue Water Hotel
Blue Water Nassau
Bahamas Guanahani Village
Guanahani Village
Blue Water Resort On Cable Beach Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Resort on Cable Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.