We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hill Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Hill Beach Inn to your Saves list
Orange Hill Beach Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Bay St, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good Location, Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Orange Hill Beach Inn probably four or five times recently. We usually stay in the rooms that border the pool. They are getting a bit old - creaky plumbing, noisy air conditioners and uncomfortable beds but we still keep coming back due to the $12 taxi ride to the airport, the short wait to register, the friendly staff and the honour bar.. So it's great for a stop over. Traveler's Rest Bar and Restaurant is a 20 to 25 minute walk west along the beach with good Bahamian food. This time we were pleasantly surprised when we were put up in C1 a brightly painted pink hexagonal room with a small balcony to watch the world go by and a full kitchen. It was great - clean and modern and will definitely tempt us back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    94
    54
    41
    23
See reviews for
46
92
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed there around Thanksgiving weekend at the apartment 9.
Good view, big room, full kitchen, useful if you want to save money and get some home cook.
The food from restaurant is just ok, a little pricy.
Wifi signal is reachable while using laptop. A little weaker using iphone.
Front desk people are friendly and really helpful.
Housekeeper cleaned room regularly.
Location is a little away from the city center. But it's ok if you take bus to downtown. It takes 20-30 minutes depends on traffic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed here while scuba diving with Stuart Cove because it is close to the their harbor. It is reasonably priced for Nassau but in reality should probably be even less for what you get. The main building is nice. Its comfortable and a nice setting to socialize with other guests. The honor bar is a big draw. You make your own drink and make a check next to your room number to be charged on your bill. The meals are quite good, and again reasonably priced . That's the good. The room I stayed in was facing the pool. It was clean but worn out. A small jalousie window in front and smaller one in the shower was the only ventilation. Air conditioner sounded like I was at the airport. The ceiling fan was the best solution to cooling and sleeping. Luckily I was their during a cool season. The location is in the nowhere zone. The beach across the road is not a big deal, sand and water that's it. Their pool was nice but again lounge chairs were old and worn looking. I was monitoring a pair of abandoned worn out tennis shoes left at the pool. They were there when I arrived and there when I left. Anyone there now to check on them for me ?

Room Tip: There must be better rooms than the ones facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I just spent 5 nights here while diving at stuart cove's. Overall the resort delivered just what we were looking for - economical, quiet, good location.

We stayed in room U1 which had a kitchenette, 1 queen bed and a balcony with a view of the ocean.

The room was just the right size and having the kitchenette allowed us to cook some of our own meals. The front desk staff were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and helping us to sort our any issues that arose.

The number 10 bus goes by there and will usually pick you up if you flag it down, otherwise it's a short walk to the official stop. That will go all the way downtown, we also took it to the "super value" to get some groceries.

The hotel is across the street from the beach, it is a public beach and there are no beach chairs provided. We went there once but since we were scuba diving, we had our fill of the ocean and spent some afternoons at the pool instead.

The hotel has a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner however we didn't end up eating there. The prices appeared average for the bahamas. Every morning their was complimentary tea and coffee.

The idea of the "honour bar" was neat where you sign out your drinks and they add it to your tab at the end. However we just went to the liquor store and bough some beer for the fridge.

I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our stay at the Orange Hill Inn was the second half of our Bahamas diving trip, and having just checked out of the Hilton, there was a bit of initial shock. I'm not going to lie, I'm a Hilton/Ritz/Westin/Sandals kind of traveler. However, after about a day, it didn't seem to matter and we were fine. Some of the other reviewers have hit the nail on the head in their reviews (Saucer2011 and Jane L): its older and a little shabby, but charming. The owners are super-nice and helpful, and Charmaine at the desk was really sweet too. Plenty of beers and soda on the honor system. Rooms are old, but adequate (a little mold on the top of the heavy industrial plastic shower "curtain"). Towels were soft but a tad worn. There was lots of lush green vegetation, not totally overgrown but not manicured. The pool was definitely very clean. We ate breakfast there every day, it was good and plenty of food. If you're on a budget, this will definitely do the job. The Caves development is walkable, so that gives you other food options. Travellers Rest is a longer walk, but difficult to do on the beach at night in the dark. A cab into town will empty your wallet fast, so beware!

We were in the U "block", so we overlooked the pool. The balcony on the other side had plenty of room, and after our last dive, we were able to get all our gear aired out and dried before packing it and heading home. So that was a plus!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent our first night in the Bahamas here before going on a live- aboard cruise. The hotel is a bit rustic but very charming. The pool was very clean, the beer and sodas ice- cold, and the honor system in the bar amused us. It's a bit remote, but there is a nice small beach across the road. It can be a very expensive cab ride into town, but if you walk out of the hotel and to the right, there is a market within walking distance that sells a variety of food. I wouldn't book my entire holiday there, but it suited our needs. It was very relaxing and a good value.

Room Tip: The poolside room that we had was clean and the air conditioner was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I like to think of orange hill as the place time forgot. It is old, but if you are looking to get away from the luxury hotels and obnoxious tourists that want to mistreat the Bahamas this is the place. The people are friendly and a little bit kooky. The rooms are comfortable, but not new. The grounds are not neatly manicured but are beautiful all the same - flowers and green. Not overgrown but not tame either. The beach is down the hill and we spent many a day relaxing there. Buses dont always come down to Orange Hill and got a little bit annoyed sometimes when they found out that is where we wanted to go, but on those days the owner(?) or owners son (?) drove us.

Reno, one of the workers, took us out for the best Conch Salad on the island. Thanks Reno! Can't say I am a Conch fan but it was a good night!

The Stuart's Cove bus came and picked us up for a fantastic snorkelling day! Well well worth it! It was close to the airport and not noisy at all. The hotel restaurant is interesting and the waitor/worker will make sure you taste some Bahamian Cuisine. Well worth the trip up to Traveller's Rest Restaurant - fantastic night!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hill Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hill Beach Inn

Address: West Bay St, Nassau, New Providence Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Hill Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orange Hill Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Hill Beach Hotel Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Nassau
Orange Hill Beach Inn Bahamas/Nassau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hill Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.