We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bahamian History” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Fincastle

Fort Fincastle
Elizabeth Ave, Nassau, New Providence Island
242 356 9085
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #21 of 62 Attractions in Nassau
Type: Historic Sites, Castles
Activities: Walking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The top of this 126-foot fort offers spectacular panoramic views of the ocean.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bahamian History”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not much too see however, it is right next to the Queens Staircase. Only cost $1 which supports the upkeep. Nice peace of history to learn.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    93
    90
    28
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Walk From the Cruise Ship Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's only a 10-15 minute walk from the cruise ship pier to the Queen's Staircase and Fort Fincastle, both of which are interesting and fun to visit. The fort admission fee is just $1 and we spent a good 20-30 minutes exploring the 3 rooms and enjoying the view from the top. Plus it was a fun walk!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
305 attraction reviews
Reviews in 189 cities Reviews in 189 cities
575 helpful votes 575 helpful votes
“For the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Any visitor in Nassau has to go there for the view . The fort itself is o.k. , worth the admission fee of $1 but the main reason to go there is the view of the city and the port !
If you go there by car , have a look at the Queen's Staircase about 150 meters from the parking area

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth a stop!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is only $1 to get in but, not worth it. It is a very rundown fort. You walk in, turn around, and walk out. Our tour guide literally told us two facts about the fort and then said we were welcome to tip him. Sorry guy, not today. Walk down the road and go to the Queen's Staircase instead of coming here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
206 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“OK!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was OK. Beware of shaky neighborhood. Our family used a rental car to visit the place late afternoon. There is few things to see. The businesses were closed after 4 PM and nobody walked in the town. We didn't feel safe so we returned the car near our cruise. You may visit in the morning with a group. The beaches were clean and excellent. It may not be safe at night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Fincastle also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fort Fincastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Fincastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.