We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arawak Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arawak Inn to your Saves list
Arawak Inn
West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Nassau B&B and Inns
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be warned!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I made reservations here about 6 weeks before arrival and then re-confirmed then 2 weeks before arrival. We were staying 2 days before and 1 day after our cruise on the Liberty Clipper (which is AMAZING!). When we arrived the 1st night, we were told that they were full and that we did not have a reservation. The man then did some checking and told us that, because we did not show up on our first night they cancelled our stay. THIS WAS OUR FIRST NIGHT! He did find us a "nicer place" around the corner. It had the look and feel of a crack house. One bed, a TV that was snowy and no shower curtain. If this is what the guy at the Awawak said is better, WOW! We stayed one night and moved to the Towne Hotel, which is great!
Would not recommend at all. I still have the emails from Ann at the Inn to back all of this up!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
2
13
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

A gem it is! Months I stayed there on business and enjoyed the wonderful, colorful owners. Personal touch to everything. Yes, it's a funny old building. A classic, very conveniently located. Best truly Bahamian experience in the Nassau for a fraction of the price of Orange Hill. Cable TV with Bloomberg Channel and WiFi, at least some rooms.
Great for long- termers, cultural tourists, artists etc....Little kids may not get it though.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Service was very friendly and educational! Easy walk to the "Fish Fry" group of restaurants, park and street vendors. The Inn is an unusual group of rooms in an older, worn building. The owners have named each room after an island and have painted color everywhere. Outside tables and chairs were great for relaxing and enjoying the unusual trees.. mango, cotton,even a huge rubber tree. Unfortunately the by-products of several dogs in the area made the yard less inviting. There is a strong sulfur smell from the water pipes and wouldn't recommend making tea or coffee from the tap water. If you want an inexpensive room, not a traditional "hotel" experience, you might consider this inn.

Room Tip: not sure that there is a best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Convenience and friendliness of the owners is the key to this small hotel that deserves better than some of their reviews. It provides the perfect example of why it is important for persons reading reviews not to take what is written on good faith only. For example, perhaps at one point there was a water quality issue but once you communicate directly with the owner Ann you discover that it was caused by an improperly installed filter, and as expected we had no issue with the water. One other reviewer mentioned the street noise and this can perhaps be attributed to misconstrued expectations, because this is a nation where the honk of an auto is a national pastime indicating most often the permission of a driver or pedestrian to cross but also a salutation to a friend, and of course the usual message of get out of my way. To expect anything else on the main road in and out of Nassau seems unreasonable, and even such a light sleeper as myself had no difficulty after a long day of activities finding restful sleep with just the small addition of earplugs.
The ambiance is funky and artistically charming and uniquely Bahamian in the truest sense. Yes, our room was sparse but adequate and a tremendous bargain compared to the more upscale tourist accommodations. Of tremendous value was the owner’s recommendation for breakfast at the nearby Cricket Club where we enjoyed terrific food at barely higher than McDonalds prices. A true gem of a place also owned by charming people. As fellow inn owners, the Grey Hare Inn B & B in Traverse City, Michigan we can appreciate what the owners have created, and this place is a lot better than the few negative reviews would lead you to believe.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The place looks bad and dirty from outside, it is just on the main road and we could hear the cars and the music so loud in the room until 3:00 am. Did not feel in a clean place inside, and it smelled the dog so much

I felt so bad in there that I though about changing of place at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I have really enjoyed my stay here. Arawak Inn is close to the Fish Fry, the Cricket Club and right on West Bay Street. The bus runs frequently so it is easy to get arround. You can walk to the beach at Arawak Cay or to the newly renovated Saunders Beach. The food at Cricket club is great-breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Bahama Grill is very close and lunch and dinner are great and reasonable. The rooms have refrigerators and four have microwaves and sinks. The weather is wonderful here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed in this inn in the april of 2010.
Pros : room is and bathroom is big and spacious.good and comfortable outdoors.
Rooms are well cleaned everyday.
Cons: The diggest drawback is the bathrooms.The water is nothing but salt water.
The moment you switch on any of the taps,there is this awful odor like that of rotten eggs
that lingers for hours after using the bathrooms.we would dread switching on the taps
and used cans of drinking water for brushing ,making tea etc.
I would never recommend this inn to anyone of make the mistake to staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arawak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawak Inn

Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a small 5 room hotel, nr. downtown Nassau and major attractions such as the Fish Fry, Ardastra Gardens Zoo, and Ft. Charlotte. Air conditioned, self catering rooms with cable TV, a family island atmosphere, and a 15 min. walk to the nearest beautiful beach. Complimentary tea/coffee is served daily. Rooms are decorated with Androsia fabrics and artworks by local artisans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arawak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawak Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arawak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.