We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nassau visit by older couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added British Colonial Hilton Nassau to your Saves list
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$269 (USD)
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Nassau
Norristown,Pa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nassau visit by older couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just spent a week at this hotel. We are a retired couple, very laid back and go with the flow.
We enjoyed the hotel, pool and beach. It's a charming old hotel so don't understand the complaining from other reviewers. True the beach and pool are not hugh, but we had no problem getting beach chairs and we hit the beach every day for a few hours. The staff was pleasant and we found the Nassa people very friendly. Food is pricey, I hear they import most of it. Finding a decent breakfast place was difficult. But D & D and Mickey D's are cheap and right across the street. It's a great downtown location, we never used a cab all week and we are middle 60's.
You can walk to Fish Fry to enjoy the local dining. Was very disappointed in Frankie Gone Bannas in Fish Fry. The service was slowwwwwwwwwwww, they were out of fish and other items by 6:30. Really a mis-managed place.
Get use to slow service in most places...... no rush here.
Can get a water taxi for $4 at the straw market to Atlantis, also car taxis are everywhere.

Again we where happy with the hotel and the weather was beyond good.
happy trails

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, pool and beach and are extremely happy to hear that our staff was pleasant.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    621
    298
    157
    99
See reviews for
299
689
116
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel and rooms are clearly middle class, but for that too expensive.
The location right in the town centre is great, the private beach and pool area are nice.
What is really horrible is the lighting - bright horrible energy saving bulbs EVERYWHERE.
No chance to get into a nice mood with this lighting.
You clearly don't get the value for the price paid.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your kind comments about our private beach and pool area.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at British Colonial Hilton Nassau for 3 days after 4 days at The Reef Atlantis. The room was ok, very small and the walls were very thin (could hear people walking outside all day and night). It was clean and the mini fridge was nice to have. My main issue with the hotel was the "private beach". I don't think they should even call this a beach, it is tiny and the view is horrible. The cruise ships are very close, which i expected, but the beach looked nothing like it does on the hotel pictures. It is full of seaweed and only fits about 10 lounge chairs. Also, I thought the area would be good to stay in because of all of the small shops and restaurants but it was crowded and noisy. Also, it was very sketchy and I tried to not walk out at night. I wish I would have stayed at Cable Beach instead and just taken the bus to explore downtown for a few hours. The hotel staff was very nice and the concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority, and we welcome your comments.

We are extremely happy to hear that our staff was nice and very helpful but disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

We value your comments and depend on them to continually improve our operations. We hope your next stay with us will be a pleasant one.


Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Sorry, just was looking for a better island experience. We needed to rent a car and escape. We would have loved to just "hang out", but there wasn't enough on the property to keep us satisfied. We will stay Hilton again, just not this one. Management was very professional, I feel their hands were tied in returning compensation for the "RUSTY WATER"

Room Tip: Call and ask for the "view" you want, not the one shown on the net!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hilton was nice, clean and people were very nice and service oriented. I would go back. Stayed on two Friday nights on the way to and from Andros. One waterfront room overlooked the parking lot which was not so great. Next night was at the other end of the hotel and was very nice.
1 block from the market so very convenient. Cruise ships come in 4-5 / day so look out for masses of shoppers.Food there not so great. Head (walk) away from town to the "fish fry" and
have dinner there. Slow (Bahama time) , but good and fun.

Room Tip: Get end of hotel closest to town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent visit with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the British Colonial Hilton in February of 2013. We knew that we weren't staying on Paradise Island and that it wasn't going to be the nicest hotel, but we expected better than what we got.

The first sign of a bad trip was when we were on the tour bus from the airport. Out of a bus of 30, we were the only couple that wasn't going to Paradise Island. As we pulled up to the hotel, other vacationers were surprised to see us getting off here.

We checked-in to our room that we got from CheapCaribbean. The hotel staff let us know that we would be in a conjoined room and to not open the door. From traveling for business, I HATE conjoined rooms and quickly asked to move. The answer was no.

Our room had a queen bed that was smaller than our bed at home and the room was extremely small as well. You could clearly hear the family next to us in the conjoined room and then a few days later, a group of 4 teenage girls checked-in. We heard everything they did, including them coming back drunk at 3AM and waking up our entire floor. The cleaning staff didn't clean our room until 4PM everyday.

The grounds are a joke where you have a small private beach that is littered by garbage and a small pool. There is a pool bar that is nice but the staff are rude and not welcoming. Everyday, they ran out of towels by 10AM. A family that had just arrived was walking around the grounds looking for a hot tub and I had to disappoint them by letting them know there isn't one.

In addition to the depressing amenities, cruise people can come use the hotel beach/pool/bar for the day. You can imagine having a bunch of drunk teenage kids from cruises come sit on the beach with you screaming and bothering everyone else.

