We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seedy: Don't do this to your vacation.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Bay Street | PO Box SS-6233, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
South Lake Tahoe, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seedy: Don't do this to your vacation.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Clean, but very old and worn and out placed in the very heart of Nassau's most dangerous area. I wound up here by default when The Junkanoo dishonored my confirmed secured by credit card reservation. I found the staff to be cordial and helpful, particularly the security guard, but you don't want to spend your vacation in a depressing, ill lit facility where you are unsure of your personal safety.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    12
    6
    11
See reviews for
4
11
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was very overpriced for what is was. It served it's purpose being quite close to Potters Cay and the mailboats. The best thing was there was a Starbucks in the shopping precint next door. It is strange, there was a fridge, a microwave but no kettle and nothing else! The TV remote was handed to you and you had to hand it back when you left, it made you feel like you werent trusted. The reception lady was very kind and helpful - and they did everything they could to help us - although the taxi we booked from the hotel never arrived (we rang 3 of the numbers on the list by the reception). Which was all a bit strange! I think I'd avoid staying here again if I could.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The good part of this place is that it was very quiet. It was clean. The room had what we needed on a very basic level. Unfortunately, if you are trying to save on cost of food, it's a bit of a waste of time, because this place does not supply utensils, cutlery, etc...only a fridge and a microwave. If you are like me, and travelled from Canada for a vacation, then bringing this type of hardware is not practical.
If you are not renting a car, be prepared to walk across an extremely busy road to get to where you want to go. The Montague Beach is a 10 min walk away. Great place. Not as beautiful as Cable Beach, but nice. Alot of locals visit this beach and on the weekends you will find vendors selling cooked food, beer, and other cold drinks. The number 11 local bus will get you downtown in 15 mins, and from downtown the number 10 bus will get you to Cable Beach in another 15 mins. Cable beach is not private as everyone wants you to believe. Just get there, walk onto the beach. There are public entry points between the large hotels located there.

You will pay extra for Wifi, and Lock box at this place as well. The pool was under construction during the week I stayed. It would have been nice had we been informed, as there is literally no where else on this property besides the courtyard to sit and relax. A restaurant was advertised as being on the property as well, but when we arrived, we found out it had been closed down for some time. The beds at this motel, are equipped with a foam top mattress. I found this bed to be way too soft, and unstable. It was perched on some type of small box on the floor. The great thing about this place is there is shopping centre next door. Excellent for buying groceries, and other items needed, and the occasional take out meal such as DQ, and Dominoes Pizza. There are other places that serve breakfast such as Starbucks, and a small book store with a café inside. There is also a liquor store in the plaza. If what you need is somewhere cheap in Nassau, and you are not too fussy about being in a fancy hotel, then this place is for you. It is very basic accommodation. I found the people working behind the front desk basically unfriendly, except for one person.
Overall, not a horrible place, but very basic.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked to be the same. There is a window, but it is blacked out on all rooms. This pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNOXVILLE, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had the opportunity to spent two nights at the Red Carpet Inn during the week 1/12-18/14.
The hotel is located on East Bay Street near the Nassau Yacht Haven. The rooms were large,
clean and had all the things rooms normally have. Our "double Superior Room" with two beds
was $113 plus $26 for taxes and fees. Check in time was noon. For a room near the Atlantis
Resort, this was reasonable. You can walk to the Atlantis but it takes about 20 minutes.
The hotel has a large, clean outdoor swimming pool that would work well for Children.

My main complaint were the mattress which had a foam cover and pillows. They weren't
comfortable for me.

Adjacent to the hotel was commercial mall area that included The Fresh Market grocery
store where you could buy fresh pastries and good coffee. In this same mall area was a
Starbucks.

For the money, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room smelt of cigarettes even though it was supposed to be non smoking. During the night I went to the bathroom and saw many cockroaches. We chose it because we wanted to be near the ferry to the outer islands. We still had to get a taxi so not near enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

It's a no frills hotel but we enjoyed our stay of 2 weeks. The hotel staff was friendly. They made phone calls for us and were very helpfull. Instead of renting a car or taking taxi we took the local bus service that stopped near the hotel much cheaper at $1.25. per ride.( the people on the bus were frinedly and helpfull). The room was large with 2 beds with a microwave and full size fridge and very clean. The bathroom was small but had lots of counter space. A ten minute walk to a very nice local beach and nextdoor to a shopping centre that had a deli in the grocery store where we purchased a lot of our Behamian meals instead of going to expensive restaurants.

