We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Nassau
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in May- the location was close walking distance to shopping and restaurants and the Straw Market. The beach spots were fairly empty for the weekend, so we had no problems getting hammocks on the lawn or chairs. The drinks at the poolside were good and resonably priced. There is also a liquor store right across the street where you can get water and beer (try the Kalik) for your room. This is not a 5 star property, but very nice if you want a property that doesn't require you to have a rental car to get to dinner and if you don't want to spend tons of money on your hotel room. I would definitely stay here again due to its proximity to restaurants and shopping. We were also lucky to get upgraded to an ocean view room on the end of the floor, which was nice. There were very few children on the beach (this is a family resort) so we couldn't hear any loud children playing, which was peaceful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    691
    342
    178
    107
See reviews for
352
758
129
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I recently stayed at the Nassaua British Colonial in Nassaua and found that the hotel is beautiful and is in a great location. However, the service at this hotel was not good. This includes the pool side bar/food, cleaning staff, and front desk.
We were staying 2 nights paid and the 3rd night as a reward redemption. When we checked in, they assured that we would not have to change rooms on the 3rd night. After the 2nd night, they were encouraging us to change rooms. After refusing, we then found the room had not been cleaned all day upon our return back to the room. After calling the front desk, they finally cleaned the room about 3 hours later. Then for the remainder of the night (9:30pm latest) we received multiple people knocking on the door requesting a room check and asking when we were checking out. We also received several calls asking the same question.

Not Good Service for what used to be the pride hotel of Nassau. I would not stay there again. Also, the hotel rooms are old and very small.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton from April 17 to 20, 2008 and found the accomodations and the service to be very good.

The Hilton has it's own private beach and the hotel itself is in a good location.

We only ate the included breakfast at the Hilton and the buffet was good.

We spent a day at the Atlantis on a day pass, which is only a $10.00 taxi ride away.

There are very few typical "ocean view" rooms and those that are available do not have traditional balconies. For that reason, we would recommend against paying any premium for the ocean view.

Room 537 was more than adequate for a couple.

DD
Toronto

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton in Nassau from April 13th – 18th. We found the experience wonderful. We stayed on Hilton Honors points – however we were treated like paying guests. We were given a partial ocean view room and even allowed to check in an hour early before the normal check in time. The hotel and our room were well kept and no maintenance issues. All staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us. Everyone always asked us if there was anything they could do to help us and all the staff was always smiling. The breakfast and dinners inside the hotel were great. Don’t believe the reviews!

Yes, this is a Caribbean island and some things are not up to the same standard as the US. Outside of the hotel this is true, inside the hotel; I feel everything is on par with US based Hiltons. The local area around the Hilton is right in the down town area with shopping and restaurants. All prices inside and outside the hotel were reasonable – although you will save money by going outside the hotel. Overall, the Bahamas is the friendliest and safest island in the Caribbean we have ever visited. The taxis to the Hilton are easily found and a fixed price of $22 each way. Easy walks to many attractions and places like the local fish fry. You can ride to Paradise Island for $11 each way. Paradise Island and Atlantis are beautiful, but be prepared to spend double on everything compared to outside Paradise Island.

Families with children may not have as much to do, but as adults we certainly liked the choices around us and ability to walk across the street to the liquor store and buy cold beer if we wanted to at the end of the day at a low price.

We went diving with Stuart Cove. Great locations and diving – fairly professional crew and high quality rental equipment. Prices were fair and the operations were smooth. Best part was the wreck dives and the freedom in which divers were given to explore. They pick you right up from the hotel and it is about a 30 minute ride to the other side of the hotel.

Overall, we would definitely stay again and recommend this property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamshire, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

We had a two night stay at this hotel as a taster for the Bahamas. We arrived in at about 10 am, so we couldnt check in which was fine by us. When we did eventually check in later in the day, the room was OK, bed was a good size, the bath room was nice, the room was very small. But for two nights it didnt matter.

We had a few drinks in the gardens, we had access to the exec lounge but when we went there the lady on the desk was very rude so we couldnt be bothered to go back up there. The service over looking the gardens was very nice, a very plesant way to spend an hour.

We didnt eat in the hotel but went round the corner to Senor Frog's. Certainly an interesting place and definetly not for the faint hearted....The 'Yards' of Margeritta's were very good as was the Mexican food. It was a very lively bar and not everyone will enjoy it.

I didnt like Nassau at all, i thought it to be a scruffy place that was purely there because of the vast number of cruise ships that come in, it was a shame i was expecting more. The people that we met seemed fairly friendly, we didnt feel threatend at anytime, even coming back late at night from Senor Frogs.

The beach at the Hilton was a great way to spend our next day, lunch at the pool bar was 'ok' not great, but good enough.

Overall the hotel is OK if your not wanting to spend too much time in the rooms, but then again i am not sure why anyone would want to go to Nassau, there must be much nicer places in the Bahamas?!?

  • Liked — Seating area overlooking the gardens
  • Disliked — Small rooms /Nassau town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

There are lots of small, niggly things I found with this hotel.

Here's the minuses:
We turned up at 7:00pm after delayed flights - we were not actually given rooms until 10:30pm with many excuses made by the staff. I couldn't get anything back for this (e.g. partial refund / removal of the day's service charges etc). I didn't really appreciate the call at 11:10pm when they rang to check if everything was ok after I had already gone to bed.

I was in room 248 - the noise from the nightclub opposite was constant until about 2am each night. The window was non-existent, and the bathroom wasn't very clean. On the second day, the maid didn't visit until nearly 7pm.

When it came to billing, there were a large number of hidden charges (amounting to about $35 per night on a single room). We were told these were compulsory and couldn't be waivered - even though we didn't get a room until 10:30 on the first day! Late check out was difficult to come by (was with a group who had 2 other rooms) - when it was finally resolved they accidently locked us out of the room the late check out was on.

Staffing at the bar and the pool bar didn't seem overly efficient (at the latter 5 waiters and 3 cooks but still took a very long time).

The good points -

If you want a holiday where all you want to do is laze by the pool and the beach, then this is great. The private beach may have the harbour next door, but it means it is 2 minutes walk to the ferrys and scuba trips etc and it's interesting watching the cruise ships. Even though we had been told the hotel was full, there was loads of room on the beach and it felt really secluded.

The staff were extremely nice when we did speak to them and the concierge was really helpful.

The grounds in general were really pretty - hammocks in the garden and the pool / beach and lobby were great.

However, overall, not really what you expect from a hilton hotel!

  • Liked — The outside - pool and beach, plus the actual building
  • Disliked — Not getting a room until too late, generally could have been better
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We recently stayed at the British Colonial for one night before our flight left to go back home. We arrived at noon and were told to come back at 3pm which is check in time. That was completely understandable. After returning at 3:30, we were told the room was not ready but would be just a few minutes. After being told two times that the room was being cleaned and there might still be items left in the room, we were given a key at 5:00 pm. We were offered 2 drink coupons for our troubles. Hello, I am a Diamond member. I get drink and breakfast coupons everytime. Did they think I never stayed at Hiltons before???

Once we arrived in our what should be super clean room, we had no towels and had to call down for them.

The room was to be a water view and you could call it a water view if you could look just right through the small window in the room. We heard people coming and going all night. A

lso, we were on the executive floor which had the lounge closed due to the Easter holiday. I would try to rate the hotel worse if I actually paid extra for that floor and ended up that the lounge was closed for 3 days.

Our vote is to save up and stay at the One and Only and skip this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nassau
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.