We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good history lesson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Charlotte

Fort Charlotte
West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-325-9186
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Nassau Historical City Tour
Ranked #33 of 120 things to do in Nassau
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Underground passages and dungeons lie underneath this old fort, built in 1787.
Richmond, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good history lesson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The fort was rather sparce, but it was interesting to see the way that they could defend themselves from outside forces. The guide was vwery informative even though I was barely there before closing time. He did not try to rush though because of that either. It was very interesting how they connected the variuos part of the fort so that they could move personell where they needed them without putting them at risk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    93
    65
    22
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fort Charlotte is within easy walking distance of Ardastra Zoo and the Fish Fry area, so plan to do these in one trip out. The fort seems rather drab from the outside, but once you go down into it, there are a number of exhibits that have a ton of info on the people who built the fort and life in the fort. It was quite hot in the fort because there is not a lot of air movement, but it is bearable. One hallway we went down was pitch black, so it is a good idea to have even a small flashlight/torch handy. None of the forts in Nassau saw action and some are very small, so this is a good choice to see one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Inside and Out, Lots to See and Learn at Fort Charlotte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went on our own after spying the fort while at the Fish Fry (Arawak Cay). Loved seeing what the soldiers must have seen. This fort is actually several forts so don't stop at the first building. It sits at the top of the hillside overlooking the bay. Walk past the cannons that still remain and visualize soldiers positioning them to ward off pirates. Walk around the dry moat. Head inside, where interactive exhibits give you a sense of everything from the building of the fort to the life the soldiers lived. (We didn't pay for a guide and was glad we didn't--the one that we saw seemed to quickly bring his group to the indoor interactive exhibits and then expectantly waited for his tip.) We spent quite some time indoors and out. Would appeal most to those who like history, military, dungeions, pirates and/or architecture.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pretty spot, lame tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You're here, so see the tourist history spots... great view, some interesting history... the guide was just (yawn) average at best.

Still worth a stop on your "tourist day".

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool Historical Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited here while on a cruise in October 2012. It was only $5 for a guided tour. You get some great views of Nassau from the top of the fort. The tour guide was informative but he only took us through part of the fort and basically hounded us for a tip. The part of the fort that we walked around on our own was actually better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Charlotte also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fort Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.