We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Colonial style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week and loved it. There were some complaints about beach and cruise ships coming and leaving, but for us it was just regular entertainment to watch how massive ships are spinning in such narrow space. The beach never been over full, some free chairs always been available. Water was clean and transparent with sandy bottom and plenty of little fishes swimming around. Hotel staff was very friendly but it is an island and island time is something different, nobody is rushing here. Be patient to wait to be sitter at the breakfast hall, be patient waiting for your cocktails to be prepared for you.) The hotel restaurants were good, we enjoyed time at the bar too with live jazz on Tuesdays. Breakfast though was not so impressive, comparing with breakfasts I had staying at Hilton in Rome. No fresh or cooked vegetables, the same dishes every day. Room was clean and well kept. The building interiors were a bit warn out but it just gave extra charm and colonial feeling. We had city view room and could hear some music and cars, but it didn't bother us much, cause most of bars getting closed at 1 am, so no whole night music as I have read in some reviews.. Right across the road from the hotel there were Mc'donalds, Dunkin Donuts and liquor store.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Olga,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and pleased that you enjoyed seeing the cruiseships coming and leaving.

We are also happy that you had a great time at the bar listening to the live jazz on Tuesdays.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future


Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    691
    341
    178
    107
See reviews for
351
757
129
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the British Colonial Hilton for five days. We really have no compliants. The hotel staff were very friendly and happy to give directions to restaurants or help us plan snorkling excursions. We enjoyed the location because you are essentially in the center of Nassau and can easily walk to restaurants (try the Fish Fry or Cafe Matisse!) and the local market. The hotel has a small, calm beach on site with plenty of beach chairs to go around. We also went to a beautiful public beach on Paradise Island were the surf was stronger (we walked there and took a cab back, it's about 2 miles). In general the rooms of the hotel are small but very nice and clean, and since we spent most of our time outside, the small room size was not an issue for us. Wifi is free in the lobby and accessible by the pool. Overall if your looking to balance beach time with exploring Nassau, New Province and even Paradise Island than this is perfect fit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are truly pleased to read such positive feedback about the excellent customer service that our staff provided.

Our property is indeed an historical landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our strategic location.

We value your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I reviewed this resort last year, essentially saying that we liked it so much we were going to go back. Well we did, and with no regrets. My wife and I felt that if anything, they had upped their game. There were subtle but noticeable enhancements. The poolside restaurant and bar had been repainted, there was a new expanded deck area and everything was spotless. The already helpful staff outperformed. If something anything was not to your liking, it was fixed. The entire staff was polite and professional. Also, the on-site restaurant Aqua, seemed to have stepped it up. The lobster eggs Benedict which were perfectly prepared. They had an exceptional capon on the dinner menu. Also, the downtown is undergoing a beautiful upgrade to the sidewalks and streets. It makes it that much nicer to walk around, shop, and enjoy this beautiful city. On last item, be sure to check out the National Art Museum. It is just a short walk away in the old Doyle House, I believe. It is a excellent showcase of Bahamanian talent. In particularly they had a suite of sculpture by John Beadle. My wife and I are not sure we will return. There are so many other places to see in this world, but we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You definitely want to get an ocean view room if you can. And if you are a Hilton Honors member, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Chuck,

Thank you for choosing the British Colonial Hilton as your vacation destination a secont time. We are extremely happy that you found our entire staff to be polite and professional.

We are also pleased that you enjoyed dinner and the lobster eggs benedict served for breakfast at Aqua.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Nassau. So the area is very lively with shopping, clubs, restaurants. It has a private beach and there is a public beach name Junkanoo Beach next door. The property both indoor and outdoor is immaculate. The staff is top notch. They go above and beyond for the guest. The catering and sales office is Excellent so weddings, parties and events normally is a great experience there. Sports wise there is a swimming pool, basketball court and volley ball court. There is room service, along with 2 restaurants and a lounge bar. So you can comfortably spend a day in the hotel with things to do. Once again Great Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our location and facilities.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and sales and catering office.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to many more opportunities to serve you.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton hotel for six nights at the end of April/beginning of May and had a very nice time. The location is within easy walking distance to the downtown area and a number of restuarants. We both loved the beach/pool facilities which have lots of nice areas to relax and chill out in. The beach area is compact but very well designed and wonderful to be at. Several previous commenters have complained that the cruise ships that are visible from the beach are annoying and made their beach experience very unpleasant. We both COMPLETELY disagree and think the ships enhanced our experience. We loved watching the ships gracefully enter/leave Nassau during the morning/evening and found that the ships when docked made our beach views more interesting. We had the breakfast buffet as part of our stay and it was great with lots of fresh fruit. The rooms are small but fine. The concierges were wonderful with lots of very useful friendly advice on restaurants, tours etc. One of the managers was courteous, fair, and helpful in resolving an issue concerning our reservation.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the elevators and ice machines. We gave one of our Hilton Honors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our strategic location and intresting spot to watch the cruise ships coming and going.

We are happy to hear that our Concierge gave you useful friendly advice on restaurants, tours etc. We were also pleased to learn that one of our managers was courteous, fair and helpful in resolving the issue concerning your reervation.

We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent four days at the British Colonial Hilton when in Nassau on vacation.
A very grand hotel. Rooms are quite small but very comfortable, and we had one with nice view of the harbor/beach from 6th floor room.
We had access to the 7th floor executive lounge which was a bonus.
Hotel is in a fantastic location in Downtown Nassau, with the main street around the corner, and attractions such as the Queens Staircase a short walk away.
While the area is very busy during the day, things close down at night when the cruise ships depart (apart from Senor Frogs just along from the hotel), but Arawak Cay (Fish Fry area) is 15 minutes walk from the hotel and is full of local restaurants at great value and great atmosphere (e.g. Oh Andros).
There's also a nice restaurant/cafe along from the hotel just past the Pirate museum which is only open during the day (Pepper Pot - Good Jerk Chicken).
The pool and beach area of the hotel are fantastic, very comfortable and good beach/pool bar looking over the ocean/harbor and reasonable prices for drinks and food.
Hotel staff very friendly, and definitely want to come back here as hotel is up there with the best that I have staid at in terms of overall location, facilities, and appearance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Edina,

Thank you for your valuable feedback pertaining to your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Our property is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown Nassau. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our strategic location and attractions in Nassau such as the Queens Staircase.

Your recommendation is valuable to us and we are delighted to hear that u want to return to our hotel.

We value your patronage and hope to see you return soon.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. Upon check in we were notified that we were upgraded to a suite. It was beautiful! We had selected to have the breakfast buffet as part of our reservation and we enjoyed it very much. We also ate at the restaurant several evenings for dinner and enjoyed these meals as well.

The lobby of the hotel is just lovely. The pool was small but the seating areas around the pool and throughout the gardens were very comfortable and relaxing. We went to the beach on our first morning but found this area a little lack lustre. To be fair we had just finished up four days at Atlantis where the beaches were much more expansive so this area probably suffered by comparison.

The hotel is well situated and is close to shopping and other restaurants.

Overall it was a great stay and we would certainly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the suite that you were upgraded to,the breakfast buffet and dinner at Aqua restaurant.

Our hotel is indeed an historic landmark in the heart of downtown and we are extremely happy that you found it to be well situated to shopping and other restaurants.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.