Room Tip: Use local bus service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this Inn on a stopover in Nassau while going to a family island. We booked on Hotels,com ,two rooms for two couples and the price was about $125-130 a night. We got a rental car at the airport as it cost almost as much to take a taxi as hotels do not provide shuttles in Nassau. A taxi will cost about $40 oneway as the Inn is located near the downtown area, about 20 minute drive from the airport depending on trafic and recent road construction. A rental car gave us the flex to drive about as desired and better security than walking after hours or paying additional for a taxi or having bus hassel, so we like that option and used Avis online many months prior to departure for best rate and availability. In the Bahamas they do drive on the left side of the road so keep that in mind. The Inn is located on East Bay street, a oneway street, I would guess about 10 blocks from the downtown (you can take a city bus) tourist area (not much between the Inn and down town tourist area, ( I strongly recommend to NOT walk this area after dark and the area down town closes at about 5 p.m. all the same) and about a 15-20 minute walk or a few minute drive to the upscale tourist areas at Pardise Island accros the canal bridge (Atlantis, etc) where we spent our evenings. Near the two Paradise Island bridges is the Potters Cay area that has local boats coming in with their daily catches and there are small eateries there, for locals and tourist (day time only). A true Bahaimian experence. The Inn is located next to a small open shopping complex with a decent grocery store, Starbucks, Dairy Queen, Domino's Pizza, largesports store, a small hardware store, a few clothing stores, a sandwhich shop and some other businesses. It is not a tourist area so not very fancy, just basic and used for daily needs/activities but very nice to have near the Inn. Another eatery, The Poop Deck is very good and a short walk back towards the bridges and is located above the local scuba dive shop. Also, a short walk from the Inn is a small park with a very small fort lookout and a small beach. When we first drove into the Inn the overall thought that came to my mind was hmmm...., looks like it needs a face lift and is a bit dated, i wonder what the rooms will be like. I still believe that as a few more tropical plants and an updated entry sign/garden would do wonders. Anyhow, with caution we went inside to check in and the interior was still fairly plain but it was very clean and well maintained for an older structure. The front desk had a teller like glass front, for worker safety I assume since Nassau has a high crime rate. The receptionist was very helpful and pleasent. There was free computer access at the Inn and a free coffee machine to use as we liked in the reception area. We also were provided assistance with our large pile of bags at the car and to the room and provided first floor rooms when requested to make it easy in and out. On entering the rooms, we rented two, they turned out to be well kept and clean. Fancy, no, clean and meeting our needs for a very reasonable place to stay, YES! There were two beds, a small refrigerator (handy after going to the store for a few drinks and snacks), air conditioning, clean bathroom with NO mold or discusting growths to be found, NO ants crawling about which is a problem I have had in other Nassau hotels (cheap and expensive) and we did not see one cockroach, zero, zip. One thing was that although the bathroom was large enough, the door opened in and it was a tight squeez at least in our room to close the door while getting around the toilet to do so. I would recommend having the door open out and not in for this reason.The beds were comfortable enough for us, high quality, no, adaquate, yes and we slept well. The Inn was quiet too. The towels and bedding were clean and not stained, no burn holes from smokers or torn, the fixtures in the rooms were in good repair in in working order. There was adaquate hot water and water pressure in the shower and sink, The rooms were non smoking too. There was a court yard on the lower level that was adaquate and landscaped with a few sitting areas. The pool was only a short walk from our room and was well maintained and clean, very adaquate for anybody's needs. The facility grounds were clean and kept up. We had a restful stay at a reasonable price. Again, this is not an upscale place to stay but a true value being in Nassau, it was clean, quiet and met our needs for sure. Most places in the same price range in Nassau are a bit nasty and larger facilties will cost you into the hundreds of $$. We basically used this Inn for our home base and then drove about seeing and doing what we needed. The money we saved by staying here, if important to you while traveling or on a limited budget, covered our meals and entertainment in town. We will stay here next time too. Thx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: East Bay Street | PO Box SS-6233, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you plan a trip you want the assurance of quality lodging that is clean, comfortable and affordable. At Red Carpet Inn we strive to ensure that you are not disappointed in your expectations. When staying in the exciting city of Nassau, Bahamas, you can rest assured that you will consider our location a perfect base from which to explore. We are nestled in a semi residential area but only a 10 minute ride from the bustle of downtown with shops, restaurants and many attractions. Located directly adjacent to one of Nassau’s most popular Shopping Plazas, where you will find a grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and many retail stores. We are 10 minutes away from beaches and Paradise Island and only minutes away from Montagu Bay and marinas as well as nightlife. You and your family will enjoy the tropical gardens with swimming pool, poolside amenities and plenty of room to relax. Our staff is polite and courteous and will greet you with a smile. We are a quiet, economy friendly property. Our accent is placed on basic, quality accommodations and we truly care about your experience as our guest. We will also be happy to assist you with planning your activities while staying with us. We can book sightseeing tours and excursions to other attractions direct from the hotel. Our Property is set on one-and-a-half acres of land, with tropical tranquil gardens throughout and is typical of an American-style motel in appearance and layout. All 40 rooms boast refrigerators and microwaves. Room amenities include air conditioning, private bath and shower, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone with data port, alarm clock radio, satellite color television and ironing board. Guest rooms are located in the same U shaped building in which most rooms overlook a lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Nassau
Red Carpet Inn Nassau
Nassau Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.