We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good history lesson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Charlotte

Fort Charlotte
West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
242-325-9186
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Nassau Historical City Tour
Ranked #19 of 55 Attractions in Nassau
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Underground passages and dungeons lie underneath this old fort, built in 1787.
Richmond, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good history lesson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The fort was rather sparce, but it was interesting to see the way that they could defend themselves from outside forces. The guide was vwery informative even though I was barely there before closing time. He did not try to rush though because of that either. It was very interesting how they connected the variuos part of the fort so that they could move personell where they needed them without putting them at risk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    79
    57
    20
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fort Charlotte is within easy walking distance of Ardastra Zoo and the Fish Fry area, so plan to do these in one trip out. The fort seems rather drab from the outside, but once you go down into it, there are a number of exhibits that have a ton of info on the people who built the fort and life in the fort. It was quite hot in the fort because there is not a lot of air movement, but it is bearable. One hallway we went down was pitch black, so it is a good idea to have even a small flashlight/torch handy. None of the forts in Nassau saw action and some are very small, so this is a good choice to see one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Inside and Out, Lots to See and Learn at Fort Charlotte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went on our own after spying the fort while at the Fish Fry (Arawak Cay). Loved seeing what the soldiers must have seen. This fort is actually several forts so don't stop at the first building. It sits at the top of the hillside overlooking the bay. Walk past the cannons that still remain and visualize soldiers positioning them to ward off pirates. Walk around the dry moat. Head inside, where interactive exhibits give you a sense of everything from the building of the fort to the life the soldiers lived. (We didn't pay for a guide and was glad we didn't--the one that we saw seemed to quickly bring his group to the indoor interactive exhibits and then expectantly waited for his tip.) We spent quite some time indoors and out. Would appeal most to those who like history, military, dungeions, pirates and/or architecture.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“pretty spot, lame tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You're here, so see the tourist history spots... great view, some interesting history... the guide was just (yawn) average at best.

Still worth a stop on your "tourist day".

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cool Historical Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited here while on a cruise in October 2012. It was only $5 for a guided tour. You get some great views of Nassau from the top of the fort. The tour guide was informative but he only took us through part of the fort and basically hounded us for a tip. The part of the fort that we walked around on our own was actually better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Charlotte also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fort Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.