I have to add - the weather was HORRIBLE the entire time we were in the Bahamas so I'm sure it didn't help our less than perfect accommodations.

Food - the food is good, no complaints here. Only thing is that they want to charge you $50 a head for their dinner buffet which included 2 dishes. Insane!

Overall, VERY disappointing and I would recommend going somewhere else - Paradise Island. Save up some extra cash and stay at Atlantis or one of the resorts on the other island. If you are on business, this is perfect for you. Other than that, not what you will expect.

Better yet, save up your money and go to Bermuda because the Bahamas isn't impressing at all. It's boring, the people are rude, and you can't walk down the street without getting attacked by sales people.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on your visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we depend upon your feedback to assist us in improving our operations.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the food in Aqua, but extremely disappointed that you were disturbed due to the noise next door.

Should you return to our property and there is anything we can do to make your stay comfortable and satisfactory please let us know.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced, we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I had a water front view on the 5th floor 581. It was at the end nearest the cruise line docks. This two queen bedded room is huge compared to the others. (see photos) We had read the mixed reviews regarding the noise from the docks and we did not notice any disturbing noise and at one point there were six cruise ships in port. Watching the supersize cruise ships spin end for end in front of the hotel was very entertaining! We had access to the executive lounge and the breakfast was very good, as well as the evening reception (these are reserved for Hilton Honors members) We ate at the Aqua lounge for Saturday and Sunday as the Executive lounge was closed. We found the service there to be great and the hot breakfast better than your average hotel fare. We ate at the bar for one evening and the food was good though expensive (Though not unusual as far a Nassau goes) There is a small restaurant across the street that has soda and water for much less than the hotel store. There is also a liquor store and a McDonald's directly across the street. For those that need to pay for the hotel WiFi, it's free at McD's :) The grounds were well kept and the pool was spotless. They have free snorkeling gear and towels and lounge chairs for the guests. The beach is small but restricted to hotel guests our weather was cool so there were not many people on the beach, not sure what it is like in normal weather. There is also a cabana bar by the pool, pricey, but fun. (Again go across the street to save drinking $$) We had a bathroom that had a shower stall in addition to a regular size bathtub, also very spacious and from the other reviews may not be the norm.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get one of the two rooms on the water side of the 7th floor WOW! If you want lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kara A, Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to British Colonial Hilton Nassau. We have read your comments with great interest and appreciate the spirit in which it was written.

We are pleased with your positive comments regarding our Team members and delighted that you were provided with a 'Hilton' experience.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kara Armbrister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to British Colonial Hilton Nassau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Colonial Hilton Nassau

Address: One Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nassau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nassau
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — British Colonial Hilton Nassau 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on downtown Nassau’s only private beach and the site of Old Fort Nassau, the British Colonial Hilton in the Bahamas has undergone a multi-million renovation throughout all areas of the hotel, and offers a taste of the island’s rich history, along with some of the most modern amenities for both business and vacation travelers. What’s more the hotel is only 25 minutes from Nassau (Lynden Pindling International) Airport. The hotel is a true Bahamian experience with a marble-tiled lobby and is studded with palm trees under a skylight ceiling. There are 288 luxuriously appointed guest rooms with harbor or island views. All rooms are furnished with tasteful decor, complemented by separate shower and bathtub. One-bedroom suites offer a separate living area with sofa bed, and Executive accommodations are also available along with the Executive Lounge, where attentive hotel staff assures that every need and whim will be met during your stay. Recreational activities are convenient and varied for leisure and business travelers alike. A 300-ft long private white sand beach is furnished with lounge chairs and thatched sunshades overlooking the harbor offering a peaceful and secluded access for an ocean swim or a day in the sun. Use of kayaks and snorkeling gear on the beach is complimentary. Bordered on one side by a tropical garden, the hotel's freshwater pool offers harbor views and has an expansive sundeck with lounge chairs and umbrellas. Both the sundeck and beach offer views of cruise ships moored nearby, and of the western tip of Paradise Island, 300 yards offshore. Guests can snooze in hammocks on the lawn adjacent to the pool. The property can also organize trips out reef snorkeling island exploring, boating, golf, tennis and scuba diving. For dining options, Aqua is a fun, casual restaurant serving international favorites with a Caribbean flair, or guests can meet up for cocktails at the Bullion Bar. The new Bullion Bar is the 'place to be seen' for happy hour with great drink specials and tasty snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your British Colonial Hilton Nassau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Hotel Nassau
Hilton Hotel Nassau
Hilton Nassau
Nassau Hilton
British Colonial Hilton Nassau Bahamas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage British Colonial Hilton Nassau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.