We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junkanoo EduCulture is a must see....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Junkanoo Expo Museum

Junkanoo Expo Museum
Prince George Wharf, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-323-3182
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 114 things to do in Nassau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum showcasing the costumes and floats from the annual Junkanoo parade.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Junkanoo EduCulture is a must see....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just had the oppurtunity of going on a tour to the Jankanoo Educulture that is run by Arlene and her husband Silbert. The do such a wonderful job at explaining the history of Junkanoo and why it is so important to the Bahamian culture. We spent around an hour with them in a group of 15. The museum is in the house Arlene grew up which has a very special atmosphere. WE then went on to see how the coutumes are made and got to take part in what the Bahamians do twice yearly at christmas time and New Year. We got to taste some Junkanoo drinks and each got our own Junkanoo whistle. Then we made so much noise and had a lot of fun. WE got to take some amazing pictures with the Junkanoo headgear. All in all, I would rate this place on a scale of 1-5 a 5, especially if you have small children and also the adults had a lot of fun we got to be kids again. She has a website where you can book ahead, which is what we did. A must do, not far from downtown Nassau, we went on the no.10 bus and she gave us directions on how to get there. You also have the option of attending the whole hour there, but if you don't have time, then you could just do the museum. The entrance fee is very norminal compared to the experience you have there. It is small but very infortmative.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you go to the Nassau you have to experience the Junkanoo Expo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Right from the start Arlene who is the director was great at accomodating us. We did the 1 hour tour with her, she introduced us to the history of Junkanoo and then we go the oppurtunity to make a lot of noise, taste some Junkanoo drinks and just let our hair down. For the price, I would never miss this in the world. Great work Arlene and hubby. Both of you wear the sunny Bahamian attitude well!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Junkanoo definitely the thing to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We did this excursion with Norwegian Cruise Lines, but you can make arrangements in advance for private tours. I can't say enough about the hosts! They were fun, energetic and deeply committed to educating their guests. Their program let you be a kid again for awhile without feeling stupid or embarrassed. The tour is great for all ages. An absolute MUST if you visit Nassau. I've been to Nassau 4 times and this is by far the best place in the city!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown, Ontario
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Great Educational Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited this site a while ago but it was very memorable. The visit here was in combination with the Forts as part of a shore excursion with a Disney Cruise.

The host at the Junkanoo was extremely gracious with the exhibit itself being very interactive. We gained a lot of knowledge about this Bahamian tradition during the tour that featured costumes, articles, and musical instruments. Our group ranged from 4-64 and we all had a great time.

If you want to learn about the culture and traditions of the island, then this would be a great spot to visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a great way to spend an evening and morning in Nassau. Dancing and floats generally excellent. Was on time this year so we were late (we expected the usual late start). Very crowded and parking is difficult. Overall it was well organised with a great party atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo Expo Museum also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Junkanoo Expo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junkanoo Expo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.