We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flamingo Parade is Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center

Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center
Chippingham Road, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-323-5806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 62 Attractions in Nassau
Type: Gardens, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exotic wildlife like the South American honeybear and the rare Caribbean flamingo make these gardens home.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Flamingo Parade is Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Layout and gardens are lovely and easy to find your way around. We really enjoyed the bird feeding of the Lorikeets. The parade of the Flamingoes was very special as they responded to their handlers commands. Well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    180
    75
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We took my niece (10) and nephew (6) here while in port from a cruise. The flamingoes unfortunately were NOT marching that day, since there had been so much recent rain in Nassau. However, we were given 20% off the price of admission and went in anyway. The kids had a great time--they still got to see LOTS of flamingoes and peacocks, which are all just walking around the park, free. And they got to feed the lorries, which was a great experience--they let you into the large cage and give you apples to feed the birds. Great photo opportunities and fun for all ages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited Nassau on a cruise. The zoo was not advertised or offered as a cruise ship excursion but I had found it on my own before leaving home. We took the #10 bus to the road that the zoo is on and hiked the rest of the way. My husband and I were surprised that there were only about 15 other people in the zoo. We got to get up close and personal with a variety of animals. We fed the lorakeets apples, marched with the flamingos and took pics with macaws. Everyone was very friendly and we could tell that the animals were well cared for. Probably the highlight of our trip!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Walking with the flamingos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a recent cruise stop in Nassau, we stopped at the fish fry for lunch. After we finished, we decided to take our 7 year old son to the Ardastra Gardens (well within walking distance from the resturant). Not expecting much, we were pleasantly surprised. The highlight of the visit were the trained flamingos. They followed their trainers commands and marched around the enclosed arena. At the end of the show several guests were invited into the arena with the flamingos. As you could have guessed, our son was chosen. When his turn came, he was hesitant but stood his ground when surrounded by the birds. Needless to say we got some great pictures. My sons comment when it was all over? "That was great!" The rest of the zoo was run of the mill. But we'll never forget the flamingps.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Nice Diversion if you Want to experience nature, birds and small animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the lorikeet feeding and the flamingo show. Great for all ages and beautiful shady grounds to stroll in on a hot day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardastra Gardens, Zoo and Conservation Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.