We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates of Nassau Museum

Pirates of Nassau Museum
King and George St, Nassau, New Providence Island
242 356 3759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 55 Attractions in Nassau
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun theatrical exhibits celebrate the history of pirates in the Caribbean.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This museum is very well done and very informative! It traces the history of piracy in the Bahamas with displays, text, audio, and video. It includes walking through a model of the lower deck of a ship. There are also displays of artifacts as well as portraits and written bios of the most famous pirates. It does not take very long to view, especially if you are more a viewer than a reader in museums, so you will have to judge whether the cost is worth it. After visiting historic sites in Nassau that are not very well developed as tourist sites, I was not expecting much at Pirates of Nassau, but was pleasantly surprised! If you enjoy learning about the history of places you visit, add this museum to your Nassau shopping trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    212
    106
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pirates of Nassau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A fun hour or so looking back on the pirating history of the Carribean. The models a well constructed and the information both spoken and written was also very good. Kids would love this, as the big kids did!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
657 reviews 657 reviews
353 attraction reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
716 helpful votes 716 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum - Learned Something New”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were in town as a cruise ship port visit. The museum is only a few blocks away from the Cruise Ship Terminal.

Admission was $12. You walk past life size dioramas of what life was like during the Piracy Age. Then you walk down a hall with displays of the various famous pirates and their histories.

It is not a huge museum, but we thought it was interesting. We learned something new about Pirates and their place in history.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esentepe, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beware of the stocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

An interesting attraction giving people a taste of what it would have been like in those times, we found the souvenir shop a bit expensive (but aren't they all), there is a bar restaurant at the side of it which we found reasonably priced

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool facts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I learnt alot of interesting facts about pirates which weren't true about pirates. I would recommend doing this tour first then doing a rum tour with Island tourz

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates of Nassau Museum also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Pirates of Nassau Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates of Nassau Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.