We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place; not exactly a beach resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Chicago area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“NIce place; not exactly a beach resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a 100+ year old hotel that has been recently renovated to the extent feasible.
It is on a nice stretch of inlet beachfront, but even the water-view rooms do not have balconies or even windows that open. That takes away a lot of ambience for us.

The pool is very nice and there were ample loungers available.

The service is very good overall. Some difficulty in having our HiltonHonors breakfasts billed consistently correctly - there is an upcharge of $6 from the continental buffet to the hot buffet.

The water didn't taste especially great, but we had NO issue with the color/cleanness of the water. We almost didn't stay here because of the fear of yellow water. Not many people seem to comment on this in their reviews.

[Not directly hotel related, but.......the town of Nassau around the hotel closes at 5pm. You either need to talk to the concierge about one of the few open restaurants or go to Paradise Island where the restaurants were booked solid for days by the Atlantis guests when we were there. Senor Frogs is steps away and always open but you can't keep going there. ]

Room Tip: We arrived early and they put us initially in a water-view room at the far west side of the hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

We are truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided and also happy that you had an enjoyable stay.

We certainly appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    636
    304
    159
    99
See reviews for
303
705
121
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Loved the hotel, pool bar atmosphere, and staff. All so, so friendly. Needed concierge services on the first night with my fellow traveler who picked up the wrong luggage at the airport. Concierge took care of it immediately.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The British Colonial Hilton as your vacation destination. We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel, pool bar and friendly service from our staff.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 13 year old daughter and I paid $65/person with a $40/person food and beverage credit to use the beach for an afternoon at the British Colonial Hilton. Our cruise ship was in Nassau from 12 noon until 7 pm.

We picked this hotel because it was four blocks away from the cruise ship port entrance, and thus very convenient for day trippers. It is in the heart of downtown Nassau, close to shopping.

The beach was very clean, with plenty of comfortable padded lounges and the water was pleasant and clean. The view is of a barrier island and the cruise ships, and actually very nice. There is a beach bar near the pool, but I did not see bar servers delivering drinks to the beach. Our interactions with the bar staff were fine.

We wanted a lazy beach day and had a pleasant stay. In the past we have spent the day at the Melia, which has a bigger beach with more amenities. However, the Melia is a 15 minute cab ride from the port. If we had a full day, we would have gone to the Melia, but given our time constraints, the Hilton was a nice quiet alternative.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your day visit with us. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown nassau, and we are happy you took full advantage of the location.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, Barbados
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have been staying at the British Colonial Hilton for the past three years when I visit Nassau on business. The overall standard of quality has been excellent. As a business traveler I truly appreciate this consistent quality in accommodation and service and I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visits with us. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we are glad that you found us to be consistent each time you stayed with us.

Thank you for choosing us, we look forward to many more opportunities to extend our authentic hospitality!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We satyed for 14 nights at this hotel. The general impression is good. Only a few days where it was a bit noisy. We would go back

Positive: Location, the private beach, daybeds in the garden, good food and drinks at the pool bar (terrible service), the rooms are ok, cleaned every day,

Negative: The service at the reseption and the pool bar sucks. They are friendly, when you finaly get teyre atention, but you have to wait untill they are done writing an sms, watching the game on tv (in the pool bar), talking to each other, counting money or what ever else they wanted to do. This was verry anoing, and it happend EVERY time. Just to by a cople of frozen drinks was a big struggle. It did take about 10 - 15 minuttes every time, and the drinks where slush before you had got the check to sign it. I had to wait one hour at one time for a plate of nacho. and since they dont serve at the pool i had to go up to check on the food all the time, and ended up spending a lot of time at the counter. After a while he told me he would come with it when it was ready, wich he did.. after one hour. One plate of nacho. When we order two plates of club sanwiches, we waited one and a half hour...... If the service had ben better we would have bought a lot more drinks and food. It was verry good, but not worth the stryggle.
The second thing that we sould complain about is the fakt that there is no real duvet covers. It looks like they have just but the duvet in between two sheets. So when you wake up it is all a mess and you are sleeping in the duvet that is never cleaned and the sheets are at the bottom of your feet.
The breakfast is not worth the money

But over all, a good hotel. We would stay here again if we where going back.

Room Tip: Sea view or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. The room was small and very dirty. The mould was on the bathroom walls and ceiling!! The toilet seat was coming off and the mini bar was empty.... :-(. Because i was late with my booking they only had this type of rooms available. Maybe the other rooms are better..... The restaurant was very good and also the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Hilton is located in a strategic place where it is near to convinent stores, gift shops and restaurants. It has a McDonald in front and Dounkin dounts as well. It has a beautiful view of the blue sea it looks like paradise. where the cruises arrived.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.