We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet beach, friendly staff, mediocre room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Hill Beach Inn to your Saves list
Orange Hill Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay St, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Nassau
Imperial, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiet beach, friendly staff, mediocre room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had to stay here when my afternoon flight to Cat Island got cancelled. It was what I expected for a free night hotel -- the room a mid-level feel, like a Holiday Inn express, with budget sheets, cheap furniture and a basic bath and shower. I was surprised at how nice the location was, however, and went for an afternoon run on the long, quiet beach before dipping in the clean pool. Later, I enjoyed the honor bar and friendly, if rather mundane dinner. After seeing another Nassau hotel later in my trip (the highly touted British Colonial), this went up in my estimation, as the room does have a small balcony, high ceilings and light and air. I wouldn't want to spend my whole Bahamas vacation here, but it is a nice place for a couple of days and nights.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the hotel (beach side) look like they are nicer than those in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    107
    66
    46
    24
See reviews for
53
107
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in one of the cottages which was nice. Nice beach across the road. The problem is the place is not overly clean and is in need of maintenance. Sure they mop the floor, but in doing so leave streaks of dirt along the baseboards. Dirty handmarks on the the doors. We had problems with a clogged shower drain and asked twice if someone could look at it. No one ever did.
Most of the chairs around the pool need repair. Windows in cottage do not lock. The gas grill needs a new burner etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sask, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is a dirty dump. Dirty bed sheets, especially pillows, dirty bathroom, overall dirty! Non functioning air conditioner. When we asked if it could be looked at, they said they would send some one, but no one ever came. No place to eat--restaurant apparently isnt open Saturdays, causing us to make a long walk to find a restaurant. "Front desk" is closed from midnight to some time after 6:00 am, causing some nervous moments for us as we needed to be at the airport early. I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this place! No where near the $155/night fee. Spend a bit more money and stay some where else!!

Room Tip: dont bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you're looking for excitement and cheesy bands, proceed straight to Atlantis. If you are looking for a simple, super-clean place only 10 minutes from the airport to stay on your first or last night in the Bahamas, this is it. The 'check-in' is located inside the dining room past the honor bar (yes, the honor bar, stocked with the most delicious rum, cold beer, and mixers).

The room: nice little balcony facing a lot of palm trees and the sea (over the parking lot). Very clean and nice. The AC was on when we arrived, there is an efficiency kitchen + refrigerator, and nice sized bathroom. The Ritz it is not, but a nice little room in which to stay and get a nice night's rest it was.

The beach: down the drive and across the road. Not crowded at all and easily accessible.

The surroundings: there is not a lot around this inn. A small shopping area is a 10 minute walk to the east and has a Chinese restaurant and liquor store. A restaurant called Traveller's Rest that received great reviews was closed by early December due to the owner passing away. So, to eat your choices are Chinese or the Inn. The inn's menu is nice and local, but a wee pricey. Having more food choices or inexpensive options on the menu may have bumped this review to excellent.

The checking in and out was efficient and simple. Hard to argue with a process when you have a cold Bahamian beer in your hand.

In summary, I would stay here again and would recommend it to others with the simple caveat: it's not an all-inclusive resort. Other than that, open a cold Sands and sit while watching the palm trees sway in the breeze.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

stayed at Orange Hill for a week before visiting another Island, we stayed in one of the older style apartments on the first night, but the owners did'nt charge us for that night, as there had been a little mix up with the cottage by the sea we had booked,The older style apartment was ok a little tried, good for a night, perfect for an over nighter, as the airport is very near.
The next morning we moved into the cottage, it was great everything you would need was right there, over looking the sea, clean, and I did remark about how comfortable the huge bed was and lovely linen
. we enjoyed the week going to the quieter beach, we had them all to ourselves. orange hill is a quiet and friendly run hotel, and the price is great valve compaired too other hotels on the Island, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I have visited this hotel on many occasions since 1995, the latest being Nov this year.
It is the only place I would ever stay in Nassau. Some of the reviews on here are very dramatic/suspicous, I suppose that is the devil of trip advisor.

I have never felt more welcome anywhere on this planet, and yes I have travelled.
No this is not Atlantis of paradise Island, but I would never want that.
You are part of the family at this hotel, you will not find what they have anywhere else.

Such great hosts, I've never felt like home from home anywhere before.

As Rick says to me, welcome home :)

Keep up the good work guys :@)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed at Orange Hill before and after a sailing holiday in the Bahamas and I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay - laid back, friendly, everything you need - and so much nicer than the concrete jungle of Cable Beach or the cruise ship nightmare of Nassau. Nice rooms, a lift to the supermarket for supplies from Rick, an honesty bar, good food at good prices, quiet, a good pool and no problem - or charge - for late check out. VERY nice people - staff and guests. And a beach to myself too! If you need to stay in New Providence for a couple of days before/after diving/fishing/sailing holiday - or if you fancy a totally relaxed holiday, without spending a fortune - go for Orange Hill

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms starting with 'D' - you get a kitchenette too and a terrace overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Orange Hill Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hill Beach Inn

Address: West Bay St, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Hill Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Orange Hill Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hill Beach Hotel Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hill Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.